We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our absolute favourite place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The George Hotel Cley
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“our absolute favourite place to stay”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We returned to The George again in November for a few days to relax and recharge our batteries. We have been going there at least twice a year for some time now and would very much recommend it . We are keen birdwatchers and ,although we live in Norfolk, we find the location of The George to be ideal.
We have always found the staff to be welcoming and warm,,and getting the balance between friendly and professional. just right
The restaraunt is outstanding,,in our opinion the best place to eat in Norfolk.
We are returning again in March to celebate a special birthday, we are looking forward to meeting the new manager and hoping whatever changes may have been made have not changed the place too much.

Room Tip: We love room 9 , a slightly smaller room but with outstanding view. We also love room 3 which is eno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleyhotelier, Owner at The George Hotel Cley, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hi

I am so pleased that you feel that we have the best restaurant in Norfolk and I do hope that you find it is even better in March when you next visit, as we are working hard on adding an extra dimension to the menu whilst keeping the firm favourites that regulars love so much. We will not be changing anything too much just upgrading certain areas which we hope will make your next visit even more satisfying. I am looking forward to meeting you in March.

Kindest Regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    160
    76
    41
    28
See reviews for
72
267
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We decided to stay at the George again as wanted to see what Norfolk was like in the winter as we are regular visitors to North Norfolk, especially along the top from salthouse through to Heacham. We were greeted by a very happy, friendly young man who showed us to our lovely room, all lovely bedding, lovely big bathroom with lovely fluffy white towels plus the usual freebies, actually all pretty lovely!!!
Dinner was a delight sitting next to the fire, service was very good as was the food, the waiter even oiled the door out to the kitchen as it was very squeaky and we could hear it up in our room.
Good nights sleep was had by all followed by a nice breakfast but the only slight on our stay was the sausages, they had been cooked and warmed up, not very nice as the rest of the breakfast was lovely.
Thanks to the George for making us welcome and warm.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diandruss2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleyhotelier, Owner at The George Hotel Cley, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hi

So many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review, it means a lot to us and I know that our team at the George find it very rewarding that their hard work has made your stay an enjoyable one. Thank you so much for bringing to my attention the issue with reheating the sausages I will bring this up with the chef immediately.

Kindest Regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Just a quick one Saturday night stay in the George at Cley, spending the weekend bird watching and walking.
What a really nice home fro home this is. Rooms very clean tide and warm. Excellent beer and very good evening meal, obviously prepared with a lot of care and attention.
Well worth a visit if you are in the area.
Friendly staff who have a great knowledge of the area.

Room Tip: Stair cases are a bit on the steep side if you have mobility problems. Car parking is also tight bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleyhotelier, Owner at The George Hotel Cley, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hi

Thank you so much for such a lovely review and we are delighted that you found the hotel a place which you consider home, that is our aim, to provide a hotel where you can truly unwind be well fed and rested and really feel like you have had a deserved rest. We look forward to welcoming you back to the George soon.

Kindest Regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed at the George for 2 nights in December. The first was the night of the "Storm". The hotel suffered from repeated power cuts which obviously was not the fault of the hotel but did make the room cold and delayed dinner. That is the reason for the overall rating (it was difficult to judge on an "normal" basis).

The staff were very helpful and flexible. The Hotel was comfortable and very clean. The room (No. 5) was a good size and overlooked the estuary. The water was hot throughout the stay. The food was very good and the draft beer was well conditioned. The Haddock Chowder in particular was a meal in itself. It is not surprising that the restaurant was well populated each evening. If there is one criticism, it is a little on the expensive side but the remote location might account for this.

We did not hear much of the storm but the next morning one way out of the village was under deep water. The village is remote and it takes time to get there. It seems to be popular with walkers with or without dogs and wildlife watchers and if that is your "thing" it is certainly somewhere to think of.

Room Tip: No 5 was comfortable a good size and with a nice view of the estuary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exile42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleyhotelier, Owner at The George Hotel Cley, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hi

Many thanks for your comments and I am glad that you enjoyed your food. All of our food is locally sourced and handmade, we only use the finest ingredients to ensure a great meals for our diners. As you mention you were with us on the night of the storm and we did have lots of power cuts so the candles were not just decoration on the tables, it made the chefs work a real challenge but we got through it which is so important to our culture, when things that we cannot control go against us we just need to up our game. I think in the circumstances our team did a great job, indeed many of them had difficult journeys home but they put our guests before their own travel problems, everyone just carried on as normal and I understand that in the end the power cuts became the in joke of the evening as guests and staff laughed as they became more frequent. As you may know we are Cask Marque rated and our ales are the usual names and a mixture of very local beers which beer connoisseurs always seem to enjoy. We look forward to your next visit.
Kindest Regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheffieldYorkshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We were a bit apprehensive prior to setting off on our two day break through Secret Escapes as this part of Norfolk suffered much damage from the recent tidal wave and indeed in many of the villages, small shops were closed and sandbags in evidence.
However at the George Hotel in the exquisite village of Cley Next to the Sea, we were given a warm welcome. Not least because they had a big roaring fire in the bar area!
The hotel is typical of a village pub with rooms. It is a wee bit tired looking but is to undergo some e renovation. However it is clean, warm with good food and drink and plenty of parking. The staff are extremely attentive. We were sleeping across the yard in an annexe. Our bedroom was quite small and the bathroom even more so. Think sitting on the loo and able to have a wash in the wash basin! However plenty of hot water, good television and hospitality tray. The only real complaint we had was the lack of a bedside lamp at one side of the bed. Not good for avid readers!
The dinner menu is extensive with a good choice not only of starters and desserts but also of entrees. The wine list provided everything we could have wanted to drink. Breakfast is plentiful with a good buffet and then choice of big breakfasts or locally sourced kippers and smoked fish.
This hotel is an excellent base for touring this part of Norfolk and the village of Cley itself is worth exploring. The windmill which overlooks the marshes is beautiful and there is a very good walk, although not for the faint hearted over the coastal path to Blakenay.
It was a very good two day deal but I would not have liked to have paid the normal rate of £100 night for bed and breakfast. Having said that, the windmill charges £199 a night! But then Norfolk is quite an exclusive and expensive county, but well worth a visit. It is wonderful for walkers, bird watchers or just for those needing a relaxed break.

Room Tip: We were in room 10. Have no knowledge of any other although I believe the ones actually in the pub b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleyhotelier, Owner at The George Hotel Cley, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Hi

Many thanks for your comments and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in this lovely part of Norfolk. The rooms in the annex are smaller but the rooms in the main hotel are larger so maybe next time you could try these out.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Very friendly staff , owner not around !! Room was hot as was the hot water ,clean,bed not comfortable, though we were given a douvet to put on top of mattress . On arrival we were greated by over full smelly bins not inviting. The general cleanliness was not inviting with hoover in the hallway and bags of laundry. Liked the decor but very run down, needs some attention . Hopefully the new owners will smarten it up. No one was on the premises at night so if a problem there was a number to ring, find this in the info book if it is read ? Also there is no telephone reception. All this apart we had an enjoyable stay , the food was good. The staff very attentive. The owner needs to be more front of house. The village was quaint and quirky. A must to visit is Holt with all the Christmas lights also the department store, it has everything.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonshadow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleyhotelier, Owner at The George Hotel Cley, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Hi

Many thanks for your comments which are most helpful to our hotel; total customer satisfaction is our aim so your help in achieving this is most appreciated. Firstly I must apologise for my absence, having recently taken over the hotel I have needed to implement many changes and have been on many different trips to everyone from kitchen to bed suppliers (more on that later) hence my absences from the hotel. I do leave behind a very capable management team and wonderful staff who I am sure looked after you well.

Firstly the bins as you are aware we have just taken over the hotel and Biffa the previous bins contractor needed new forms filling in, we sent them in 3 times and they kept losing them and then withdrawing the bins from service and then finding the forms and putting them back again. This was very frustrating so we found a new supplier and the problem is solved, the issue was only for one week and it was simply beyond our control and we all hated the problem as much as you did.

Onto the issues with your bed. I have spoken to many guests who have been very happy with the beds so I was upset that your experience was not great, I would love to know which room you stayed in. The good news is that I believe that a hotel must have very comfortable beds as a standard and I myself have stayed in many hotels (including famous chains) where frankly the beds are not up to scratch. We have therefore ordered new beds for every room (and these beds are the highest level of comfort that this bed manufacturer provide), which means that our beds will be more comfortable than most 5 star hotels; they will be delivered in January/February 2014 and will upgrade all our guests experience.

I am sorry that you saw the hoover in the hallway I can only guess that housekeeping were cleaning the common parts and the same goes for the laundry, if you had arrived at a time when our laundry returns it takes a few minutes to put it away and so I apologise for this. As regards general decor we have already started a program of refurbishments, the blinds and fabrics are at this very moment being manufactured and I am sure you will be pleased with the results.

Once dinner is served and the bar is closed we do not have a night manager on duty (although someone is usually in place by 6.30 am) as we don't provide 24 hour room service (it would mean we would need to increase the room rates and most people do not need serving between 11.30pm and 6.30am) however we do have numbers posted in the information book in each guest room and next to the pay phone under the stairs in case of emergency.

I do hope that I shall get to meet you personally on your next visit and thank you once again for your comments.

Kind Regards
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We are pleased recent travellers have happy memories, but for us a hotel to never visit again!! Due the room smelling so strong of dogs we were unable to stay due to the wife's allergy!!
The only positive comment we have is that the duty Manager tried his best to move us but this was not possible. Fortunately Secret escapes have been brilliant with this unfortunate experience have refunded all our monies and even given us assistance for future stays with holidays booked with them .If it was not for their excellent support it would have been a very stressful experience!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleyhotelier, Owner at The George Hotel Cley, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
HI

Many thanks for your comments. As you point out you booked your standard room (which are all dog friendly). Your booking confirmation sent to you by the third party booking agent did explain this, as many clients book certain rooms in the hotel that are dog friendly. When you arrived at the hotel you told our manager that your wife was "allergic to dogs." This put us in a dilemma and the manager tried to upgrade your room to one where no dogs are allowed but the hotel was 100% full and he was not able to do so. I did check the room last week and I could not find any evidence of the doggy smell (but I am a dog lover and have one so maybe I am less sensitive than most) and the last 4 guests previous to your stay did not have dogs with them although I understand that with the allergies your wife has she may have a heightened sensitivity to any previous presence of dogs in the room.
Clearly it is important that all guests are satisfied and we always recommend that if anyone has an allergy an email or phone call to us in advance enables the hotel to take the appropriate action, as I mentioned the booking agent did send this information in writing to you at the time of booking. In any event your money was refunded in full to you as you are aware which I rather hoped had dealt with this matter.
I hope that in the future if you stay with us again we will allocate you a dog free room which will suit your needs, we have updated your booking profile accordingly.
Thank you for comments they are of course always useful.
Kind Regards
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cley Next the Sea
3.4 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
578 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,280 reviews
1.0 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
17.7 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
778 reviews
22.9 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel Cley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel Cley

Property: The George Hotel Cley
Address: High Street, Cley Next the Sea, Holt NR25 7RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Holt > Cley Next the Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cley Next the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel Cley 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The George Hotel Cley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Cley Cley Next The Sea, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing