We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly place we keep coming back to”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Punta Chame
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Casa Amarilla
Ranked #1 of 4 Punta Chame B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I have been learning to kitesurf this year (at the excellent Machete Kite school down he road) and have spent a number of enjoyable weekends with the family at the Casa Amarilla.

It is a delightful place, with nice gardens, a great pool (which is needed, as the beach isn't really suitable for swimming - lots of sting-rays and jellyfish...), nice food and a range of clean and well-appointed rooms for different needs.

We stay in a room in the main house that comfortably fits two adults and three small children in two bedrooms, and it is really very good value.

The nearby beach is a treasure trove of 'sand dollars' at low tide, and the children loved collecting them.

Oh, and try the margaritas, they are great!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank JayPea1279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 118 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014

Great little place to relax and convenient for kite surfing. The owners were delightful and made our stay very enjoyable. The food was delicious and the surroundings were perfect. The cabin was cute and cheerful; great value for money and the whole place was very clean. Would have loved to have stayed longer.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I stayed in a cabin in the garden of this charming little paradise run by a french couple, Gil and Rosa Marie. It's the best place I have ever stayed! Everything is very clean, the house and the garden is very beautiful, the staff is very friendly and the food is very good. But the best thing is the loving and warm ambience created by the friendly and helpful owners that makes you feel very welcome and right at home. Gil drove me to the beach for my kite sessions, Rosa Marie made special meals for me, and everyday they asked me how I was. They acted like parents looking out for me, which was very nice. This is a very special place! I was sad to leave and will definitely come back :)

Room Tip: I can recommend the cabins in the garden, if you are on a low budget. Make sure to book in advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naedde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We had a fantastic trip to punta chame to do some kitesurfing! We stayed at the Hostal Casa Amarilla and loved the place! The owners have created a beautiful small oasis, with gorgeous rooms, great food and immaculate grounds. Our meals were fantastic, and the atmosphere was very intimate...everything reasonably priced.The owners have put a lot of thought into every detail. If you're staying on Punta Chame for more than a couple of days you will definitely want a rental car.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJMC309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed at Casa Amarilla for 2 nights in January of 2014. This small hotel is friendly, very well kept and clean. The food served is of a very high standard and enjoyable. The owners obviously put a lot of thought and heart in it. We stayed in one of the new rooms on top of the outbuilding, recently renovated to a nice standard. Unfortunately the shower was broken and the hot water wasn´t consistent, but the room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunnyskies1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Imagine driving through a rather desolated-looking area of Panama and out of the middle of nowhere comes out this charming hotel, in bright white and yellow with a well-kept garden, flowers, welcoming patio and romantic surroundings.

The place is spotless clean. The rooms are bright, decorated with taste (which is unusual for Panama - at least in this category hotel) and you immediately feel welcome by cheerful owners. Light blocking curtains on the windows would have made the night a bit longer and restful, but other than that, the rooms, furniture, decoration and amenities are perfect.

Breakfast is good. Fresh juice, cereals, eggs etc, and sharing a drink in the evening alongside an impeccably kept swimming pool, without blasting music, and in a friendly, easy-going and cosy atmosphere was a totally unexpected and wonderful experience.

If you're looking for a restful place, close to the beaches, reasonably priced and without overpowering music to spoil your peace and quiet, you'll love the place.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Loverly4u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We were looking for a beach town to stay the night in before returning to Panama City and the flight home. Most of the beaches immediately to the west of Panama City are horribly developed with giant high-rise resorts, so we decided on Punta Chame, which seemed to be pretty laid back in comparison. I'm glad we did, and I'm glad we chose Casa Amarilla. The place is spotless - decorated and furnished to a very high standard, and the garden terrace was wonderful and cool even on a blisteringly hot day. We were offered a room with aircon or a cabin with a ceiling fan, and went with with the room because the cabin seemed like it would be hotter, and we weren't really on a budget. It was cool, clean and nicely appointed, with a big soft bed and a quiet, effective aircon unit. Being the low season we were the only guests there (in fact we just turned up at 6pm without a reservation), the French couple who own the hotel were charming and attentive, serving us cold drinks at the bar outside, and a delicious dinner of French cooking with a tropical twist.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There are cabañas with ceiling fans in the garden for $35 or rooms with aircon for $80
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Chame
0.7 mi away
Nitro City Panama Action Sports Resort
20.5 mi away
Manglar Lodge
Manglar Lodge
#1 of 2 in San Carlos
159 reviews
22.3 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Punta Chame Villas
Hotel Punta Chame Villas
#3 of 4 in Punta Chame
91 reviews
14.0 mi away
BlueBay Coronado Golf & Beach Resort
3.9 mi away
Punta Chame Club & Resort
Punta Chame Club & Resort
#1 of 3 in Punta Chame
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casa Amarilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa Amarilla

Address: Avenida Principale, Punta Chame, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Punta Chame
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Chame
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is reserved for the customer, convivial, personalized attention. the beach is 250m away, it has a swimming pool for guests of the hotel ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing