We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!”
Review of Landhuis Misje

Landhuis Misje
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Landhuis Misje is an open-air restaurant with informal seating surrounded by a Caribbean garden. The menu features typical Curacao dishes, prepared with a Jamaican/American flair, at a reasonable price.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had a wonderful evening at Landhuis Misje. The food was delicious. I ordered the chicken curry and my husband had the pasta. Both were fantastic. The service was great as well. We would have come back on our last night to eat again, but it was a Monday and they were closed. Too bad for us!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UTJEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    80
    22
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Willemstad, Curacao
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food, ambiance, service and pricing!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We visited this place for the first time last week. From beginning to end we had a great experience!

The manager / host Anton is a really nice guy who knows his business and made us feel very welcome. He explained the different dishes they serve, gave us a littlebit background information about the Land House and was very entertaining.

We ordered some cocktails to start with, they were delicious, and had the fresh fish for dinner. The table next to us had grilled lamb chops which looked perfect too!

Alltogether a great experience well worth visiting again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yous79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“CeesT”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

It is not a landhuis but a very nice old Curacao house , the food is first quality, well cooked and nicely presented.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cees T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“True Island Hospitality!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is island eating at its best! Yes, you eat on picnic tables outside with soft lighting, and tropical breezes. You may or may not have a view of the kitchen works depending on your table and you may not have a back on your "chair" if you sit at a picnic table so be warned. But despite all this, we had a lovely evening after driving and getting lost from Royal Sea Aquarium Resorts. We shared the grouper ceviche with its "Peruvian" touches of sweet and white potato discs. It had a few salad elements such as very small pieces of lettuce and onions and was very tasty. I had the chicken curry with its surprise element of banana pieces and my husband had the pasta with the beef - kind of a Curacao lasagna. We had a few glasses of Yalumba Scribbler which is the house wine and the flan for dessert. Flan was the only disappointment. No soft delicate texture. It was thick and almost "chewy". Waiter admitted that it was not up to par though the taste was correct. He did not charge us for it. Our drive home was much faster - we made all the right turns. So glad we "trekked" out here to see Anton again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Five star meal”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We each had a shrimp dish, mine with pasta and both were top notch. The service was superb! We started with a pumpkin soup that was devine. We loved the food and ambiance.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaurieTEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Landhuis Misje also viewed

Curacao, Caribbean
Willemstad, Curacao
 
Sint Willibrordus, Curacao
 

Been to Landhuis Misje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing