We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredibly helpful, just what I needed.”

The Broadway Tearooms and Bakery
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Reefton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Excellent breakfast and coffee, good value for money. Free internet
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Incredibly helpful, just what I needed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

These guys were wonderful, I turned up as a very cold and wet cyclist with no other real facilities open in Reefton and they took me in. Had several excellent cups of coffee, good pies and sausage rolls and a cronut (way above trend there).

Then I went onto pots of tea of which they make an excellent one. I was there till after 6 waiting for a lift and they ensured that I wasn't going anywhere but was going to be warm and safe. Really lovely chat from them too, just proving that sometimes you just land on your feet and run into the right people.

Many thanks for your help and any time I'm in Reefton I'll be dropping in.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    37
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best breakfast for miles around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Friendly, flexible, and good home-cooked food. I have to say more - so I'll repeat what I said at the beginning. Opens early, so why cook your own?

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank blueduck49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Pricey, but yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I write this mostly on behalf of my husband, seeing as he tasted multiple items from this bakery...We have an excellent bakery back home, and have visited many since arriving in New Zealand, so we have set the standard pretty high when it comes to bakery food. Reefton's bakery was so good, however, that my husband actually declared it to be better than the one back home! It's not particularly cheap, but you get decent portion sizes, and great taste! I had a pie, and it had buttery, flaky pastry and good filling. Glad we stopped by.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lukeandlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Time Less Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

First visited here 23 years ago - it hasn't changed a bit - a classic Kiwi country town tea room - sure beats those sub-sub-Subways. The cake cabinet is a high calory, cream-filled work of edible art . Correction: things have changed - they have now got WiFi

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pommesfrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great tea rooms!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This place is a great place to stop and refuel from driving, I wouldn't bother stopping in springs junction for food as this place is way better by miles. The food cabinet is well stocked with everything you'd expect from a good country village tea rooms, they even had a really friendly cat that was quite happy to watch us eat and Waite to get a pat from us. Defiantly worth a stop if your hungry or need a hot drink.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahab1387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Broadway Tearooms and Bakery also viewed

Reefton, West Coast Region
Reefton, West Coast Region
 
Reefton, West Coast Region
Westport, West Coast Region
 

Been to The Broadway Tearooms and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing