We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Professional, Enthusiastic, Accommodating Staff, Good Boat, Great House Reef

We are experienced divers. We dove with Go West almost every day during our 2 week stay and had a... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Gregory C
,
Wilmington, Delaware
Excellent first dive experience!!!

All the staff we met at Go West was so kind and friendly! Begining with Kerstin at the shop that... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
CaroFT
,
Buenos Aires, Argentina
via mobile
Read all 373 reviews
  
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveler rating
278
28
12
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
278
28
12
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews alice in wonderland dive shop black sand beach the blue room playa kalki snorkel trip great dive sol food lion fish rent tanks a great week rinse tanks kura hulanda surface interval experienced divers spent a week rental gear
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 321 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are experienced divers. We dove with Go West almost every day during our 2 week stay and had a great time. We stayed in Westpunt but it is a long drive from Willemstad and may not be worth it if you are on a cruise ship and only have time to come up for one dive. If you are coming up from Willemstad come do try to start out early, make the morning two-tank boat and then stay and shore dive the house reef (perhaps twice). We had intended to do a lot of shore diving around the island but the boat trips were so easy and the house reef so good that we mostly did the two tank boat trip in the morning and one or two shore dives on the house reef in the afternoon or at night. We did make a few shore dive excursions but for the most part, these paled in comparison to the Go West house reef and the spots visited by the boat. One day the boat was absolutely full (no spots left) with 12 divers and 2 DMs and things were quite tight. All other days there probably 8 divers or less and there was plenty of room. One issue however is that they don’t have a proper camera table or tank in the boat. They only have a plastic tub which really only has enough room for 2 or 3 rigs. The Go West staff is very friendly, professional and they love diving. We have rarely encountered staff as enthusiastic about diving as we found at Go West. They were also very accommodating to special requests like different-sized tanks or a snorkel stop at the Blue Room cave during the surface interval. All the DMs were great but do try to dive or at least have a chat with DM Tukki. The man is a whirlwind of energy and laughter who has lived and dove in Curacao all his life and has had some amazing experiences he will be more than happy to tell you about. If you only have time for one dive on the house reef, turn to the right (north).

Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

All the staff we met at Go West was so kind and friendly! Begining with Kerstin at the shop that went out of her way to fit us into our first discover scuba diving.
Loys our dive master patiently explained what it was all about. She made sure we all felt calm and confident in the water. When I had trouble equalising my left ear she was right next to me solve the problem. We so enjoyed our dive that we look forward to certifying!!!
The next afternoon we did the snorkeling tour to the blue room with Miguel. Again a great professional who took care of us helping us in and out of the cave and taking the time to explain some really interesting facts.
Go West you did an awesome job taking care of us and helping us have so much fun!!
We will be back!
Carolina, Santiago & Xime

Thank CaroFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018

We did 5 days of boat diving with Go West. The people are very nice and helpful if you need assistance. You set up your gear before leaving the dock just to double check you have everything. They have a nice setup for rinse tanks when you get back and an area outside for hanging your gear to dry. There is a large locker room to store your gear overnight. They also supply containers for your gear which can be taken on the boat adn/or used in the locker room for fins etc. The house reef is amazing and it was our 3rd dive each day.

Thank Beanctr999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlorisV285, Front Office at GO WEST Diving, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Beanctr999,

Thank you for your kind review!

We hope to see you again soon, we will make sure that the boat is tanked and fueled up for you!

With kind regards,

Floris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

We went diving with several diving schools, but this one was excellent. We are unexperienced divers and still have Some difficulties with our weights|balance. Our guide took al lot of time to try out Some things. Also after the wonderfull dive (turtlle, octopus, very big scorpionfish,...) he spend another fiftheen minutes to give us Some valuable tips. Thank you Manuel, we Will be back.

1  Thank Cindy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floris V, Front Office at GO WEST Diving, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Hi Cindy,


Thank you for diving with us, we understand that learning the buoyancy can be difficult, though we heard it all went well!

We hope to see you back, and we hope that the tips you have received will help!
Enjoy your day,


Floris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

My husband did the PADI OWD certificate with GoWest Diving last week and enjoy it very much. The instructor Loys is from Venezuela, so she is native spanish speaker, what made things super easy for him. She was very professional and made him feel safe at all times, and guide him through a real learning and enjoying experience.
The rest of the staff were all great as well.
The reef was wonderfull and all the experience is remarcable recommendable.

Thank Merce Des D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floris V, Floris at GO WEST Diving, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Hello,

Thank you very much for your kind, loving words!

I will make sure Loys will read it! :) We hope to see the two of you back again soon, so Loys can see how good she has trained your husband! Haha, enjoy your day!

Floris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Our trip with Go West Diving was such a WONDERFUL experience. They suggested places to go (their secrets... Paradise and Watamula)... and boy were they right!!! It was some of THE most BEAUTIFUL collection of corals, sponges, fish... soooo difficult to put into words how "different" and "magical" it was!!! We drifted in current over this lovely garden of shapes and colors that went on forever!!! Where they take you to Watamula, you could dive day after day and never tire of it!!!
Great company, great guide, captain and crew!!! Truly worth diving with them!!! We can't wait to return!!!

1  Thank 251paulettel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floris V, Floris at GO WEST Diving, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Hi Paulette,

Thank you very much for your kind words! We are so happy that you have enjoyed your dives with us, and hope to see you again very soon!

Now you know, it is worth the drive!

Enjoy your day and Happy bubbles!

Floris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2018

We had a great week in May with Go West. They have a nice set up for boat and shore diving. The owner was around regularly and engaged with the guests. All of the staff were great, professional and friendly.

Setup - they have shaded areas for setting up, cleaning up and debriefing. Large washbins with camera only bins are changed out several times a day. This is a top shore dive site, so there are frequently shore divers suiting up. If you are not staying within walking distance, get there early! There is an adjacent beach that is also very popular, so the parkinglot will fill up, especially on weekends! It is a bit of a steep stair from the parking lot down to the shop.

Boats - they run regular trips in the am (2 tank) and usually one afternoon dive. While you can shore dive on Curacao, the best places are really boat dives. Watamaula and Mushroom forest are must do! The crew does a great job of getting your gear on and helping if you need it. They also were great at the change over and getting gear off. Great site selections! I hunted for lionfish and the staff was great about both helping spot and taking care of them back on shore.

Shore - One of the best sites we found was off of their docks....we did quite a few shore dives (tanks free when you boat dive) and never got bored. You can dive to max recreational depths up to 7 feet with ease. Tanks are right there and the staff will get them out for you. If you are diving somewhere else, they pull tanks from their fill room at the top of the stairs (no hauling tanks up and down!).

If you are diving with them, they have a gear room where you can store your gear overnight. However, it's a group locker and is not accessible from 5pm until 730 am so if you are doing a night dive you have to work around this.

The only downside to the operation is tanks are not available after 5pm. If you are planning a night dive (or a post dinner dive), you have to pull tanks early and either have someone watch them, or haul them up the stairs and back down. I would love to see them set up a cable tie with key access for late divers.

2  Thank MikeNDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floris V, Front Office at GO WEST Diving, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

Hello Mike,

Thank you very much for your kind words! Of course, we hope to see you again.
We have read your review with joy!

On the night diving, we do have the possibility to have tanks stored in our bathroom, it is downstairs but accessible with the key we can provide. Of course, this does not cost anything extra and we are more than happy to hand it over to you the next time we'll see you!

We'll make sure your next trip is just as enjoyable!

With kind regards,

Floris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2018

Just got home from four beautiful days of boat diving with Go West. My husband and I couldn’t have been happier. The entire staff there was friendly, fun and professional and made us feel welcome and completely at ease while diving. Everyone helped us get our gear to the boat where we were able to put everything together ourselves, although they were happy to help when any questions came up. The water was crystal clear and calm, our dive masters Miguel, Alex and Loys provided safety, guidance and care, and the inimitable captain Toeki made for an unforgettable and highly entertaining experience. We can’t wait to return.

Thank Larisa_1H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floris V, Front Office at GO WEST Diving, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

Hi Larisa,

Thank you for your kind words!

We are sure Toeki made your boat ttrip funnier than any other trip you'll ever make....
After all, we do hope that you will return to us, safe and sound. We've got some nice boat trips planned ahead for you!

With kind regards,

Floris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018

My daughter and I arrived in the afternoon of a lovely day to dive. We appeared to have come in the middle of a disagreement between dive shop staff and they did not amend their behavior in front of customers. Made for an awkward and uncomfortable time in the dive shop as we waited to pay and verify our certification. The diving fee seemed steep to us-- $71 for what we thought was just the full diving kit and one other tank. We learned later that we were each charged for going off the pier (even though we had asked if we could enter the water from the beach) and for the locker to store our other items (which surprised us as the other shops we visited had free lockers).
To be fair, it seemed one staff member was in her first day and the other just seemed... well, pretty testy. But everyone has a bad day, and the final staff member was delightfully welcoming once we moved on from our unexpected and unappreciated spot in the middle of a disagreement. Maybe just a lesson in customer service...
We had heard there were bait balls off this reef, and that is what brought us there, but we did not see any, Unfortunately, compared to other dives around Curacao, this reef was not as vibrant or full of animal life as we had hoped.
In the end, my daughter and I decided this was our least favorite shop because of the strange atmosphere, and the reef not as interesting as hoped. She has extensive dive experience on Curacao, so I trust her assessment of the reef.

Thank DKay51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floris V, Frontoffice at GO WEST Diving, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2018

Hello mr./mrs DKay51,

We are sorry that you have experienced our diveshop in this way, this is not our daily standard and each day we try to improve.
To be honest, we do have a new Divemaster trainee, so it might have been an explanation that you might have witnessed.

About the payment, we'd like to see the receipt that you have been given to find out what exactly has happend, since our customers are free in using the pier or beach, as well as all the facilities that we offer.
Non paying guests of the beach are welcome to use them too, for our small facility fee of US$7,- per person per day.

If you want, we will have a look it this if you email us the receipt: info[at]gowestdiving[dot]com

We do hope to see you again, so we can show that we do have a nice atmosphere.

With kind regards,

Floris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2018

Prices are reasonable here. People are friendly. Shop has a lot of equipment, if you need to buy. Miguel was our son's divemaster. My son, who has a PADI certification, had a fun, interesting one-tank dive with Miguel, exploring the reefs offshore. Miguel also talked my wife and daughter into an introductory dive, and they found that he has patient and helpful. He also led a snorkeling trip in the afternoon in which we visited three sites. Close to shore, coral is bleached near the surface, but the snorkeling sites included a sunken boat and a cave, which made things interesting.

Thank Jay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floris V, Frontoffice at GO WEST Diving, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2018

Hi Jay,

Thank you very much for your kind words!

We hope to see you again, for our two tank boat dive! The coffee will be ready! :)

With kind regards,

Floris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews