We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveler rating
41
23
8
7
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
23
8
7
9
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 88 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2015

Stayed here recently as I had business in Mount Gambier, Portland & Warnambool, this place is handy to all as its between Port Fairy & Portland.
You could drive past this place and not give it a second look, I urge you to.
This is a secret garden hideaway with beautifully converted train accomodation or traditional cottages.
The animals that roam this place are friendly and include horses, alpacas, sheep, peacocks chickens dogs & cats.
I don't think I've stayed in a more relaxing place, the owner Geoff is always around but not intrusive and he cooks the best breakfast & also cooks dinner by appointment, have the lamb rack with potato gratin.
Take your own drinks and everything else is provided including Geoffs knowledge of the area including fishing spots.
While there check out the cosy little pub down the road at Yambuk, about 4 KS.
This place needs at least 2 nights for you to explore, I'll be back.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Brett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
codgards, Owner at Codrington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2015

Thank you for your review.

You make a statement that we so often hear, people drive into our property and say "wow, I had no idea there was something like this here"!

It is, we believe, a lovely little oasis, our little heaven.

And we particularly enjoy sharing it with our guests.

Hope we see you again.

Thanks & Regards, Geoff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2015

Worth the 4 hour drive :-)

We really wanted a get away with our dog and we found Codrington Gardens! Such a family friendly, inviting place. The rooms were comfortable and clean and we loved the animals all over the property. How great to open our curtains and see a Lama walk past. Our dog was in heaven and fell in love with the pony's.
Geoff's pancakes were the best! The breakfast was delicious and the other guests super friendly.
Overall a great experience.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julesk1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
codgards, Owner at Codrington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property & the experience of your visit.

We've said this before, but we know that unhappy guests go right out of their way to sound their discontent, whereas if you go home after a happy enjoyable visit and with the best of intentions it's easy to get back into your routine and forget to write a review, so do appreciate your effort.

So very many guests say how much they enjoyed their stay, but overlook writing review.

It helps to offer better perspective for potential visitors to base their judgement on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2015

After driving the Great Ocean Road, we weren't planning to come this far but am glad we did. Breaking the repetitive farming landscape is this beautiful property covered in beautiful flowers, gardens, relics and a menagerie of sorts including dogs, cats, a cockatoo, chickens, sheep, alpacas and peacocks. We even saw a koala chilling out above us.
Then there's the showpieces: a Sydney double-decker carriage from the 1970s/80s, another from a few decades earlier and a third from the 19th century which serve as your accommodation. We stayed in the double-decker which was a strange feeling considering I grew up catching these trains. My bed (in the guard's compartment) was extremely comfortable, and being in the middle of nowhere it was quiet too. The decor and furnishings have been selected to reflect the time that the train was in service which adds to the charm.
The owners Geoff and Yuan are really hospitable and it felt like we were guests in their home as they cooked us a hearty breakfast and tended to their animals. Now I want to go back to stay in the other two carriages!

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
codgards, Owner at Codrington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2015

Thank you, thank you, and thank you again.

We are very grateful when our happy guests take the time to write a review.

I've said it before, but it does seem that disenchanted guests go out of their way to say something, whereas happy guests go home relaxed and don't always think to go on-line to say their piece.

Yes, if you walk around and look closely you often find the Koalas, they do live here, but sometimes they're hard to spot. And you will always find the other pets around the place, always happy to say hello!

So, please, do come again and do stay in the other train carriages, they are a very different experience again from the Bondi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2015 via mobile

A last minute decision to take a trip away for one night over the Australia Day weekend turned out to be an excellent choice.
Our nearly 2yo son loved walking around the gardens seeing the peacocks, chooks and other animals wandering around.
Staying in the Overland carriage was a great novelty we really enjoyed the experience and felt the decor really suited the carriage well.
Being in between Port Fairy and Portland we had lunch in Port Fairy before checking in and taking a trip to Portland for dinner and onto Cape Bridgewater before returning.
Geoff was a great host taking time to come and chat while we were walking around the gardens.
If you're after a tranquil stopover this is a great place to go.

Date of stay: January 2015
Thank AnthonyCX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
codgards, Owner at Codrington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2015

Thank you very much for your review.
And Thanks for pointing out how we did try to decorate the trains, and cottages, to a style and period corresponding with the units period.
Being on a farm in a rural area it's simply par for course that it's going to involve a "drive" (no pun intended) to get to us.
But, honestly, it takes what, 15 or 16 minutes from Port Fairy and everyone agrees that the little extra effort is well worth it, once you see the gardens and experience the privacy and peace and quite.
Plus, as you've pointed out, once you meet the animals.
Where else?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2015

Staying in an old train carriage is cool granted however the facilities built in the carriage we occupied were very tired and daggy to say the least. There was a sticky note on the mirror to tell us not to use their towels to remove makeup (???) and the air con was trembling at best on a rather hot day with no where to sit outside of our accommodation without be baked by the sun so I would not suggest this accommodation in the middle of summer. The accommodation is a bit of a drive for your nearest place to eat. Would I stay here again - unfortunately not for this price.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Terina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
codgards, Owner at Codrington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2015

Yes Gusonthemove it would be a fair comment to say you must have missed something.

In fact, you seem to have missed everything except the note on the mirror. Which isn't a "sticky note" by the way, and your suggesting it is sort of puts your review into perspective.

You missed the whole point actually; the 6 acres of private gardens, the unique accommodation, the 5 star linen, the on-site dining room (apparently), the guests kitchen, the opportunity to once in your life stay outside of a town or city and enjoy a taste of rural peace and quite.

I mean, you missed the lot, didn't you.

And to be honest your review is so spiteful we wonder what actually did happen if/when you visited us?

We can't find record of anyone called Gus having ever stayed at our place so we can't actually identify which room you "may" have stayed in. But, one thing is for sure, the aircon works perfectly fine in all our train carriage units, they're serviced ever year in Nov, and, Gusonthemove, there's ample places to sit in the shade either at your room or very close to it, at all times of day.

The Bondi has a massive deck right at the entrance, it is absolutely always shaded, and there's a full set of dining table and chairs on the deck. Every room has a private shaded deck.

And the gardens Gus, there's dozens of massive trees casting lovely deep shade across lush green lawns, how nice would it have been to be able to sit there on a hot summers day????? If you hadn't missed them???

Maybe, Gusonthemove, if you had "walked" around a little bit you might not have missed quite so much, or was the notice on the mirror so fascinating you simply couldn't drag yourself away from it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews