We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The real Venice”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Perla grigia

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Veneto

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Rachel B
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The real Venice”
Reviewed March 30, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This is a fabulous, well equipped, comfortable apartment, located on a quiet canalside within an easy walk of 2 excellent Restaurants frequented by locals and only a short walk to Ormesini where evening drinks and cicchetti are hard to beat. Daniela and Pietro are readily available if there are any problems and will willingly give advice on places to go, we visit at least once or twice a year and always try to stay at Perla Grigia, it is now a home from home!

Date of stay: March 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2017
Dear Rachel and John,

A deeply thank you for yr lovely review....so happy you enjoy Perla Grigia and glad we have an excellent understanding each other.
Please consider that you always are welcome in Perla Grigia...hope to see you very soon.
Warmest regards,
Daniela and Pietro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesc2
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Review on the apartment that we were moved to from Perla Grigia”
Reviewed July 20, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I just wanted to give some feedback regarding the apartment you moved us to on 2nd July.

I would have been really concerned on arrival at venice if I had not read previous reviews that other guests had been moved from Perla Grigia. It would have been nice to be notified beforehand and given a reason for being moved. We had organised a transfer on departure from Perla Grigia with other people staying near Perla Grigia, we had to cancel this at the last minute and make alternative arrangements. We were moved to a larger 2 bedroom apartment at Rialto Bridge. It was hot when we stayed so we all slept downstairs, we moved the air con unit from upstairs as the unit in the downstairs bedroom has the pipe from the back of the unit missing. Can I also suggest you supply an extension cable lead for the air con unit upstairs to reach the plug near the window to allow the tube to go out of the window instead of at the top of the stairs. We really liked the location of the apartment but found the stairs an issue with luggage and we had difficulty with the key, the nice lady from the shop helped out and let us in, she also could not use the key supplied as we got her to try it. Some plugins for the mosquitoes would helpful, as there was one supplied but it was empty, unfortunately I received a couple of bites. A map or directions to the supermarket Co-op near Rialto Bridge would help. Overall we enjoyed our stay at the apartment we moved to as it was large, modern and we would recommend it to friends travelling light with minimum luggage.

Date of stay: July 2016
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2017
I am glad to hear that you had a very pleasant stay in Rialto apartment and I do apologize for the inconvenience.
Unfortunately for a short period, owing to an extraordinary restoration on the building where the apartment is, we have obliged to moove our guests onto an alternative apartment.
The restoration was extraordinary so we have been told about that in a very short time ahead the begining and it would have been very unprofessional from our side to cancel all our bookings. So we did our best to find an alternative comfortable accomodation to all our guests and we were happy that everybody was content and in a couple of weeks the restoration ended and our apartment was available again to all our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FunSouthA...
South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb Location”
Reviewed June 11, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We were relocated to this fabulous 2 bedroom apartment near Rialto Bridge. we were greeted by Pietro at the water stop. Everything is in walking distance. Good exercise up and down the stairs. Very comfortable, slept 4 of us very comfortably. We stayed for 2 nights before joining a cruise and came back for another 2 nights after the cruise. We left our bags at a mask shop as per instruction for Daniela and the shop owner was fabulous, needless to say Pietro was there by 1.00p.m. and allowed us to check in early. Fabulous service,nice to have in a foreign country. Thank you for having us. The Wentzel family. Stay here if you are I Venice a beautiful city indeed.

Date of stay: June 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 15, 2016
Dear Guest,

Many thanks from our hearts for the loveLy words written....reading yr message makes US feel HAPPY and satisfied.....infact the enthusiasm of our Guests is the BEST thing WE can hear, thanks a LOT for telling US and if you are content it means that we Have hit our target.

Hope to see you Again during yr next visit to Venice, we will be more than HAPPY to accomodate you again ;-)

Our kindest and warmest regards,
Pietro and Daniela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea V
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Apartment full of character in the centre of Venice”
Reviewed April 13, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We were given a different apartment from the one we booked (with no explanation) and it had some great advantages such as its central location near Rialto Bridge, modern stylish furnishings and two comfortable bedrooms on two floors, which was bigger than the original apartment we booked! Overall we were very pleased with our accommodation, but could only give it four stars because of the lack of communication regarding the change, no warning about the fact it was up four steep flights of stairs (not easy with four heavy cases!), and poor meeting up arrangements which left us waiting around for quite a while, and having to ring. A sign with our name on would have made things a lot easier. Venice is an amazing city though, and we will be back.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views over rooftops
Liked least: Four flights of stairs
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2016
Dear Guest,

we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed yr accomodation and you like and felt comfortable in the apartment, infact it has been newly restored entirely and we were very glad to have it available for you, also considering that the apartment originally booked had a technical problem. We didn t have the chance to advise you ahead of yr arrival with all the details of the new apartment since everything happened so quickly and we had to reorganize everything in order to give you the chance to accomodate there. Usually when we accept bookings for the new apartment, we explain everything in the details, also the stairs to climb up since it is located in an old building with no lift. We do apologize about that.
Many thanks for yr advice as regards the sign with yr name,we will do that from now on....anyhow being peak season now and having several guests to welcome the same day, if someone delays the following guests sometime has to wait a little while even we are several people welcoming our guests, this is why we always ask to our guests the arrival time well in advance in order to be on time with everyone.
We will be happy to see you again whenever you decide to come back :-)
Our warmest regards,
Pietro and Daniela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie0311
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Venice”
Reviewed March 26, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Our stay in Venice was beautiful. On our arrival we were greeted by Pietro who informed us that he would have to give us another apartment as the one we paid for had plumbing issues. That was great for us as we got a great apartment right near San Marco. A 2 storey apartment with 2 bedrooms, which the kids loved (and us too). A great spot and everything that we needed was there.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2016
Dear Rosie,

many thanks for yr kind words vèry much appreciated.
It was a real pleasure TO welcome you And We are glad you have enjoyed YOUR stay.
Please remember you will be always welcome And We Hope TO see you Again During yr next visit TO Venice.
Our big thanks And our Warmest regards TO you And TO yr loveLy family. Pietro And Daniela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuartand...
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, great value for Venice”
Reviewed March 18, 2015 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

As a family of 2 adults and one 3 year old boy, we chose to stay here as the end to our 3 week journey around Italy in June 2014. Have to say that the accommodation exceeded our expectations. We really liked the location compared to others, so close to everything without being stuck in the middle of tourism Venice. Could hear the upstairs neighbours occasionally, but expect you’d get this anywhere in an apartment. It was a great functional space, great price, yes, a great price compared to many others. If ever visited again, would choose here as you can spend a lot of money in Venice on accommodation/dining for no good reason – get the owners local tips on where to dine and make sure you reserve. Glad we chose, and thank you for the help Daniela

Date of stay: June 2014
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jill r
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Enjoy the excitement of Venice while living like a local.”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Quiet Canarregio neighborhood away from the crowds. Cafes/bars and grocery store nearby. Train station an easy ten minute or so walk- over three bridges. Clean and well kept apartment. Comfortable for 2 adults and a teenager. Washing machine/drying rack a major convenience! Very gracious owner who promptly and thoroughly replies to all inquiries.

Date of stay: August 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing