We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem found -- Romantic cottage in Siolim, Goa”
Review of Hotel Soraya

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Siolim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Soraya
Ranked #3 of 7 Siolim B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gem found -- Romantic cottage in Siolim, Goa”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

About a month ago, my partner and I decided to head to Goa for a quick getaway. It was monsoon season and we weren't really sure what to expect. What we did know was that we didn't want to be staying at party central (not that there was much of that anyway as it was monsoon season) but still wanted to be close enough to good restaurants and beaches.

We couldn't have been happier at Hotel Soraya.

Forget the other more renown boutique/heritage hotels in Siolim, Panaji or Goa's beach shacks. If it's a romantic, secluded getaway in a tropical paradise that's close to fun fun fun that you want to be at, then Hotel Siolim is it!

We stayed at a little cottage on the property equipped with two four-post beds, a fully functional kitchen and a private garden. And because it was off season, we had a good sized-swimming pool surrounded by lush foliage and little stone elephants all to ourselves. It couldn't have been more lovely. (For some reason, the property, especially the garden area reminds me of Satis House in Charles Dickens' Great Expectations, only difference is that this one is well kept and loved.)

To top it off, the hosts of the property Atul and Pierre were extremely accommodating, thoughtful, funny, friendly and fun! As cliche as it may sound, they made Hotel Siolim feel like home -- a private, secluded home that a lot of thought and care was put into.

TIP: Rent a car for about Rs 850 a day and drive to all the way to Paradise Beach and Fort Terakol, or head down south to Panaji and the Old City. Atul will help arrange for one.

PS. If you do stay there, ask Pierre or Atul to tell you the story behind the white elephants on the property.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pohsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
8
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

What I really want to do is give this place a 1 star review and hope that no-one else discovers the place. Unfortunately this would be very unfair to Atul and Pierre who have bought this mid 20th century Goan country house and turned it into a beautiful place to spend your time in Goa.

Spent 5 nights in their annexe in March 2012 and cannot recommend highly enough. The acommodation (big bedroom, bathroom, sitting room, kitchen and private garden/terrrace area) are simple but stylish, with a huge swimming pool that we had to ourselves for the duration of our stay and a great breakfast delivered to our terrace by their really friendly staff each morning.

You are not in the centre of things at this place (those of you who have exerience in Goa will see this as a good thing) and you will need to make extensive use of either your own transport or the taxi drivers that the hotel can recommend to you. Price wise the taxi's are good for Goa (although expensive when compared to other parts of India).

Within walking distance they have a couple of local style cafe/bars/restaruants which have good simple Indian food although in an 'Indian' atmosphere. Possibly a little intimidating for newbies to India.

All in all this is good value and great place to stay and I am looking forward to returning next year.

Can't finish this review without mentioning that the owners run a little charity for abandoned pets, when we stayed they had 4 or 5 dogs and a couple of cats - all really friendly. My wife wanted to take 'Raj' (a Dalmation type dog) home with her.

Room Tip: This is a very small place - one big house that would be suitable for a family or group of friends a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve8877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2011

This is the first review i have ever written, and this place deserves to be my first!!
A guesthouse full of personality, character and managed by a couple of amazing hosts, Atul & Pierre thanks for making me feel at home,
I stayed in the guesthouse just a few meters from the main house and it was perfect, amenities are fantastic, and the A/c came in handy as it was hot out, bed was very comfortable,
Breakfast by the pool, served by the lovely staff, and the best omelet i've ever tasted....now Atul claims its nothing different but i have a feeling its some special Goan spice or something hah! I will make more investigations on my next visit which will definitely be soon and at Hotel Soraya for sure

As you can feel from my review I had a great time, thanks again guys for the hospitality and conversations!

Room Tip: I stayed in the small guesthouse just meters away from the main house, ideal for couples or small fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ziadtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2011

I have stayed at Hotel Soraya a couple of times now and every time i m there,i feel like i m at home...the hosts are very friendly and kind,the house has so much character ,the garden and pool are fabulous ,and the location is brilliant,close to the Morjim beaches,Vagator,Mapusa....
It s definitely one of the best place to stay in north Goa!
Laurent

Room Tip: all the rooms have character...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lolo33312659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I stayed for 2 weeks in Hotel Soraya's exquisitely decorated bungalow, which is located at the end of the garden at the back of the main house - an authentic Goan villa in Siolim, North Goa.

Surrounded by tropical vegetation and bright pink flowers, the bungalow has its own table and chairs out the front and loungers out the back so it is really self contained and very private. The main bedroom sports a grand four poster bed and the rest of the apartment is tasteful and stylish.

There is a recent addition to Hotel Soraya's paradisical grounds - a fantastic swimming pool, so if you don't fancy a trip to the beach or you want a rest from all the craziness, it's the perfect place to grab a book and catch some rays.

And if you love dogs, then you won't just be in paradise, you will be in heaven too, as Atul & Pierre have four dogs (2 Dalmatians and 2 street dogs) which have been rescued from the streets. Like me, Atul is a animal lover through and through and spends a lot of his time and money helping street dogs and cats and providing them food during the monsoon season when all the tourists have gone home. He is a kind hearted man, very polite and provides excellent service to all his guests.

Give Hotel Soraya a go, you won't regret it!

Helen

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HellyPUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We have stayed in the Bungalow 2 or 3 times and will be returning in February 2011.
The accommodation is very spacious, with plenty of wardrobe space.

It is totally self contained, and private, very quiet and comfortable and you are surrounded by a beautiful garden and a pool which was built after our last visit.
Breakfasts are a real treat and Pierre and Atul are the most wonderful, artistic hosts. The staff are friendly, helpful and efficient.
If you are looking for somewhere quiet but unconventional then this is for you.
Only downside we found was there were few restaurants within walking distance.
It is extremely reasonable - you would pay through the nose elsewhere for the same level of comfort and ambiance.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorothy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

My hosts, Atul and Pierre, run a down to earth inn. Breakfast is a personalized, sit down meal along with locally prepared preserves. A car with knowledgeable driver who knows the back roads and local destinations is available with prior notice. Down the road, the local Siolim bar owners give you an in-town treatment as residents of Hotel Soraya and the feeling of being a tourist is downplayed. There is a chalet structure that sits on the grounds of the property, which is detached from the inn property and is ideal for a couple. Bicycles are available for hire for those who wish to engage in mild exercise along with a swimming pool (that was in construction at the time of visit by this traveler) in the lovely garden surrounding that reminds one of the tropical destination where one can relax under the open sky. Also, this is a pet friendly property.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank r s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siolim hotels
0.0 mi away
The River Palace
The River Palace
#3 of 12 in Siolim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Siolim House
Siolim House
#1 of 7 in Siolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Treebo Villa De Goa
Treebo Villa De Goa
#1 of 1 in Siolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Shunya Noi Varo
Shunya Noi Varo
#5 of 12 in Siolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Teso, Goa
Teso, Goa
#2 of 12 in Siolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Casa Siolim Resort
La Casa Siolim Resort
#7 of 7 in Siolim
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Soraya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Soraya

Property: Hotel Soraya
Address: 1198 Mulga Vaddo, Siolim, Bardez 403517, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Siolim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Siolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the main road going north towards Morjim Beach is Hotel Soraya (guesthouse), has 4 bedrooms, sleeps up to 8 persons, although 6 is ideal. , situated in 1 acre of peaceful tropical gardens. Also situated in the grounds is "The Bungalow", which sleeps 2 persons, and has its own entrance and garden.Siolim is 5km from Morjim Beach (an Olive Ridley turtle nesting site), and 5km from Anjuna and Vagator beach.The Main House is a magnificently restored Portuguese house with high ceilings and a spacious verendah, with a huge tropical garden with a swimming pool. Also in the grounds is The Bungalow built in the traditional Portuguese style. Maid service and breakfast included. A relaxed way of life awaits you. Shops nearby in this lovely village. Siolim village is surrounded by coconut groves and sunset coves, ideal for biking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Soraya Siolim, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing