We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Codrington Gardens
Nearby Hotels
$85
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Victoria Apartments(Port Fairy)(Great Value!)
$129
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments(Port Fairy)(Great Value!)
$103
$99
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Central Motel(Port Fairy)(Great Value!)
$92
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Port Fairy(Port Fairy)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
$117
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drift House(Port Fairy)
$279
$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $303/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Portland Retro Motel(Portland)(Great Value!)
$65
$63
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Douglas Riverside(Port Fairy)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveler rating
40
23
8
7
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
23
8
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverland trainthe great ocean roadcockatoosaccommodationcottageadelaidecobwebssink
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 87 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We booked this hotel through a hotel booking website, mistakenly thinking that it was in the town of Port Fairy (as it was labelled). It turned out to be a 20 minute drive from there, through dark, unlit roads in the late evening. Our inattention caused us a 40 minute detour from and back to Port Fairy, as we had planned to head north to the Grampians the next day.

We booked the Olive tree cottage. While I appreciate that the location is out there in the countryside, and therefore there are bound to be more insects, however, I think I can safely say that NO ONE wants to have to bathe in a bathroom where a swarm of insects batter the windows, a huge spider sits in a corner, and millipedes crawl on the floor.

Our room drapes hosted a small family of spiders, the insect screen was torn , and cobwebs hung on the corners and the lamps. We slept nervously trying not to wonder if any spiders were crawling over us. No excuses, the insect screen should really be a top priority for those rooms.

On the plus side, we were greeted the next morning by a pair of friendly dogs and a huge cat, who came up to say hello. Being an animal lover that was quite nice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tempestblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
codgards, Owner at Codrington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

NOT 20 MINUTES from Port Fairy.
Hi, Thanks for your review, and we are sorry for the spider issue, we’ve taken steps to ensure there are and will not be any undue spider guests in that or any other room on our property. As much as is sensibly possible.
As for the 20 minute drive from Port Fairy, you must have taken the scenic route, or stopped for petrol on the way, or used Apples Maps, because we aren’t 20 minutes from Port Fairy, 15 at the best.
There was absolutely no need to go to the Grampians via Port Fairy either; we’re actually closer to the Grampians than Port Fairy. We are also closer to most of the State Forests and remote beaches and rivers in the region, than is Port Fairy.
Dark Road? Well, we’re in Australia, in a rural region, I don’t know the exact percentage but I’d guess that something in the region of 99.99% of Australia’s roads are “dark”. It’s an impossible presumption to expect all our roads to be lit like a city street. And, if that’s what you want, street lights and no “wildlife”, then a country retreat isn’t the best place to go.
We don’t list ourselves as being in Port Fairy either, the agents do that, and it’s actually completely out of our control.
I think in most cases (if not all) the agents tend to list us as in Port Fairy Region.
Go to our web site, it’s very clear there what we offer and where we are.
But, as we said, we have taken on board the issue with the spiders, although somewhat exaggerated, and this is no longer a problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

The owners Geoff and Yuan were very friendly and helpful. The place has a unique feel with train carriages, the garden and the animals. The room we stayed in was outdated and a bit dusty. The restaurant menu could do with a better selection and many items on the menu weren't available.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Basharre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
codgards, Owner at Codrington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Hi, Thanks for your review.
The menu isn’t fixed, we don’t carry everything on hand, and the restaurant doesn’t open as a public Al a Carte business, we cook only for guests, we make it very clear (on our site) that if you wish to have your evening meal here you need to order in advance, as we prep the meals in the afternoon and cook them fresh and to order.
Anything on the menu is available, if it is ordered in advance.
We do hold some items on hand for guests that turn up and want a meal without pre-ordering, and that is a limited selection.
Sorry for any inconvenience in that respect.
The room being outdated? I don’t understand that, the rooms where “built” (as in fitted out) within the last 4 or 5 years, they are all “older” buildings (the Settler Cottage circa 1902 for example), and we’ve tried to retain an atmosphere of period feel to the rooms. But the fittings are modern, the rooms are fresh and up to date, the furniture is quality period furniture.
So, although we definitely aren’t a modern, city hotel or motel type setup, the rooms are clean and fresh.
Every room is wiped down on the morning before each arrival. So we’re not sure where the dust was either, but we’ll take it on board and consider if we’ve missed out somewhere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

CG has novel accommodation and setting. Sleeping in the train carriage was fun. Geoff was our very thoughtful host who cooked a meal for us in advance when he knew we were arriving late. We enjoyed a restful night, good breakfast and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karenag42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
codgards, Owner at Codrington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Hi, Thanks for your review.
We’re very happy you enjoyed your stay.
We fins the reviews we received fascinating, our property seems to create a polar divide.
It’s different, its not in a town or city, and some people just don’t “get it”.
The vast majority of our guests say similar things to us, as you have said in your review.
Our guests are increasing in number of referred and return guests, every year.
Unfortunately, the unhappy guests seem more inclined to find a way to say something about their stay than the satisfied. Fact of life?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

On our first visit we had a pleasant drive from Melbourne and enjoyed the three night stay. The meals that we had during our stay were fantastic, and we loved the room with its comfortable bed. The animals were a treat and the gardens were very relaxing.
We stayed in a different room on our second visit and once again had a very enjoyable time.
A very warm family atmosphere, very pleasant.
We would not hesitate to book in again if we are once again in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynxJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
codgards, Owner at Codrington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Hi, Thanks for your review.
We’re very happy you enjoyed your stay.
We find the reviews we received fascinating; our property seems to create a polar divide.
It’s different, its not in a town or city, and some people just don’t “get it”.
The vast majority of our guests say similar things to us, as you have said in your review.
Our guests are increasing in number of referred and return guests, every year.
Unfortunately, the unhappy guests seem more inclined to find a way to say something about their stay than the satisfied. Fact of life?
We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

First of all Geoff and Yuan were lovely hosts and made us feel very much at home. Our cottage was clean, comfortable and suited us just fine. The bed was very comfortable (I travel a lot and you dont often get a comfortable bed), linen was nice and fresh and clean smelling. We had nice hot showers which really is important after you've come back from a day out touring. We enjoyed many meals on site during our stay and I have to say the food was delicious. Geoff is a really good cook and the presentation was excellent. We will definitely go back next time during the warmer months.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freesies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
codgards, Owner at Codrington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Thank you for the encouragement, we're so happy you enjoyed your stay and really appreciate the time you've taken to point out th things you liked about staying at our place. Yes, come again, we look forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews