We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My absolute favourite.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Siolim House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Siolim House
Ranked #1 of 7 Siolim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My absolute favourite.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

A delightful and tastefully restored Portuguese house. My absolute favourite in Goa. Located far from anything touristy. One can take notes from its decor. Stayed here for over 10 days and haven't felt more at home anywhere while traveling. The staff is polite. The rooms, spacious. The lovely pool -- so so inviting, I can't wait to go back!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank N1har1kas1ngh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    48
    19
    6
    10
See reviews for
46
96
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
goa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is our favorite boutique hotel in Goa, Siolim house is a beautifully restored Portuguese house, the rooms are spacious, very beautiful, the food is authentic and homely, the staff is very helpful. Very romantic, relaxing and very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Macau on the first floor is the best room, out of the vvorld,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeetuBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed two night here, part business part leisure. Its really a 7 room home, managed by the owner and his manager in a very personalised manner. Dont expect professional hotel standards, but rather a home-like ambience and quiet, attentive service. Meals and service is basic, but does the job. Everything works, especially clean, functional, large loos! So dont go expecting a swish hotel...if you want a quiet getaway, this is one to consider. A good base to explore Goa from, away from the crowds! The owners being on property lend it a very personalised appeal...

Room Tip: If you want an atmospheric stay, in a place that reeks of Goa's heritage, this is surely one to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shyamkhet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meerut, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

There are no words to describe Siolem House! All in all, a breathtaking, awesome, beautiful property and run smoothly. The experience of a few days in this resort will stay with one forever. The sheer magnificence and grandeur has a unique old-world charm, which is unmatchable.

Waking up on the four-poster bed in the wee hours of the morning, wraiths of graceful Portuguese ladies and gentlemen seem to float through the well-laid out lawns - and one feels transported into a era long gone by.

I would love to stay at Siolem House every time I visit Goa.

Room Tip: It is a personal choice, and every room/suite is flawless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seema T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

A dream house maintained with great care in a village location with various shops nearby and 10 minutes far from the most beautiful beaches!
The staff was attentive and very caring throughout our stay. Room and bathroom were beautiful and really spacious. The pool and the garden were a value to relax in a lush setting.
I highly recommend this hotel, our stay was magical !!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scarlettroze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Another round of public thank you's this time for you Siolim House and Frangipani. You're effort to make our weekend the perfect celebration was beyond what we expected. Thank you for showing us the time of our lives, for being discreet, specially for you D for being a 'fixer' for every little problem I had :-). The food had rave reviews and so did the desserts....the properties are other worldly and a lot of us will definitely be back for more, esp the ones that left their wife's behind :-). Thanks again for everything.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Way over rated for all the hype. Given a room that opens to the lobby and windows to the garden car park. No AC so only way to keep a breeze is to leave door open and windows open. Options are privacy and swealter, or just hot with some sense of breeze and no privacy. Hear every lobby conversation. Staff and guests walk by looking in or even walk into the room. The manager is apparently new over the past few months per other guests. Patronizing and smily but generally unhelpful. Then at the end told I owed 3K more rupee. Prepaid portion of the bill, ~19K, with emailed receipt in hand but told I only paid ~16K and charged the extra along with the bill balance. Stay in a high end beach resort for less and closer to more attractions. Likely a better time and more comfortable. Definitely disappointed overall.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Wanderer915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIolimGoa, Owner at Siolim House, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Sir

Thanks for your feedback. Im sorry your experience was not positive. In siolim House as mnetioned on our website, only 4 of our 7 rooms are AC, and for some folks AC is a requirement for the month of April. It is always your choice to choose the AC rooms. The AC in the other 3 rooms has been purposefully left out to the heritage character of that part of the building and the fact that that part of the structure would not lend itself to AC both from aesthetics as well as other factors, like not being able to air an old goan house.

As regards the payment issue - I believe there was no problem with the payment and we did not take anything beyond what has been agreed. I am sorry that the impression you give is that that is the case, and thats a bit harsh I feel

A guest for us is a friend from the time he comes, and we are truly very very grateful for your having come to stay with us. Please write to me directly again if we can clarify anything on the bill.

Something went wrong, and it appears that that made you feel that the staff was less than discreet etc. Our staff is small and has been with us for years - if sorry but I hope that it was only your impression.

Its true that a beach hotel is what some folks need and it does happen rarely that people who wanted to go there end up with us - we are a heritage hotel and offer a different experience, set back, laid back and authentic I hope. Sometimes having paid an advance you may feel that its what you didnt want - if such is the case you should address the issue at the beginning, if there is something that can be done we would try.

But anyways thanks for coming and feel free to write to me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siolim
7.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
3.7 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
23.3 mi away
Alila Diwa Goa
Alila Diwa Goa
#2 of 37 in Salcette District
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Shanti Morada
Shanti Morada
#1 of 2 in Saligao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Tamarind Hotel
The Tamarind Hotel
#1 of 15 in Anjuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#11 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siolim House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siolim House

Property: Siolim House
Address: Near St Siolim House Near St, Siolim, Bardez 403517, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Siolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Siolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Siolim House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Siolim House is a 350 year old palacio from the times Goa was a portuguese territory. It has all the hallmarks of a period manor and has been restored with all the care it deserves. Now only 7 suites in a lovely village very well located fo rthe beaches and sites, homecooked local cuising, it is very much a home where you will get to experience authentic Goan living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Siolim House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Palacio Siolim House Hotel Siolim
Casa Palacio Siolim Hotel
Casa Palacio Siolim Bardez
Siolim House Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing