We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Check your room before leaving!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Siolim House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Siolim House
Ranked #1 of 7 Siolim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bicton, West Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Check your room before leaving!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Ditto to all the comments made by other reviewers. We had a wonderful 5 day stay at Siolim House and thoroughly explored and enjoyed this part of Goa. Unfortunately our memories were soured by the lack of effort from the staff to return an expensive item of clothing that was left hanging in the upstairs bathroom. Emails went unanswered. In all I sent 5 . Of course the item had 'disappeared'. For a luxury establishment I found this lack of after care service disappointing. I suggest they set up a lost and found basket and if items are not claimed after a short period of time then they are disposed of.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs are massive but there is a lot of street noise early in the morning; bikes and ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99Deb55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIolimGoa, Owner at Siolim House, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Sir, Firstly thanks for your nice comments about your stay and I am really happy you enjoyed being with us. However, Im really sorry and upset to hear your views regarding the garment that you felt you left in the room. As the office advised you, and I too in an email, your trousers were not found. If they had been, rest assured we would have sent them on to you. Please also do not feel that any of the boys would have an interest in not returning your item - however expensive the brand. Its not done culturally here to wear any clothes that are not one's own. I wish I could make amends - but I felt I owed it to the staff and to our hotel to respond. Best regards, varun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    48
    19
    6
    11
See reviews for
47
96
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

After a flight from the UK we arrived very early in the morning by taxi from the airport - the journey along Goa's roads was what we remembered and set the scene nicely on our 4th Goan visit. Arriving just as the breakfast tables were being laid out we deposited our bags in our room upstairs and were shown to a table where we were served with morning tea - try the `masala served in great cast iron teapots - so welcoming and a great way to start the holiday!

The house setting in the village is close enough to the main church and local shops to find what most will need for your trip though typically small village Goa rather than European style shops which you will see in the more touristy areas further south in Calangute, Baga etc. There was a good short walk down the river which our regular taxi driver recommended to us which gave some good photograph opportunities. The hotel will organise taxis for you at a small additional cost.

Now to the hotel itself which has to be one of the nicest heritage buildings we have stayed in - it has been refurbished/renovated to a high standard and if it was built in England would have won awards from English Heritage - the sensitive nature of the owner's standards have enhanced the building and rather than attempting to squeeze as many rooms in as possible, the number of rooms has been kept to a minimum allowing guests spacious rooms and our bathroom was larger than many hotel bedrooms with high ceilings and enough room for a king size bed. The furnishings throughout are to a similar high standard - our room on the first floor had beautiful antique furniture and a four poster bed.

The pool area and other facilities/guest rooms are all superbly decorated and give that colonial feel. The staff are very helpful and the food is always freshly prepared having been bought specially for you on the day from the local market. You do have to order either the night before on early morning as they don't have anything other than fresh produce. We tried the cookery school one afternoon which we enjoyed and got to eat a choice of 3 main dishes - 2 fish and a chicken dish with vegetarian side dish. Really enjoyable.

We also tried the morning Yoga which was well worth doing even for beginners and massage - both were of a high standard.

Whilst I would recommend the food in the hotel restaurant for choice, quality and value there are other options if you decide to use the hotel as a base for short trips out at night as well. Too many to mention here but the choices within a 20 minute ride are all pretty good - you can always go to some straight from the beach and get your taxi driver to wait for you while you eat but if you like to shower first then there are enough options for it not to become too expensive to venture out a few nights to nearby restaurants.

All in all I would highly recommend this small hotel for its' personal service great style, reasonable cost and the chance to meet like minded travellers - we will visit it again without a doubt if back in Goa in the future.

Well done to the staff and owner and thank you again for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Although we looked at only one of the ground floor rooms which were smaller they were a reasonable s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Siolim is inland so might detract a little for those looking for a beach holiday. But if you want to see different beaches then it is convenient to tour those in the vicinity and also heading to the fabulous northern beaches.

I had a suite upstairs in the old part of the house. Huge wonderful and I felt like a colonial governor! Dinner was good and breakfast great.

It does feel like you are staying in a private luxury villa, which is what the owner had originally intend. And lucky us he has opens it as a boutique hotel so we can also appreciate it and take in a bit of history. No doubt I will visit again sometime.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank GypsyJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is a perfect place to stay and enjoy an idyllic setting. The song of the birds is charming and so is the attitude of the staff that will do anything to be sure that you spend a wonderful time in their hotel. My room was big enough, very comfortable and the view on the pool is fantastic. Also this place is perfect for romantic couples, as my girl can confirm it :). As well I recommend you to have a massage in the pool because it is one of a kind experience. Another think that we liked is that you can rent a scooter and just wonder around Goa. In short this hotel has everything you need for a dream vacation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WinstoneG2ThanLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

This was the highlight of our holiday to India. After a disastrous night in another hotter, we were lucky to find this incredible house.
Siolim is beautiful and we enjoyed every second of it.

HIGHS:
* the house is stunning and unique! we booked the room upstairs with gigantic bathroom and view on the pool
* The staff are extremely well trained. Nilesh especially was a delight to deal with and answered all our annoying touristic questions!
* Have a massage by the pool, you won't be disappointed
* Ask to rent a scooter for few days and go around Goa
* The rooms are clean and beds extremely comfortable

LOWS
* The house is set in a little village and it can be a little bit noisy sometimes but it will not bother you that much!
* hot water runs out pretty quickly but a warm shower is actually all you need with goa's heat
* the food is pretty pricey for India but good
* we were leaving early to a catch our plane. we ordered tea&toasts but we got none of it. unfortunately no one managed to wake up for us

All together, we fell in love with this house and it's colonial atmosphere and would DEFINITELY go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pelote1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

I had the privilege of staying in this awesome property in two occasions in the last 3 months when I was in a business trip to Siolim. The place is restored to the precision of the old Goa charm with authentic delicious goan food. The housekeeping is warm and friendly and there is always a feeling like you are at home!
Value for money! Try it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gghose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

This home has been carefully restored and serves as a perfect landing pad to explore Goa.
Service is personal and makes you feel like you're at the home of dear friends.
Property is in perfect condition.
Food is amazing & abundant!
We will stay here again and again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Somaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siolim
23.4 mi away
Alila Diwa Goa
Alila Diwa Goa
#2 of 39 in Salcette District
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
3.7 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
7.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Tamarind Hotel
The Tamarind Hotel
#2 of 15 in Anjuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
5.1 mi away
Shanti Morada
Shanti Morada
#1 of 2 in Saligao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
8.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siolim House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siolim House

Property: Siolim House
Address: Near St Siolim House Near St, Siolim, Bardez 403517, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Siolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Siolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Siolim House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Siolim House is a 350 year old palacio from the times Goa was a portuguese territory. It has all the hallmarks of a period manor and has been restored with all the care it deserves. Now only 7 suites in a lovely village very well located fo rthe beaches and sites, homecooked local cuising, it is very much a home where you will get to experience authentic Goan living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Siolim House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Palacio Siolim House Hotel Siolim
Casa Palacio Siolim Hotel
Casa Palacio Siolim Bardez
Siolim House Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing