We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but better if you book directly with the lodge”
Review of Ecolodge Tomarapi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tomarapi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ecolodge Tomarapi
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This lodge is ideally located at the bottom of the Sajama (6.542 m high), not far from Aguas Termales (18km).
Rooms are simple but quite neat. Usually you go there for resting or discovering the beautiful and impressive scenery of the Sajama and bathing in the thermal waters (aguas termales).
For those who go there with their own vehicle, do not book in La Paz with Bolivia Milenaria Agency, they overcharge you and their service does not worth it. Take directly contact with the lodge, the Albergue Ecoturístico Tomarapi and ask for the legal representative Alberto Crispin (mobile phone: 74014108 or phone: 025 132515).
Prices 2012 per night are (if booked directly with the lodge !):
Family room (4 p), full board : 8OO Bs, half board : 700 Bs
Triple, full board: 650 Bs, HB: 550Bs
Double, FB: 550 Bs, HB: 480
Simple, FB: 400 Bs, HB: 390 Bs

Possible to book a guide as well, on the spot.

People are really friendly and try to arrange things for you, the best they can. Traditional Bolivian dishes are served.
Do not hesitate to take your duvet and some pull-over with you, it's really cold in the evening, even if there is a small heater in the rooms.
No wi-fi in the hotel, but mobile phones can be used (at least with Entel sim card).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alainschmitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 49 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

when you made a reservation and arrive in the lodge after a long travel journey you expect that they would heat the warm water and start the heating in your room before you arrive No, you have to wait another 2 hours. Maybe you could have a tea near the fire place in the dinner area, before your little room is warm, a fire place yes but no fire!
After a poor dinner, our room was still very cold so we let the heating on all night. Maybe it did help for the cold but as it is a gasheater, it took oxigen from the room result = headache all night
We were not pleased with our stay considering the price of 120 $ per person we would have appreciated some more effort from the local folks. There are other communities where we stayed worth the contribution, not this one.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gokeAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We went there part of a private three day tour (from/to La Paz) from Millenarian Tours and Travel. They provided us with a great team of guide/driver (Abraham and Efraim) in a perfect minivan. We slept two nights at Tomarapi.

The Tomarapi lodge is very well located. The views and prime access we have to mountains is high-value.

The lodge is community supported and people of 37 families rotate working here. The food is excellent, especially the breakfast and soups. Main courses could be beefed up in quantity though. The fact that electricity and heating is available all night long is a plus (compared to the Salar) for comfort. However, we felt (especially my wife) that cleanliness was not an evidence. The bed sheets are either too thin or not cleaned well enough (or not at all), because we could detect smoke and perfume smells on ours. Our towels that we had dropped in the shower to have then changed seemed to had been refolded and hung back on the towel rod. We could identify our exact same towels from the night before by the hole pattern... Well, we can't affirm that we certitude, but just having doubts is a bit sad.

Being so close to the mountains with nice guided day-hikes available is a real plus and I cannot score down this place for just one issue of a doubt on cleanliness. The hike to Laguna Chiar Khota is a must.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EricMonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed in the local community-run Tomarapi lodge for two nights in June 2011. The landscape is incredible and the feeling of isolation and tranquility is incredible. The lodge is very clean, and nothing beats the excellent warm meals during the chilly evenings. Considering how far you are from civilization, the accommodations are pretty impressive. In winter (June - August) temperatures drop well below freezing. Rooms are heated, but we still used my 0 degree (F) sleeping bag to cover us in the bed. Be sure to checkout the hot springs to watch the sunset over the peaks. We arranged transport via an agency called Millenarium Tours in La Paz (also highly recommended), the prices were very reasonable. Bring extra cash to buy handmade alpaca and vicuña garments that made by the local co-op.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank k c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We loved Tomarapi. The town is abandoned, so it is absolutely peaceful - no people, no cars, no dogs, no roosters. It was wonderfully quiet and dark, a perfect refuge. It is an old village built of adobe and stone, and we spent hours exploring and photographing. The lodge is run by 5 local folks who are extremely helpful and friendly (especially if you speak Spanish). The food is good, and there was a welcome fire in the dining room in the evenings. We could walk out our door and be on the hiking trail for Sajama in 3 minutes, as well as watch the sunrise and sunset on Sajama every day.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tiadora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Just had one night at the Tomarapi Ecolodge, but it was enough to witness one of the most spectacular sunsets we've ever seen - seemingly setting Vulcan Sajama on fire - and the location at the base of the volcano nestling next to a beautiful adobe church was one of the finest we experienced in Bolivia.

Accommodation options in this area tend to be pretty sparse offerings and the Tomarapi Ecolodge offers something of a step up from the usual hostals, and is an important revenue generator for the local community. The rooms are relatively small, but that helps with heating during the bitterly cold nights, and the shower had hot water when we arrived and wanted to wash the dust off.

The restaurant had a nice wood fire going when we went for a pre-dinner drink, which was very welcome, and dinner offered a selection of good, traditional local dishes - filling and warming. After dinner the short walk back to the room was cold but offered a magnificent view of the night sky. The absolute quiet of the area made for a good nights sleep.

I wouldn't describe the ecolodge as a luxury option, but it was a great place to spend a night (or two if you have the time), and I'd recommend it to anyone passing through Park Sajama.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CumbrianCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

Lovely place, a bit chilly. The lodge can provide guides to help you see the areas within the park. Friendly and knowledgeable guide. Good food.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
Thank splitzadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ecolodge Tomarapi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecolodge Tomarapi

Address: Parque Nacional Sajama, Tomarapi, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > Tomarapi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Tomarapi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing