We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small, quaint and well appointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rivamare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rivamare Hotel
Ranked #337 of 500 Hotels in City of Venice
Oregon
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Small, quaint and well appointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

I booked this hotel using frequent flier miles. It was delightful! Just down the road is Caribe with beach front dining. 20 min walk to beach alcoves. Wifi works well in the lobby.

They will tell you where you can rent a bike for 8 euros a day!

The breakfast includes boiled eggs, meat, bread, fruit, yogurt and pastries.

Lovely staff.

They do lock the front door once everyone is in for the night. So, I you wake up at 5 am and decide to go to the beach to watch the sunrise, you may not be able to get out. (Probably not an issue for most!)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    61
    20
    13
    1
See reviews for
46
49
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

You have to take a small trip by bus to reach the hotel, or (without luggage) have a nice walk along the beach.
If you are looking for a quiet place to stay without the hussle from more central locations, this is the place to go.
The service is very attentive in every way, I felt welcomed from the first second. Any questions I might had were answered nice and informative.
The room itself was comfortable, and just right, with a view beautiful view of the sea.
The breakfast is also done with a heart, you can choose from different kinds of bread, cake, cereals, just as you like it.

I also took the opportunity to take one of the offered massages (Reiki) in the Osho Centre downstairs, and that was an experience beyond words.

Thanks to the wonderful people of this hotel for making this stay much more than it was supposed to be :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

The woman at reception was lovely most the time, very helpful. The food was good, quite standard but still nice.
The beach was close, and there was a great restaurant/ cocktail bar about 100 yards south down the road called 'Caribe'. Definitely recommend that bar.
Rooms were nice, a bit small but still nice. We got a view of the tennis courts which was cool watching people play tennis in the morning;) Beach is nice, but there are private parts of the beach so you may want to ask whats private and whats not.
Generally, good stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

It is right next to Excelsior, the celebrity hotel, and real close to the cinema and basically the center of all things Venice Film Festival.
The price was great, the consierge was helpful. The room was very spacious and clean.
But there was no elevetor which was a huge setback when you are on a time schedule! Plus, it may be close to festival central but is is far way from the city center... To top it off, many rooms(including mine) have a view of the local tennis club, so expect to be kept awake by the sound of bouncing balls.....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieGiaNelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, North Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

I cannot believe all the other satisfactory reviews but our first moments upon entering the hotel were met by a miserable guy on the door who did not so much crack his face let alone smile and that's how he stayed throughout our 7 day stay - both me & my husband are naturally cheerful people so he wasn't meeting like for like. It got worse, the room was extremely dated with depressing old fashioned brown furniture dominating the room and a very cheap dated bathroom containing a tiny plastic shower. Staff burst into our room whilst we were in on several occasions without knocking, not to clean as sometimes in the late afternoon! The bathroom was not cleaned properly just a wipe round and on day 5 I noticed an old stain on the bedding but didn't dare complain not knowing what the consequences would be! The television did not work and when I queried this at reception the guy was reluctant to give any explaination other than none of the tv's worked. Pet's were allowed-I did not know this & don't like dogs so would never have considered here if I'd known! The lights around the hotel did not work and I was literally feeling my way up the stairs in the dark. Again the whole hotel had a dark, dreary and old fashioned look about it, looking more like something out of a comedy sketch expecting Basil Fawlty to jump out at any moment. We very nearly checked out but could not afford the added cost of another week's accommodation elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pollie_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

If you're looking for a really inexpensive hotel to stay while visiting Venice, this is a good option. Even though it's located in Lido, not Venice's main island, it's just 10 minutes away by "vaporetto" (the round trip was around 10 euros, including the bus fare from the hotel to the vaporetto pier, if one doesn't want to walk).

The room was quite big, very clean; there's a beach just in front of the hotel. And I was surprised to know there was even a breakfast included in my fare.

One thing I liked about staying in Lido was that it's really different from Venice. Less touristic, less crowded. And from there, you can enjoy the sun setting behind Piazza San Marco.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flavouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

My husband picked this hotel because it was close to the beach (50m or less walk) and the price was reasonable. We did not anticipate luxury, and found exactly what we expected given the 2 star rating; a pleasant small hotel, across the road from the beach (although he view was blocked by the outbuilding of the Excelsior hotel). A buffet breakfast included boiled eggs, plain or fruit yoghurt ham or salami, watered down juice, apricot filled croissants and a variety of biscuits and cheap cakes. There was little that felt genuinely welcoming, or thoughtful: inexplicably in a country with numerous regional cheeses, figs , grapes peaches and tomatoes, only apples were available in the hotel. The attractive light and airy dining room had an odd aura of purgatory, with mute couples staring silently into the distance. Staff were generally efficient, though without any great sense of warmth or human interest, and failed to inform us of the huge firework display for august 15th, which really was unmissable. No tea, coffee or drinks available on the terrace in the evening, and no meals available on site. Very far from the warm welcome and lavish breakfast celebrated in other reviews on this site; but reasonable small hotel, good as a base for visiting the Lido and Venice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank riricroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these City of Venice hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Petit Palais
Hotel Petit Palais
#11 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#10 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ca' del Moro Foresteria
Ca' del Moro Foresteria
#24 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Pergola di Venezia
Hotel La Pergola di Venezia
#18 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.4 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivamare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivamare Hotel

Property: Rivamare Hotel
Address: Lungomare Marconi 44, 30126, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in City of Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rivamare Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rivamare: a tiny oasis between sea and lagoon.Plunged in the green of relaxing gardens and surrounded from the fascinating architectures of Liberty Style villas, you will be surrounded by a feeling of serene tranquility, thanks to the spacious rooms furnished with balanced taste and the friendly welcome of our family, since four generations devoted to hospitality.Located just 20 meters from a beautiful beach with public access, Hotel Rivamare has a peaceful location on Lido, the largest island on the Venice Lagoon. A delicious buffet breakfast, with many homemade cakes and cookies baked freshly every morning, is served in the bright Breakfast Hall beside the terrace. All rooms at the Rivamare Hotel are air conditioned and come with wooden floors, a TV, and private bathroom. Some have a private terrace, overlooking the Adriatic Sea or the gardens. Rivamare offers bike rental and Wi-Fi internet connection in the public areas for a small fee. A range of relaxing massages and holistic treatments are also available thanks to the collaboration with OSHO Ki6 Meditation Center, hosted at garden floor of Hotel.The Hotel is just only a few meters from Palazzo del Cinema. You can reach St. Mark's Square easily by Vaporetto (water bus) running frequently day and night.Hotel Rivamare, a small and cozy family-owned hotel where since 1938 hospitality is a tradition carefully handed down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rivamare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivamare Hotel Venice
Rivamare Hotel Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing