We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marazul Dive Resort
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed in # 11, which was very well-equipped, with lovely blue tiles on the floors & good wi-fi. We greatly appreciated the screens on every window & door. We were there at the end of Jan & did not need to turn on the air-conditioning at all. The view of the water was beautiful. The landscaping was pretty. This was our 1st trip to Curacao, so cannot comment on other areas of the island but Westpunt was very beautiful & lush. It was the least developed part of the island that we saw & we appreciated that. There are some beautiful beaches nearby.
The owners were very reponsive to all our queries before we went.
Our only criticism relates to the beds. Sheets were pilled & did not fit over the mattress covers, which made for uncomfortable sleeping.
Unfortunately, the screen on the front door had been slashed prior to our arrival. The very nice manager Tommi replaced it fairly promptly but it was a sign of the problems with theft that they are having. On our last afternoon, an iPhone was stolen from one of the bedsides downstairs, when 2 of us were at the pool & 2 of us were upstairs. Be sure to keep things locked in the safe at all times. Although the community is gated, there is access from the beach. Tommi was very responsive & said this was the 1st theft from the Marazul Dive Resort. Every place we went on the island, we were warned to leave nothing in our car. So this is a widespread problem & seemingly inescapable.
We recommend the Resort & would return if we go back to Curacao.

Room Tip: #11 if they get new sheets
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Djnnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    47
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
118
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Marazul Dive Resort has a favored location atop a cliff above the sea. The views are grand, and the ocean is accessible from a couple of tiny platforms down two flights of steps. But No. 1 in Curacao? Maybe it's No. 1 by the relaxed standards of Westpunt, but even that seems doubtful.

Our 3-bedroom townhome was quite small, except for the single upstairs bedroom which lacked a/c. Large beds in the two tiny downstairs bedrooms made you crawl over the foot of the bed to get in. The sheets were coarse and too small for the beds, so it was impossible to make the bed properly. The rest of the furniture was uncomfortable wicker, with a finish that was sticky. All the light fixtures had 40-watt bulbs, so it was too dark to read after dinner.

There was a single cold-water faucet at the kitchen and bath sinks, although there was hot water in the showers. But who washes their dishes in cold water? Small appliances were present, but were the cheapest imaginable.Some window blinds were broken and some window sills badly needed paint. A little attention to detail, and a little capital investment is badly needed.

On the bright side, the a/c, TV, wi-fi and large appliances all worked well. The entire grounds were walled off from the road and felt very secure. People were very friendly, which is good, because you will surely need to borrow something you forgot to buy at the store in Willemstadt. Very quiet--all the time.

Room Tip: Each unit is individually owned, so pay attention to the particulars of the unit you plan to rent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evanescent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Bungalow 6 on Marazul for 6 days. We were specifically looking for a condo/apartment as my husband loves to cook and we were eager to put some fresh fish on the BBQ. Marazul was absolutely perfect for what we were looking for. The grounds are kept beautifully and the house reef is perfect for an afternoon swim/snorkel. The pool is refreshing and a perfect way to meet some other residents for a friendly conversation in the evening. The resort is a little off the beaten path, quiet and intimate. Our apartment was spacious and the views were worth a million dollars.
Marazul is the perfect escape for those looking to get out of the hustle and bustle of city living!

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean front room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RupaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We arrived at the Marazul after spending a week in Bonaire.
On the advice of many, we did stop at the Centrum to get groceries on our way out of the airport. The grocery store was BEYOND packed and busy and it took us over an hour to pick some things up. It was Easter weekend and so maybe this was why it was so busy. It was still worth the stop as there was not much else on the way to the resort.
We had been re-located from our original unit that was booked because apparently there was a flood but there were people staying in our original booked unit the whole time (?).
Our unit had very limited kitchen supplies. The scissors broke when we went to use them and the cutlery was very cheap (dollar store type quality).
We had no screens on our doors which was unfortunate as the bugs were bad a couple of nights and we had to close our doors.
Although the Marazul is a "dive resort". there were no racks or decent rinse tanks to wash and hang our equipment.
There was no shade in the afternoon when we returned to the condo which made it difficult to sit outside. We ended up in a gazebo which had no furniture.
The pool was small and very busy. We avoided it.
We are not five (or even four star) type travellers and trust me, the idea of staying at a Hilton or Marriot do not even remotely interest me; however, I feel that our unit was lacking.
On the upside, we met a great couple who were our neighbours while we were there and shared some fun meals and tons of laughs. The bed was very comfortable. The diving at Kas Abou was fabulous and our last dive of our trip at Port Marie was the best one of our trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank EmnRob67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I found Marazul dive resort after research on tripadvisor and snapped up one of the villas as soon as I could. As previous reviews have mentioned, there are different ways to book a villa (some owners use different channels) but I reserved through Dorthy. She was very helpful throughout this process.

It is true that the area of West Punt is not teeming with amenities or grocery stores but, for us, that was what we were looking for. The location of the resort on top of the cliff with steps down into the clear blue water was just perfect. We spent every night watching the sunset with a glass of wine after a day spent hiking nearby or snorkeling at the resort or the nearby beaches.

You do need a car to come here and will need to stop in the town of Barber for groceries but there are places nearby to eat in if you are not wanting to cook. We found the kitchen to be well-equipped and perfect for the easy meals we were making. The two bathrooms in our villa (D2) had lovely warm showers and plenty of towels. The bedroom was equipped with a very comfy bed and aircon for the warm nights. The balcony was a great place to eat after a day in the sun.

We did not have much contact with Tommi (the manager of the resort) but his brother Chris was great and helped us when we had some problems with the fridge (Dorthy also accommodated us by letting us use a nearby fridge until ours was fixed). He was also happy to answer any questions we had and was so knowledgeable about the area. We got to talk to some of the owners of villas in the resort and found people to be incredibly welcoming and helpful.

It's not a five-star resort and this needs to be considered when booking. it is a self-catering resort where you are left to your own devices. However, if you are looking for the perfect place to get away, to be in crystal clear waters all day and to relax at night in peaceful surroundings then this is the place.

Room Tip: D2 is not right on the cliff edge but was only a skip down to the steps to the sea and incredibly cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadeypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed for a week 2/23-3/2 in Unit 11. This end of the island needs a grocery or convenience store! Didn't stop at any of the small mini markets on the way up to the resort. Property is nice-no grass & the end of the property our unit was on seems a little "run down". Be sure to use bug spray!! There is a common shade structure in front but no furniture. Some chairs or hammocks would have been great. No laundry service during the week so plan to use the same towels all week or do laundry. Had an issue with the fridge Sunday morning & had to email the owner. Didn't see Tommi till later Sunday evening & he took care of the fridge issue Monday around noon. No alarm clocks in the downstairs bedrooms & no TV's in the bedrooms. Neither a problem-just an FYI. Several good restaurants nearby(make a reservation). Property is about 45 min from the airport so you need a car. Snorkeling downstairs to the left end of resort was great. We'd stay again when or if we go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachLovers9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a reasonably priced, clean place to stay, on the water, with close access to Curacao's best shore diving/snorkeling sites, and yet located away from the busyness and noise of the city (Willmestad & the airport are about 30-45 min away). We definitely found all that at Marazul. We stayed in unit G1 (a 1 BR 2-story duplex), at the far NW end of the property, closest to the sea wall, and just a dozen steps to the (1 of 2) dive ladders leading down to the bountiful home reef. We enjoyed our meals from our deck - overlooking the view of the ocean & the neighboring bay; dived the nearby dive sites (at least 6 or 7 within minutes of Marazul, plus the home reef); cooled off in the sparkling clean pool; and finished each day with a glass of wine watching the sun set over the horizon. The resident manager was extremely helpful, with friendly advice about local restaurants, favorite dive locations, or anything you else you might need (such as the pre-arrival information suggesting where to purchase groceries, directions from the airport, etc.) Marazul is clean & secure, & our unit included a safe. (though this may vary, as the units are individually owned). Many of the units here enjoy great views of the ocean and are wonderfully situated - view the website for specifics. We purchased our Nitrox through Discover Divers, and they went out of their way to get it for us. We stayed at Marazul for 2 weeks (Jan/Feb 2013), loved every minute of it, and would definitely return here on our next trip to Curacao. We found the people, the diving, and the location to be fabulous.

Room Tip: Would advise you look at the website which provides an excellent aerial view of the resort. Unit G1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PennyK121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabana Westpunt
23.8 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
25.9 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
0.8 mi away
Kura Hulanda Lodge & Beach Club
Kura Hulanda Lodge & Beach Club
#1 of 1 in Sabana Westpunt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
0.8 mi away
Nos Krusero Apartments
Nos Krusero Apartments
#2 of 6 in Sabana Westpunt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
21.0 mi away
Hilton Curacao
Hilton Curacao
#16 of 32 in Willemstad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marazul Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marazul Dive Resort

Property: Marazul Dive Resort
Address: Westpunt z/n, Sabana Westpunt, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Sabana Westpunt
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Sabana Westpunt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marazul Dive Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marazul Dive Resort is located at the most beautiful spot of Curacao. In front is the sea and the mountains at the back. Marazul Dive Resort consists of several studios/apartments and bungalows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Marazul Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marazul Dive Hotel
Marazul Dive Resort Curacao/Sabana Westpunt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing