We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something missing which would make it top notch”
Review of Cley Windmill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cley Next the Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cley Windmill
Certificate of Excellence
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Something missing which would make it top notch”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

I strongly agree with David W - see previous review.
We had the same room (Millers) and whilst it is undoubtedly a lovely room with a great comfy bed, the shower didn't work and there was no hair dryer.
The noise and conversation from the kitchen was also quite clear.
However the location and general design of the windmill is great. We had no problems parking although it was a Sunday night. Cley and surrounding areas are truly stunning.
We would probably stay again here but would try a different room. For the price, we expected slightly more.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GorillaFoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    63
    33
    7
    2
See reviews for
80
255
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Mill is a beautiful grade 2 listed building set in a stunning location near the sea. We had booked 8 of the 9 rooms for 2 nights for our wedding party. Prior to the event the staff could not have been more helpful as we changed our minds about what we needed. What sticks with us is the lovely way the friendly staff over the 2 days were available to help out as we needed but were otherwise in the background. We all felt like we were at home but with someone else to do the cooking and cleaning up! The sitting room was very comfortable and we also had access to the garden. In the evenings the staff checked we had all we needed and left us to it -it added to the relaxed feeling we wanted to achieve. All our guests spoke very highly of the staff, the rooms and the food which was of a very high standard using local produce. The Mill is a beautiful setting for a small wedding and went a long way to make sure the day itself was perfect.

Room Tip: The Long room and Boat house are outside the Mill and very well set up and quiet. The wheel room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen_and_Clive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We booked millers room for 1 night.
The location is good, very easy to find.
The room was nice, only there were few spider webs in corners. The bed was very comfortable.
There was a kettle, tea and coffee in the room so we enjoyed cup of tea outside in the garden. We also had company - a cat :)
We had dinner there too. Word of advice - if there's something you don't like, let them know in advance because it's a set menu. That evening we had sea food platter, pork and chocolate tart, all delicious.
Staff were polite and friendly, they took us upstairs on the balcony to enjoy the view.
Breakfast was good too, both buffet and cooked.
Other reviewers staying in millers room mentioned private entrance- that was locked during our visit too.I understand it might be uncomfortable going to your room through the restaurant full of people.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RonieFilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed in the Millers room for a 3 nights on a trip around East Anglia

Arrived on a Sunday afternoon on a nice Summers day. Got lucky finding a space in the car park as someone was just leaving. Never had this issue again but since it is a public carpark I expect others have had an issue as Cley was busy on the day.

Beautiful location. Friendly welcome.

Room was ok. For the money you are paying though it is a bit overpriced. Rustic, but you could be anywhere. Unless you are in the tower you pay to 'stay in a windmill' but unless you are outside you wouldn't actually notice it. I guess other rooms are similar. Didn't really hear the noise others have mentioned for this room. My issue with lots of people in the garden and café next to it you are in a goldfish bowl with every one looking in at you. This include the bathroom. Few other niggles. Shower temperature all over the place, one bit of soap for sink and shower most of the time we were there, water and biscuit first day in room but not again until we were about to leave. Three hangers in wardrobe. Advertised as having a separate entrance on website which wasn't the reality when we were there. As a result you have to go through dining room where people were eating breakfast still or evening meal. Minor, but when you are paying top rates you expect none of this. Check out not until 10am , we actually did a bit earlier but still restrictive.

Great breakfast on all three days with choices if you wanted it, some you had to order the night before though. Very pleasant service as well. Lacks personal touch of B&B though as never the same person twice. Slightly annoying that toast was not brought to table like most B&B's. Instead you did it yourself. Couple of days I gave up after breakfast as one large family who clearly liked their toast managed to occupy the one (quite slow) toaster for a very long time.

Ate evening meal their one night also. Excellent food and again very pleasant service. Again bit pricy though for a set no choice menu. One complaint is the 'drinks' in lounge prior. A lot of people cramped into a small space looking like they just wanted to be fed and feeling uncomfortable. Having a drink at your table would be a nicer option to be given and meaning less people sitting on top of each other next door.

Ate at George across road and Red Lion at Stiffkey. Book at height of season in all the pubs or you will find it hard to get a table.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were guests at the windmill for a wedding and booked for three nights in the Miller's Room which is right next to the kitchen and dining room and, as other reviewers have commented, can be a bit noisy. The room itself was generally fine (although it could do with a proper clean, there were lots of cobwebs on the ceiling) but, being on the ground floor, misses out on the views which rooms in the windmill itself offer. Although the en-suite contains a bath and electric shower, the latter was broken and wasn't fixed until our final evening. We were graciously offered an apology and part-refund for this problem but would have preferred just to have a working shower. As others have commented, though, the number of warning notices about the plumbing do make it feel a bit like an old fashioned B&B.

The wedding venue (the mill's sitting room) is intimate to say the least - with a full complement of 20+ guests some might describe it as crowded - but offers a quirky and romantic venue, and the gardens offer fantastic photo opportunities. The wedding reception was really well done - the food and service were first class.

On the debit side, however, despite ordering fresh smoked haddock for breakfast by 1900 the previous evening (as one is required to do) there was a problem which meant I was only served a very small portion and I'm guessing that this is because they had to divi it up between two people. Shame, I'd rather that they just said they hadn't enough and given me the full English instead. The latter, which I had subsequently, was fine. However, I did find the fact that breakfast is only served between 0830 and 0915 to be a bit restrictive as was the fact that checkout can only be accomplished in a mid-morning window. I'd really expect there to be more flexibility in these areas especially as the former means that everyone arrives in the breakfast room at the same time meaning that the staff, despite their friendliness, are simply unable to keep up with demand.

Although I would stay here again for the location alone, it would be good to think that some of my points could be addressed before I do so.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garybons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ST NEOTS
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Took my girlfriend here to dinner for a special night when we stopped in Norfolk for the week if you want a romantic unusual place to eat this is one of the best I have been to, there are only 9 tables so make sure you book as its not open for meals all the time, the rooms look fantastic & I would book it if I came back again. The staff were great & took you up to the balcony of the windmill to enjoy the fantastic view, the food was lovely & the setting couldnt be bettered if your in the area make sure you spoil yourself & go.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DUCHAMPSTNEOTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

As the weather has been so wonderful we decided on the spur of the moment to head out to the coast and stay over. We chose the Cley Windmill as we saw it mentioned on a few different websites, and luckily they had the Wheat Chamber free that night. Myself, my fiancee and my 3 year old son were in the room.

We found the Windmill very easily (quite hard to miss) and we loved the room as soon as we saw it. Service was excellent, the room was lovely, clean and tidy and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The only thing to be aware of, which is to be expected, is that depending on what room you're in you could have people above and below you, and it can get a bit creaky with people walking around. Even though it was above 80F, the windmill remained cool and there were no issues about being too warm at night.

Breakfast was delicious and service was very quick.

The windmill is probably a 20 minute walk through the marshes to the beach, but I wouldn't recommend Cley beach as it's a shingle beach. Try Brancaster, about 20 mins away.

Would wholeheartedly recommend and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoenixm34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cley Next the Sea
3.4 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
591 reviews
17.7 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
792 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
722 reviews
1.0 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
395 reviews
22.9 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cley Windmill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cley Windmill

Property: Cley Windmill
Address: Cley Windmill The Quay, Cley Next the Sea, Holt NR25 7RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Holt > Cley Next the Sea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cley Next the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique accommodations in a converted 18th-century windmill. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cley Windmill Hotel Cley Next The Sea
Cley Windmill Cley Next The Sea, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing