We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Casa Dolcedoro

The Master Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Master Bedroom
Dining Room Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
14 reviews
The Master Bedroom
Dining Room
Dining Room
Dining Room
Dining Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Hallways
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Queen Bedroom
The Queen Bedroom
The Queen Bedroom
The Queen Bedroom
The Queen Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Street
The Queen Bedroom
Entrance
Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Veneto

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Checoreye...
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet”
Reviewed September 3, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This apartment has all we needed for our stay, it is 10 minutes away from the train station, small bathroom, tiny shower, large bedrooms, small kitchen and living room. It was pretty hot in August, the owner setup a portable AC unit in each room for us, it helped bringing the room temperature down. Free WIFI, owner let us take the hot spot with us so we could stay connected.Will stay here again

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: service
Liked least: stairs
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manishas1...
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average apartment in Venice”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful


I stayed here with my husband and 15 year old son for one night (June 28-29, 2915).

Positives of this apartment are:

This apartment is a 5 mins walk from train station and Grand Cannal.

Matteo the owner of the apartment is a very helpful person and is very prompt in replying emails. He sent his mother to pick us up from the station. It was very nice of him as it helped us to reach the apartment quickly without losing our way in the hot afternoon and with two pieces of luggage. He was very kind to allow us late check out the next day as our train to Florence was at 4.30 pm. This gave us half day to see Venice without worrying about our luggage.

This apartment has two bedrooms and can easily accommodate 4 to 5 people. In one of the bedrooms there is a double bed and a single bed. Also there is a couch in living room.

They have wifi, washing machine, oven, gas stove , toaster and a microwave.

The house was clean.

Negatives of the apartment:

Wifi is slow

There is no elevator and you have to climb three flights of steps every time you step out.

The apartment feels like a store house of the owner. There is nothing called interiors and ambience. They have dumped everything extra in this house to an extent that you have little place to move around in the rooms without hitting a piece of furniture.

The bed covers looked old and were faded.

There is no lock in the bathroom door and the handle of it was lose. We were scared that it would fall off. We all announced our visits to the toilet so that no one would come in!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2015
Thanks for your feedback, it helps us to improve our service to our guests.
I'm truly sorry you found our house to be like a storage, we want our guests to feel at home hence we provide the rooms with closet, drawer and night stands for each bed. The furniture was chosen to have the ambience of a true Venice house and it wasn't discarded from any other place, again I'm sorry you didn't feel it that way.
One of the shelf in the corridor was removed anyway to allow more usable space on the corridor.
We will provide a key for the bathroom door so our future guests won't feel their privacy might be disturbed by their families or traveling companions.
I'm sorry the stairs to the house were a problem for your holiday, unfortunately there is no space for an elevator in the building and the house is on the second floor.
Thank you again for your feedback, we use it to improve our service and I hope the negative points didn't compromise your stay in Venice.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsYellaL...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A quaint apartment close to transport”
Reviewed May 17, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We only had 2 days in Venice, so this apartment was perfect for us. Matteo met us at the train station and showed us the way. He also took us to the police station and made sure we were ok, as I had my camera bag stolen on the train to Venice and needed to make a report.
The apartment presented exactly as advertised. The kitchen was very small, but useable. The bedrooms were roomy. A small bathroom, but once again, perfectly functional. We loved the clothesline outside the kitchen window - very Italian. Just make sure you don't obscure the neighbours' windows with towels or long pants!
We were 5 min walking distance from the "water bus"-stop and 15min walking from the bus and train stations. Fresh food and grocery stores 10-15 min away.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Venice.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umi246
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Traditional stay in Venice”
Reviewed April 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Matteo was very welcoming and friendly. He met us at the train station and helped with the luggage. The apartment itself was clean with wifi. If you are looking for a traditional stay in Venice, this is the apartment for you.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewed August 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Modiin, Israel
Reviewed July 13, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Mosquitos in the room
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LMSantaro...
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A truly wonderful place of rest in Venice off the beaten tourist track”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
4
people found this review helpful

What a wonderful place Casa Dolcedoro turned out to be. It belongs to the same family that runs the Ai Mori B&B. Giacomo was our contact and helped set up the rental as Ai Mori was full up via phone and internet contact. This took a bit of back and forth but everything turned out fine. Unfortunately we never did meet him in person but he was reassuring and very accommodating when we did connect. We stayed for 3 nights. Casa Dolcedoro is in Canareggio, just minutes, literally (maybe 10 max), from the Santa Lucia train station and no bridges to haul your luggage over. That's big plus if you've ever had to drag your luggage through Venice and up and down those many bridges. It is in a lovely corner near Fondamento S. Giobbe near the CREA station. Giacomo's mother Cristina was at the train station to meet us. How hospitable and wonderful is that!. She led us to the apartment and gave us the keys and instructions. This lovely, spacious two bdrm apartment is on the 2 level (for us North American's that would be the 3rd Floor) up a not to narrow or steep staircase. It could comfortable sleep 5 but there were only two of us so we had a bedroom each. It was spotless and had a compact little kitchen with stove, microwave, etc. as well as sufficient dishes and cutlery to make it a real "home away from home" as far as meals were concerned. Also, free WIFI - a huge plus these days. Add to that the fact that it is around the corner from two really good and reasonable Venetian restaurants (Ai Tre Archi and La Casa Bonita) away from the madding crowd, it made us feel like real Venetians, not just tourists. In the morning, we would wake to the sound of the people of Venice going to work and school on either side of the apt. The apartment is full of light and next to a lovely little canal (a "rio") on one side and a "campo" on the other. The night before we left, Cristina left us a little try of handmade sweets. It was one of our most wonderful experiences in Italy. Grazie Giacomo and Cristina!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved being in a non-touristy part of Venice and the price was perfect
Liked least: Tricky figuring out how the keys worked but once that was done, fine.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing