We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One-off B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cley Windmill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cley Next the Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cley Windmill
Certificate of Excellence
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One-off B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed on Sunday night in The Longhouse recently - it was a great space and the Windmill is in a wonderful location with only a limited number of guests so it felt very cosy.The room was spacious and well designed and the fittings were all really high spec. Very comfy bed, really good coffee and tea tray, fresh milk in fridge etc. The lack of wifi in the rooms was not a problem for us at all, felt really relaxed in this unusual environment. Staff very friendly, food good- especially fresh fish for breakfast! Priced on the high side but you get what you pay for and this B&B is a one - off ; would readily recommend it and look forward to a revisit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMSNorthamptonshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    60
    31
    7
    2
See reviews for
71
241
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Little Bealings
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had a long week-end in the 'Boathouse' and found the whole experience very enjoyable and restful. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room delightful (quiet, clean, comfortable) and food delicious. I particularly liked the fresh fish for breakfast. The room lacked reliable Wi-Fi which could be improved. Cley is a lovely spot for walking, bird watching (if that's your thing) and generally touring along a part of the coast that is relatively 'unspoilt'.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwydion9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in The Wheel Room in July for our wedding anniversary and what a perfect venue. The stairs you have to climb to enter the room (the highest in the windmill) are pretty daunting but it makes for an adventure! The bedroom and bathroom are so cute and the views across the marshes just gorgeous. The bed is one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in and didn't want to leave. The only downside is you can hear everything from the room below so they can obviously hear you too! The gentleman below could clearly be heard snoring. It's an unusual and old building though so these things can't be moaned about. Breakfast was divine. The kedgeree (which you have to pre-order the night before) was delicious. Go and stay there :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StamfordHem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Our fourth trip to the Windmill - first 2 as a couple and last 2 as a family
Love it, love it, love it !!
Now we have our boy, we stay in the Dovecote - perfect !!
Lovely, clean, friendly staff
Beautiful location, near the beach, great walks

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level Contributor
298 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

I strongly agree with David W - see previous review.
We had the same room (Millers) and whilst it is undoubtedly a lovely room with a great comfy bed, the shower didn't work and there was no hair dryer.
The noise and conversation from the kitchen was also quite clear.
However the location and general design of the windmill is great. We had no problems parking although it was a Sunday night. Cley and surrounding areas are truly stunning.
We would probably stay again here but would try a different room. For the price, we expected slightly more.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GorillaFoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Mill is a beautiful grade 2 listed building set in a stunning location near the sea. We had booked 8 of the 9 rooms for 2 nights for our wedding party. Prior to the event the staff could not have been more helpful as we changed our minds about what we needed. What sticks with us is the lovely way the friendly staff over the 2 days were available to help out as we needed but were otherwise in the background. We all felt like we were at home but with someone else to do the cooking and cleaning up! The sitting room was very comfortable and we also had access to the garden. In the evenings the staff checked we had all we needed and left us to it -it added to the relaxed feeling we wanted to achieve. All our guests spoke very highly of the staff, the rooms and the food which was of a very high standard using local produce. The Mill is a beautiful setting for a small wedding and went a long way to make sure the day itself was perfect.

Room Tip: The Long room and Boat house are outside the Mill and very well set up and quiet. The wheel room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen_and_Clive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We booked millers room for 1 night.
The location is good, very easy to find.
The room was nice, only there were few spider webs in corners. The bed was very comfortable.
There was a kettle, tea and coffee in the room so we enjoyed cup of tea outside in the garden. We also had company - a cat :)
We had dinner there too. Word of advice - if there's something you don't like, let them know in advance because it's a set menu. That evening we had sea food platter, pork and chocolate tart, all delicious.
Staff were polite and friendly, they took us upstairs on the balcony to enjoy the view.
Breakfast was good too, both buffet and cooked.
Other reviewers staying in millers room mentioned private entrance- that was locked during our visit too.I understand it might be uncomfortable going to your room through the restaurant full of people.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RonieFilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cley Next the Sea
3.4 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
1.1 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Lawns Hotel
The Lawns Hotel
#2 of 4 in Holt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
11.5 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cley Windmill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cley Windmill

Property: Cley Windmill
Address: Cley Windmill The Quay, Cley Next the Sea, Holt NR25 7RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Holt > Cley Next the Sea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cley Next the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique accommodations in a converted 18th-century windmill. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cley Windmill Hotel Cley Next The Sea
Cley Windmill Cley Next The Sea, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing