We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful sanctuary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Codrington Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Codrington Gardens
Ranked #1 of 1 Codrington B&B and Inns
Ballan, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful sanctuary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

We recently stayed two nights after a recommendation from friends. We were very happy.

The bed was comfortable, and everything was very clean.

We stayed in the Overland carrige and spent about the first hour just looking at all the original details in wonder.

Geoff and Yuan were wonderful hosts and we found the food to be amazing and from the massive veggie patch.

My partner made instant mates with the cockatoo and I loved the dogs and cat and small chickens and alpacas..... There were so many animals living there in harmony with the gardens.

By far my most favorite part were the gardens. We spent the afternoons wandering with a glass of Rose, looking at the sculptures, sitting on the deck chairs, feeding the alpacas, looking at the bees flying into their houses, and generally relaxing in the beuatiful surrounding.

This place is a lovely sanctuary and we wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Many rooms styles to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clair3J0n3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
codgards, Owner at Codrington Gardens, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thanks for your review.
It’s always very much appreciated when our happy guests take the time to write a review when they get back home.
So glad you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    23
    8
    7
    9
See reviews for
22
44
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

Accommodation was ok, nothing spectacular. However, they double charged our credit card and despite several phone calls, several emails and two months of elapsed time they've still not refunded it. Avoid.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
codgards, Owner at Codrington Gardens, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
NOT QUITE TRUE!
Unfortunately, you haven’t told the full story, have you?!
Yes, there was a mistake and there was a double up on your charges.
WE, did not cause this, this was caused by our third-party billing provider, and we went about making the refund as soon as we could.
BUT, you tried to claim BOTH charges back, and this so complicated matters that it took us and the bank combined, hours to sort out.
More compounding was your inclination to go through the bank, instead of contacting us and clarifying what had happened.
It became like a game of Chinese Wispers!
Anyway, we are sorry for the inconvenience. And it was rectified.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbou
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

My wife, two young daughters and I stayed at Codrington Gardens for two nights during a family holiday in January. We all loved it. Geoff and Yuan were cheerful and friendly and we especially appreciated Yuan taking our girls around the proprety to "help" with feeding all the animals, despite this adding a good half hour to the process! We were also fortunate to have a koala wander past and pose for some photos while we relaxed on the grass. Our room was clean, large and comfortable and there was no traffic sound, just the soothing sounds of the wildlife. We will certainly stay there again if we are in that area and next time will be sure to bring our dog, she'll love it too.
Thanks Geoff and Yuan!

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
codgards, Owner at Codrington Gardens, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write your review.
It’s great when we have guests that appreciate the style of our venue, and outline so succinctly the reasons why our venue is so unique and enjoyable.
Please come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

If you are coming to stay expecting yuppy 5 star rating then stay away and pay double or triple the amount and stay in Port Fairy but if you want something different and quirky stay here!! we loved it because it is a different style of accommodation and wonderful gardens which would take so much effort maintaining, we stayed in the train accommodation its neat and tidy but remember people its not 5 star its a train for goodness sack i got sick of reading reviews of people that i think expected perfection , we checked out the double decker train its so cool kids would love it here and you have a kitchen and barby area to cook dinner and sit back in the gardens and enjoy the surroundings, would come back again but this time bring the kids and there bikes

Room Tip: Bondi 2 double decker its cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karina4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
codgards, Owner at Codrington Gardens, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks for your review, and the salient comments made.
As you say, Our venue is unique. ANd is subject to some unusual circumstances.
We're in the "bush", in Australia, and surrounded by farms & forests.
If you want solitude, a chance to experience unspoiled rural surrounds, then this is for you.
If you're after satellite TV, US francise plastic meals, and shopping malls, then it isn't.
And when our guests invest the time to tell everyone about it, we're so grateful.
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

Our family of 5 including oscar our pooch, stayed 2 nights from the 20th Jan. From the moment we arrived we just felt like we could relax. The gardens were beautiful even though in drought. At night you have to sit outside for awhile and just look up into the sky being so far from streetlights the stars are so bright. Billie you made a new friend with oscar, the kids loved the alpacas and the sheep. Yuan and Geoff and cocky of course made us feel so welcome , dinner on friday was beautiful and as we were the only ones there for dinner that night geoff even let us bring oscar to dinner with us. We stayed in the bondi express double decker train carriage we were blown away by the rooms and how beautifully decorated they were. My wife raved about how comfortable the beds were and the kids loved having their only little hideaway bedroom down stairs.I have read other reviews of codrington and dont understand what they were expecting all the information is on the website even a why you should and shouldn't stay here. It is only a short drive to port fairy, we were last in port fairy approx 13 years ago and I think it has become a little too touristy for me but I guess that is progress. If you have kids take them to lake yambuk , there is a huge slide for the kids and a great beach for your dog to run along. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return one day and we will recommend codrington to our friends. Thank you Yuan and Geoff for your hospitality.

Michael and Leanne

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
codgards, Owner at Codrington Gardens, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you very much for writing your review.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Thanks for the comments about the train, and I hope this helps others have a better understanding of our accommodation.
The vast majority of our guests, like you, they just love it here, and can't understand why some people go on-line to make critical comments that bear no resemblance to the reality of our venue.
This is our home, and we love sharing it with guests.
It was in this light we actually did put a "Why & Why Not" page on our web site, because we don't enjoy it if someone comes and this isn't the sort of place they wanted to stay. I mean, how much more up-front can we be?
All we want to do is share what we have with those that enjoy something unique and un-commercialised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

When I originally found Codrington Gardens via another accommodation site, I was instantly sold. The website was informative and had a friendly style to it with lovely pictures and bundles of information on the estate and the surrounding areas. We stayed in the Bondi Express carriage. With two queen beds, kitchenette, bathroom and upstairs living room, we found plenty of space and privacy for four friends in our 20’s to rest, chill out, spread ourselves and feel comfortable. Lovely décor, a clever reconstruction and an experience to remember. At $200 for one night, split four ways, it’s a steal.

We had been held up in Warrnambool and arrived very late in the afternoon (much later than our listed ETA) but Geoff was still happy to organise and cook dinner for all of us at short notice. Beef Burgundy with a side of veggies and his all famous Potato Gratin – it was to die for!

My friends and I spent ages exploring the gardens and snapping pics. Each corner has a new surprise; be it bumping into the alpacas, Yuan letting us have a hold of the friendly cockatoo, Billy the Whippet looking for a pat, or laughing at a stone gnome ‘mooning’ passers by. Decked out with a waterlily pond, veggie garden and ample seating, this would also be an ideal place for sketching, photography, reading the latest paperback or quiet contemplation – alone or with companions.

At night, we shrugged into warm jackets (as it can get quite nippy, even during the summer months) and spent over an hour standing outside to gaze at the stars through pockets of thick cloud, picking out Orion, the Southern Cross and hoping we could catch a glimpse of a shooting star. While it was too overcast during our stay to see a lot we certainly enjoyed the endeavour, as stars seem so much brighter out here than back in Melbourne.

Checking out the next day, Geoff pointed us on a faster route back to Melbourne which shaved some time off our travel. He was knowledgeable enough to point out a few 'markers' along the way so we were thrilled on our trip home to drive past the most haunted pub in Victoria and Elephant Hill (and know we were heading in the right direction!)

The only minor critique would be that we couldn’t find a hairdryer in the bathroom. By the time we needed it, it was too late at night to ask for one so we improvised with the standing fan in the living room, which worked just as well! I would recommend future travelers to let the couple know early if you need anything specific for your stay - such as sleeping arrangements, equipment or meals. Being explicit and early in the instructions to the hosts means it's more likely to happen.

The four of us have enjoyed our stay at Codrington Gardens as one of the last resting points on our Great Ocean Road trip, and it’s been a real holiday highlight. My parents have already heard all my stories and are planning to embark on their own trip down that way with their friends, and I have highly recommended Codrington Gardens to them. So Geoff and Yuan; thank you for your hospitality and I guarantee you’ll be seeing more of my family and friends soon!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
codgards, Owner at Codrington Gardens, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you, it is so encouraging when our guests take the time to tell us what they enjoyed about their stay.
You hit the nail right on the head with your comments, and we take on board, no pun intended, your suggestion about hair dryers.
Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

Thanks Geoff for a fantastic three nights. The kids are still raving about the breakfasts and dinners and loved the experience of staying in a train! Loved the gardens you have there and meeting your menagerie! Have already recommended to others to stay with you. Service was fantastic and it was a great experience to stay in the train! Give our best to Cockie, Billy and the Alpaca's! Cheers, Leo and Marisa

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeoandMarisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Codrington
14.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
#1 of 11 in Port Fairy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
14.3 mi away
Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel
13.9 mi away
The Victoria Apartments
The Victoria Apartments
#4 of 11 in Port Fairy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Clonmara Cottages
Clonmara Cottages
#2 of 12 in Port Fairy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
13.5 mi away
BIG4 Port Fairy Holiday Park
BIG4 Port Fairy Holiday Park
#1 of 11 in Port Fairy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
13.5 mi away
Belfast Cove Holiday Park
Belfast Cove Holiday Park
#2 of 11 in Port Fairy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Codrington Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Codrington Gardens

Property: Codrington Gardens
Address: 4887 Princes Hwy, Codrington, Victoria 3285, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Codrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Codrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Codrington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why stay in just another Hotel or Motel in just another Town or City?When you can do something completely different this holiday.Come over to Codrington & join us on our wonderful rural property on the un-spoilt South West Coast of Victoria, the region famously known as "The Shipwreck Coast”.All our units are set within 6 acres of private & secluded gardens.You can stay in a Period Train Carriage for a truly unique experience, the "Port Fairy Flyer" is a 1894 carriage now a sumptuous room for 2, "Overland" is a 1907 carriage with a First Class feel, Bondi Express is a one of a kind double decker carriage offering a wonderful & memorable experience.Or choose one of our traditional Country Cottages & enjoy a sense of Rural Splendour of a bygone era. Olive Tree Cottage is a 2 bedroom very spacious cottage with bright sunny aspect, Gooseberry Cottage is a smaller 2 bedroom cottage with a marvellous deck overlooking quite gardens, Settler Cottage is the original "settlers" cottage mid 1800's now renovated to a wonderful modern unit with 1 bedroom and big living area & Station Master Lodge is a single bedroom with a great sunroom overlooking the court yard gardens.AWARDS: Voted in Top Ten "Best Place to Stay" in Victoria in 2007, 2008, & 2009. Voted finalist "Most Unique Place to Stay" 2009 & 10. Our units are AAA & RACV rated as 4 Star and 3.5 Star.Codrington Gardens is a feature of the area, something far more interesting & relaxing than a stay at just another motel or hotel in just another Town or City. The short drive out of Port Fairy rewards you with peace and quite of a rural property with massive private gardens, yet central to all the local attractions you will want to see.Enjoy our secure & private 6.5 acre property, with room to roam, space to relax, somewhere for the kids to run & play safely, a place where the whole family can spend quality time together & breath the clean fresh country air amid a true rural atmosphere. It will recharge your very soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Codrington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing