We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ecolodge Tomarapi
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Tomarapi
See available hotels
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveler rating
14
24
6
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
24
6
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ritzcommunity projectpancakessouth americasajamaheaterluxury
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 50 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We loved Tomarapi. The town is abandoned, so it is absolutely peaceful - no people, no cars, no dogs, no roosters. It was wonderfully quiet and dark, a perfect refuge. It is an old village built of adobe and stone, and we spent hours exploring and photographing. The lodge is run by 5 local folks who are extremely helpful and friendly (especially if you speak Spanish). The food is good, and there was a welcome fire in the dining room in the evenings. We could walk out our door and be on the hiking trail for Sajama in 3 minutes, as well as watch the sunrise and sunset on Sajama every day.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tiadora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Just had one night at the Tomarapi Ecolodge, but it was enough to witness one of the most spectacular sunsets we've ever seen - seemingly setting Vulcan Sajama on fire - and the location at the base of the volcano nestling next to a beautiful adobe church was one of the finest we experienced in Bolivia.

Accommodation options in this area tend to be pretty sparse offerings and the Tomarapi Ecolodge offers something of a step up from the usual hostals, and is an important revenue generator for the local community. The rooms are relatively small, but that helps with heating during the bitterly cold nights, and the shower had hot water when we arrived and wanted to wash the dust off.

The restaurant had a nice wood fire going when we went for a pre-dinner drink, which was very welcome, and dinner offered a selection of good, traditional local dishes - filling and warming. After dinner the short walk back to the room was cold but offered a magnificent view of the night sky. The absolute quiet of the area made for a good nights sleep.

I wouldn't describe the ecolodge as a luxury option, but it was a great place to spend a night (or two if you have the time), and I'd recommend it to anyone passing through Park Sajama.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CumbrianCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

Lovely place, a bit chilly. The lodge can provide guides to help you see the areas within the park. Friendly and knowledgeable guide. Good food.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
Thank splitzadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews