We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marazul Dive Resort
Nearby Hotels
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Landhuis Klein Santa Martha(Soto)(Great Value!)
$96
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$120
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Curacao(Willemstad)
$192
$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Curacao Suites Hotel(Willemstad)(Great Value!)
$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Olas Beach House(Sabana Westpunt)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveler rating
137
53
10
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
53
10
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe clifffishthe kitchenporto marietoilet paperminute drivetunahot waterplaya fortinearest beachwashing machineeasy accessupper balconybedroom bathair conditioningbeach towelscentrum supermarket
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 202 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Stayed with a dive buddy here July 15-25 (2011). Unit H-2 was ours for 10 days. The apartment was super-clean and met my expectations in every way. AC both down and upstairs, dishes and cooking utensils in kitchen, paper towel, coffee and filters, etc. We pre-ordered some groceries and drinks, including beer, and there is an order form on their website for that purpose. So we had some essential supplies on hand when we arrived. The closest grocery store is about a 20 minute drive, in the town of Barber (the closest gas station, too) and the selection there is not as great as the stores in or near Willemstad. So, if you aren't able to stop for supplies on the way from the airport, this store will do in a pinch for most needs. The room is cleaned once per week with fresh towels, etc. Caretakers Tommy and Ulie (sp?) are very nice and accomodating, but I found them to be hard to find most days. They resided in another location, so the office was often closed when we needed assistance. But they would show up eventually, and happily take care of us. The restaurants in Westpunt are really great. Did not try all of them, but did get to Sol Food (a must, and conversatiion with proprieter "Sunshine" and her spouse, and the cook, David, is priceless!), Landhuis Mische, Jancchies, and Sobrino. Dove daily with Ocean Encounters West, just a short 5 mminute drive from Marazul. The daily rate at Marazul was fantastic! All questions and directions were handled in advance by Dorthy, who has a unit there but also lives in the U.S. You are limited on electrical consumption daily, so the AC has do be used judiciously. Tommy has to go into town to purchase additional electric "credits," so plan ahead if you are running low on your meter. We rented a car at the airport, so transportation was not a problem. The pool at Marazul is clean and refreshing -- great for post-dive relaxation. However, there are many families that stay there over the week-ends (mostly), so there are usually several children using the pool. Not a problem, unless you really crave peace and quiet. All in all, I would highly recommend Marazaul Resort as a place for divers to stay, especially if diving with Ocean Encounters West (OEW). We heard from other divers staying at the Kura Hulanda resort right next door to OEW that the food was really pricey, as were the accomodations. With the good-to-excellent quality of the other restaurants there, along with the low cost of staying at Marazul and close proximity to OEW, I am really pleased that we chose Marazul for our housing.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank DeanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We were only able to stay two nights, but it felt as healing to the mind as four nights in another place you may consider relaxing. Friendly people staying in other apartments and bungalows made it feel safe as well. Set on the cliffs of Westpunt, the water is a short walk down some cliff-side stairs and then you're in the clearest, calmest water. Excellent coral reefs approx 50 yards from the cliff and other less developed reef runs along the cliff. Friendly restaurant/bar next door called Sobrino that's run by a Surinamese couple and plenty of dining options along the same road; all fairly priced and with excellent ambiance. Comparable to Cayman, but less busy this time of year for sure. Tommi and Uli made the stay complete with their hospitality skills to ensure we were comfortable. We also stayed in Willamstad for two nights, but if we return, we'll go direct to Westpunt as one night in Willamstad was enough for us. For Marazul and Westpunt, you must be looking to put yourself in island-time mode...places close early at night. I highly recommend it for divers/snorkelers, but if you go for these reasons, please do your part to preserve the beauty of Curacao's waters/reefs by leaving it the way you find it or cleaner. Discover diving in Lagun (10 min drive) was VERY affordable and has a gorgeous reef just outside the Lagun.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

For divers and others looking for a Caribbean value resort Marazul is hard to beat. Comfortable accommodations, a nice pool and minutes to some of the best beaches, snorkeling and dive sites in the Caribbean. A couple caveats:

1. There is no restaurant on site but all units have equipped kitchens. Stop in Wilemsted to pick up food on the way. We have found Albert Heijn in Zeelandia to be the best stocked, with beautiful meats and vegetables. Strangely lacking in fresh fish, though. There are others closer but the selection and quality is not as good.

There are two restaurants within walking distance : Rancho Sabrino and the cafe at Playa Forti. There are also restaurants a short drive away at Kura Hulanda Lodge, bith fine dining and beachside cafe. And not to be missed while in the area is Sol Food, run by Sunshine and David. Great food in a great atmosphere. Only open Friday, Saturday and Sunday, make reservations as it is always jammed.

2. You need a car, which can be rented at the airport. Westpunt is really at the end of the road,but its not a large island.

There are no services to speak of. No fitness center or spa, etc. If you are looking for a full service luxury resort look elsewhere. If you want a clean, comfortable place to stay and can manage making your own fun and getting around by yourself and at a very reasonable rate, you'll have a great time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DavidPyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

My husband, 14 year old boy and myself stayed at Marazul for 10 nights. It is on Westpunt far away from everything. We had a wonderful time and would love to go back. The location is perfect if you are a diver or snorkeler and if that is really all you want to do. If.
you are looking for nightlife,
shopping, restaurants, etc. Then this is not the place for you. The
apartment we stayed at, E2, was
perfect for the three of us. The
complex has a pool, internet, a pool
and access to the water by stairs
by the cliff face. There is no sandy
beach but there are many beautiful
ones nearby. If you stay there you
do need to rent a car. The main grocery store is in willemstadt, about 30 minutes away. No convenience stores within walking distance. Also, get Skype and use it as your phone, a lot cheaper than cells or global phones. The place is very peaceful, virtually empty during the week, lots of families during the weekend. As for the electric, it is prepaid, so you have a limited amount. If you are gone during the day or just leave the windows and sliding door you will probably be okay. Truth is we are kind of spoiled so we needed to get an extra 180 kWh. Tommy, the property keeper, is very nice and will take care of you. He does not have an office on site, but you can contact him through e-mail or by phone. If you need extra electricity, don't wait until you are running low since Tommy has to go to the town of Barber to buy electricity, call when you are down to 60 or 70 kWh. In the 1 bedroom apartments you are allowed 20kwh but we used about 30 per day, again that was us, others may find the 20kwh allowance more than enough. Make sure you buy paper towels, toilet paper, plastic trash bags, soap, laundry detergent (there is a washing machine on the premises, and a line for drying clothes) enough for you own use and some for the next guests. There is a mid week clean up for stays longer than a week, so make sure you hang up your towels after using, there is no daily maid service. There are not many restaurants around so we cooked most of our meals. The place is heaven for divers and snorkelers. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AnaNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We just got back from a perfect holiday at Marazul Dive Resort, Westpunt, Curacao. We stayed in bungalow nr. 6 and it was just very, very nice.

The weather was ofcourse excellent, the view was breathtaking and the house was spotless.

Marazul is a small resort with mostly privately owned villas and apartments. Our villa was two bedroom, and could house 6. Upstairs is an enormous king size bed, adjoining a large bathroom. Downstairs a kitchen with livingroom, an bedroom and another bathroom.

The villa had everything we wanted, a safe, a refrigerator, dishwasher, washingmachine (you definitely need that with two small children). All was provided for getting us started, the groceries were done as requested, the bins were clean, there was washingpowder, dishwashpowder, towels, beachtowels, all was there.

Tommy (the resort manager) does his best to keep the resort up and running. But he has to do with the local poco poco style, so if the trash is not emptied, there is nothing you can do. You just have to wait until somebody decides that its time to pick up all the waiting trash outside at the road. Also the resort gets visited by the locals in the weekends, and they don't always keep to the resort rules. Also very poco poco, but it costs extra effort to clean up after a local party. Rules are not something that the local people tend to take very seriously. Not that they make a mess or something, but they don't take the poolbeds back after they put them on their own terrace. That kind of thing. It keeps Tommy busy!

The people are generally very nice, but I think they don't like Dutch people (we are dutch) very much. Something out of history I think. We speak a couple of words Papiamento and thats considered very polite, but there is a category who is very tired, I think, of tourists. We met all kinds of people, frienldy, unfriendly, ignorant, interested, silent but mostly very emotional. Our children had fun with local children but there were also groups of children who just shouted and bullied at our kids. Pushed them in the water etc. Did not get the reason behind that. I had to step in a few times, telling them to stop, but I just got shouted at. I normally never get shouted at by a 5 year old, but now I did! Very strange. We did found out that those groups never got at the paid beaches and that they did not show up at the same beach every day. So we learned how to avoid them. It is a pity though.

Westpunt is so nice. We stayed in Piscadera Baai in February, but the West side of the island is the most beautifull. I never want to get back to Jan Thiel. We looked at mostly all the beaches, Lagun, Cas Abou, Daaibooi, but our favorite was Grote Knip. Extremely crowded at Sunday, but the most you get from a Carribean beach with white sand and blue sea and (thank God) no pedicures, no massages, no white benches and no beer drinking students. Not so good for snorkeling as Lagun, but very nice for a family.

To stay at Marazul means that you need to bring a lot with you, since there is not a store for a half hour drive! Bring all the essentials suchs as suncream, showersoap etc, because if you don't have it with you, you need to drive at least 35 minutes tot Tera Kora for the California Supermarket. If you are very smart, you pick up a lot of food and drink on your way from the airport to Marazul.

We did not cook while we were there, so we ate out. Mostly at Ranchos e Sobrino - you can walk that (the kids loved it), we ate at Sol Food (which is only open at Friday, Saterday and Sunday). The food is nice, the view is nice. Jaanchies is fun, but we saw all the food we wanted after just two times. Mishe is an absolute favorite - not very childfoodfriendly, but the best food we had in two weeks. A little bit expensive, but very very good.

We spend our days at the beach and at a local nice spot, such as Christoffelpark, Shete Boca, took a snorkeling course at Discover Diving at Lagun (absolute nice people over there) and are very sorry that its already over.

No doubt about it, stay at Marazul, you'll love it!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
6  Thank Lisadaniel1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews