We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Sabana Westpunt
Post
Inbox
Search

“Jaanchie's is the "MUST-GO" restaurant on Curacao!”

Jaanchies Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed September 19, 2015

If you are visiting Curacao and really want to experience the REAL Curacao and not just the beaches, casinos and the bar the you have to go to Jaanchie's. The friendliness and warmth of the restaurant is immediately apparent when you get inside. You sit amongst a beautiful chorus of "suiker-diefjes" and "troepiaal" sounds as they consume the sugar that is strategical placed around the restaurant. True local dishes like iguana, conch, goat and different kinds of fish are on offer.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank QuintenK_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,000)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 229 of 1,000 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2015

This is local cuisine. No menu, just whatever they seem to have that day. The price was a bit high for what we got but the owner was very sweet and kind.

Date of visit: September 2015
1  Thank Elena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2015

Jaanchie's has been in Curacao for as long as I can remember. He is known for his charismatic approach and no menus. He stand at every table to present the dishes of the day. For a first-timer it is quite fun to witness this as he often gives it his all at each table.
I think it is important to point out that the food is just OK. There are other places serving much better local food than Jaanchie's and at a better price (just a few minutes away from Jaanchie's restaurant). And price is a second thing to watch. There is a very smart reason why he doesn't have a menu, that is because he makes his own prices.Just to give you an example: we as locals went to eat, we had two red snappers and so did the couple at a table next to ours. We both left at the same time and paid at the counter. They paid $40 each for their red snapper and we paid 35 guilders (rougly $20) each for our red snapper. I was pretty dumbfounded when I saw the charge on their bill.

A tip: Ask him for the price in advance, this way you are not surprised by the charge at the end. If you have the feeling the price is too high, try to negotiate a little. In curacao negotiating is normal. Just do it in a playful manner and with a smile.

Date of visit: December 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank World_citizen_SL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2015 via mobile

Try the iguana stew it is really tasty. Yep tastes like chicken. No menu given to you, the owner sits at your table and tells you from memory what is available. A real character and nice guy. Fun place to go at least once while on Curaçao. They have a bird feeder outside filled with sugar and all kinds of birds put on a show as they get hyped up on the white powder.

Date of visit: September 2015
1  Thank extendedranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2015

Great place with a LOT of ambiance. It has been ran by the same family for about 70 years. I would highly recommend this place.

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank Dread_Pirate_R0berts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaanchies Restaurant also viewed

Sabana Westpunt, Curacao
Curacao, Caribbean
 
Willemstad, Curacao
 
Sabana Westpunt, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Jaanchies Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing