We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Nearby Hotels
Princess Heights Hotel(Oyster Pond)(Great Value!)
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Plantation(Orient Bay)(Great Value!)
$188
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sol Hotel(Oyster Pond)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colombus Hotel(Oyster Pond)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Esmeralda Resort(Orient Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,412)
Filter reviews
2,412 results
Traveler rating
906
799
367
156
184
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
906
799
367
156
184
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdawn beachgrand caseocean frontheavenly bedbig fishtime shareatlantic sideorient beachoceanfront roomrental carswim up barst maartenbeautiful propertyfrench borderpool beachtimeshare salesminute drive
Filter
Updating list...
1,354 - 1,359 of 2,412 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

After two days staying at hotel Carl Gustaf in St. Barths it was a very nice transition when it comes to friendliness.. The minute you walk in you can tell that service is of a great value at this hotel. What a warm welcome we got! It started with the service at the reception, which made us feel right at home. The location is great: you can walk from the swimming pool directly onto the beach. And when we sat at one of the nice bars, we were greeted by the manager named David. He asked us how everything was, and we could only be enthusiastic. Last but not least, the staff at the casino was taking very good care of us. So.. If you want to experience the service and friendliness we all want to experience when on a holiday.. This is the place to go!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emke_Schoonewille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My family stayed here while my husband attended a conference. After reading several other reviews, I feel like I need to speak up and say what a great stay we had. Both of our rooms were spotless upon arrival and kept spotless by our maids, who refused to not come in every day, even though we told them to come every other day. Our coffee and tea was restocked daily, as were our towels. The pool area was clean and family friendly. The wait staff that worked the pool area were friendly and always made sure to check back to see if anything else was needed. The best part of the hotel was the Ocean restaurant and its amazing staff. With Max and Pierre running the show, every meal was delicious and served with a smile. Since we were there with a large group, we had breakfast vouchers for a breakfast buffet that can't be beat. Our servers kept our water filled and brought our juice, coffee or tea while we gorged ourselves on breakfast. Since we rented a car, we had the option of eating dinner off premises, but always ate in the restaurant. We enjoyed the company of the staff and the food too much to drive into town! The Ocean restaurant staff is what will bring us back to the Westin one day!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Just spent 2 nights here- we were hesitant to stay more because of previous bad reviews (we went to radisson blu French side other 5 nights). I must say, the westin was great. The beach is beautiful - service fabulous- food very good. The prices were good too (much less expensive than French side). Must be new management? In any case - go & enjoy:)

Room Tip: I'll go w/oceanfront next time - sunrise too gorgeous to miss & the ocean -sigh.........
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This a large hotel for this island of few upscale chain hotel brands. There is a hotel and modest casino and an adjacent Westin vacation club condo complex.

The beach here is the most picturesque on the island, and has the softest sand,however is generally windy and wavy. It is away from the hub-bub of Phillipsburg and Marigot, and there are only a few restaurant choices in the immediate community around Dawn Beach.

The hotel is very well done and pool area is spectacular, and has good in-house restaurants but somewhat pricey.

My only criticisms are that access roads to the property are in very poor condition with large potholes, and the on-site sales force for the Vacation club pester hotel guests in the halls and are quite pushy and intrusive. They need to be reigned in by the local management.

Room Tip: Oceanview rooms are more expensive
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel with an amazing eternity pool that is huge and never deeper than 5 feet. We went here for 4 days with our two young boys (ages 3 and 5) and had a fantastic time. The staff was consistently friendly and very good with our boys (lots of "bumps" to our sons at the breakfast buffets which was also delicious). The room was clean with all of the amenities. The food at the Ocean Restaurant inside the hotel was consistently delicious, especially the seafood. The food at the Aura restaurant was surprisingly not as good although it was the "higher end" restaurant of the two (although the steaks there were always delicious, the seafood was overcooked both times). The pool side service was fine and the sandwiches were very good (especially the Curry Chicken Wrap). The house cleaning did not happen until about mid to late afternoon, which was frustrating but not the worst thing in the world. The sales lady at the gift shop (Janis) was so helpful and kind when we came in with sunburns after the first day that she gave our 3 year old a free beach pail and toys to play with at the beach. The "Ocean View" room was slightly deceptive as it really was a full view of the pool (very pretty) and a side view of the ocean. We did observe people whose rooms were actually facing the ocean (ocean front?) and the sun was beating down on them in the morning, so we were actually grateful for the room we got. The surf is very rough and not for paddling around in nor for snorkeling, but there are cabanas for $28/day and chair side drink service. We stayed on Wednesday night for the Pirate Show which included a full dinner buffet and entertainment (fire dancing, a steel band, and calypso ladies). It really was wonderful and we will come back if we ever have the opportunity!! As for the time share sales, unless you are new to the notion of this, take my advice, "just say no". If you really believe it will "only take 45 minutes and then you get a free massage or free hotel stay", then you got what you deserved. It's always hard sales and is always at least 2-3 hours of your time. They will back off if you politely decline.

Room Tip: Third floor (top) offers a gorgeous overview of the pool and ocean. The first and second floors do not offer the same overview.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 718BethD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews