We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast @ Ocean restaurant” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten to your Saves list
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144 Oyster Pond Road, Oyster Pond, St. Maarten-St. Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Breakfast @ Ocean restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The staff is determined to have THEIR way despite your needs.
The restaurant manager was argumentative and does not inform the staff of Hotel policy.
The a la carte menu however is quite good but the Buffet leaves allot to be desired unless you like lots of tasteless food that has been sitting on a hot table for hours.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Overall the property was beautiful and well maintained. The staff was friendly and accommodating, including the General Manager. The food at all of the restaurants was delicious. The only concern at the restaurant named Ocean needs to enforce a better system in wiping the tables and placemats. There was an unusual amount of flies in the indoor area of the restaurant. And this happened several times.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room. Unfortunately not all rooms have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank indi523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I loved this resort! From the seamless check-in to the beautiful premises, it was amazing. Some people might be put-off by the timeshare offices and salespeople on the ground floor, but once you say " no thank you" they pretty much leave you alone. We did go on a timeshare tour and the properties are definitely gorgeous. The concierge and staff are really excellent at this resort. We had an issue getting tickets on our own for an excursion and people made calls constantly and were not only able to secure tickets for us, they made sure that the operators waited for us! We were celebrating a birthday and they helped to make it special -- wine, cheese plate, fruit platter, and cake surprise in our room! We stayed in a suite with a double balcony and the views were spectacular from every angle. The casino is cool and the bartenders make excellent drinks. The restaurants on-site are delicious. Overall, I was most impressed with the people. They clearly pride themselves on service and it shows! We recommend it to anyone visiting the island!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, VA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

What ISN'T wonderful about this resort? A room with a view, breakfast with a view, a wonderful pool, white sandy beaches, not TOO many children. Our corner room was clean and perfectly kept with a beautiful view over-looking pool and ocean. We ate breakfast every morning outside, did some shopping, spent the afternoon on the beach, then experienced fabulous local dining all over the island.

Room Tip: I don't believe there is a bad room in the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We spent a week at this resort and absolutely loved it. The building and grounds, pool and beach included, were beautiful and well maintained. Lots of great restaurants on the resort and nearby and tons of things to do. We plan on returning and highly recommend this destination to all.

Room Tip: Ocean view is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rivergurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed at the Dawn Beach Club (DBC) in late June, early July. The timeshare is adjacent to the Westin Resort, and at the time we stayed there check-in was at the Westin front desk. By now, check-in is probably at the timeshare's offices. The timeshare may have been at one time a Westin timeshare, but it is not any longer. However, the rooms are gorgeous and have all of the Westin amenities. We were originally put in a low floor room where we had a view of, well, an air conditioner. After discussing the situation with the DBC manager, he was able to give us a top floor room with a view. The rooms have everything including a full kitchen and are beautiful. The room could easily sleep eight to ten. A group of six adults would each have their own private room. We ate lunch at the pool bar once, and found the food good and reasonably priced. We walked to Mr. Busby's for lunch, or the Oyster Bay Report's small convenience store for coffee most mornings. The beach is beautiful in front of the resort and all the way down the beach to the Oyster Bay Resort. To get to the other end of the beach you must climb a small group of rocks and wear tennis or reef shoes. No flip-flops. It's worth the walk. The resort is isolated (a good thing) and a bit of a drive from the airport or anywhere because of the topography. You will need a car, and GPS on the island is a must. The Dawn Beach Club is a great place to stay when visiting St. Maarten. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: You must get a room on a high floor to get a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crewdog13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We arrived at the check in desk with our luggage, 2 carry on bags and a large wheeled bag. We were bumped from our ocean view room to an ocean front room. We had hoped to be overlooking the pool. The desk clerk checked us in and gave us directions to our room. There was no bell hop and we had to haul our own luggage down four very long hallways. The hallways smelled musty. When we arrived at our room we noticed damage to the door, it looked like someone had kicked the door in and the damage was not completely repaired.

Entering the room it smelled musty. There was carpeting on the floor. I have never stayed in a hotel in SXM with carpeting, they have all had tile. The carpet was damp for our whole stay. The room and the bath were very dimly lit, low wattage bulbs to reduce cost. There was mold in the shower and around the tub. I ran hot water into the sink to shave with and the water was brown. The cold water was clear. I ran the hot water for a long time and it never cleared up.

Although we had an ocean front room we could not get to the beach from the patio because of a waist high wall across the patio and bushes planted on the other side of the wall. We had to walk over 500 feet through the musty hallways to get to the pool or beach. On our third day we had left the room very early in the morning and didn't return till after 4:00 PM and our room hadn't been made up yet. We called for room service and they made up our room. However, we were late for dinner, not only from the late room service, but we couldn't lock the door to our room so we had to wait for maintenance to come and put a fresh battery in the lock.

US Airways has this rated as a four star hotel. No way!! I'll give it two stars and I would never stay here again. Try one of the privately owned boutique hotels on the French side.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SlowMoe66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oyster Pond
0.0 mi away
Ottley's Plantation Inn
Ottley's Plantation Inn
#1 of 6 in Basseterre
5.0 of 5 stars 432 reviews
0.0 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 stars 597 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 stars 1,455 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 4 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,607 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten

Address: 144 Oyster Pond Road, Oyster Pond, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most beautiful Caribbean beaches, The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten offers guests a true getaway. Scuba dive, take a ferry to Anguilla for the day, or just relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, West Indies, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort And Spa, St. Maarten
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
Westin St Maarten Martin
St Maarten Martin Westin
Westin St Martin
Westin St. Maarten/St. Martin
St. Maarten/St. Martin Westin
Westin St Maarten Dawn Beach Resort & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing