We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful find”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oyster Pond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

we were at les balcons this jan (2013) . enjoyed our stay very much. this is a quiet place to get away from it all. location is sweet-minutes from dawn beach and great restaurants. we could drive to grand case or philipsburg in 10 minutes/.accomodations were good.the view from your balcony was beautiful. it was nice to have your own barbecue if you wanted to stay in.great kitichen/.owners were lovely french couple rentals were equiped with security alarm. only complaint--owners not easy to reach-not always on sight and no telephones in room to call them!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 905canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 258 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed in the Sweety Cottage in early Feb 2013 which is situated just down the road from the Les Balcons but is owned/managed by the same couple (David and Carine). The cottage is beautiful: It has it's own plunge pool with a deck that is more than adequate size. While you relax in the pool or sit on the deck you have a stunning view of Oyster Pond and the villas on the hillside beyond. It is very secure - surrounded by a wall that is nicely landscaped with tropical vegetation. Everything you need to cook meals is included in the kitchen as well as a nice bbq outside. The bedroom is air conditioned and the rest of the cottage you cool by opening the large patio doors and let the breeze in. We loved the bathroom with it's large walk-in shower. David and Carine were great; very helpful with activity choices and getting around. David helped me with a small mechanical problem we had with our rental car during our visit. To sum it up this cottage is perfect for a couple looking to get away and relax or even a small family as there is a pull out coach in the living room. Oyster Pond is close to some great beaches, restaurants and is only a 10-15 minute drive from downtown Philipsburg where the all the shopping is. If you are looking for something close to the night-life on St Maarten/St Martin then this location is probably not for you. To sum it up, we had a wonderful time and we will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PlasmaXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Lonely Planet rates Les Balcons as one of the best buys in the entire eastern Caribbean, and they are right. The rates are reasonable; the rooms are lovely; and the proprietors are fabulous. If you are looking for a glitzy, all-inclusive hotel, Les Balcons is not for you. If you are interested in getting to know St. Martin, Les Balcons is a great choice. We loved the location, outside the crowded streets of Phillipsburg and Marigot, but with good restaurants, a lovely almost private beach, and interesting beaches, hills, and ponds to explore on foot.
Les Balcons is more of a motel than a hotel. There is no lobby; the Reception is an office by the parking area; and rooms all have entrances directly from the outside. We were there for 10 days and stayed in two different rooms. Both were lovely and immaculately clean, with a fully furnished kitchen and a terrace with a lovely view of Oyster Pond and seating for meals or reading. The furnishings were not standard institutional stuff but were tastefully chosen to reflect the island culture and were different in the two rooms. Even the placemats were pretty. We were even provided with an insulated cooler to use to take a picnic lunch to the beach.
By far the greatest asset of Les Balcons are the proprietors, Carinne and David, and their assistant, Anais. All three were unfailingly helpful and cheerful and always seemed to be delighted by our many questions. They gave us directions and advice on grocery stores, gas stations, ATMs, laundromats, beaches, and restaurants and recommended a particularly good snorkeling tour. Best of all, was the daily delivery of fresh French pastries - our choice of baguette, croissant, feuillete - and we could even run a tab and pay for them all when we checked out.
We have just one caveat - although there are several good restaurants and one nice beach within walking distance, if you want to see anything of the island, you will need a rental car.
In summary, if/when we return to St. Martin, we won't consider staying anywhere but at Les Balcons.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem for you, choose a room on the Allee en Haute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

...and run by a very nice French couple - Carine could not have been more helpful.

Oyster Pond is a very good place to stay in St Martin - with easy acces to most parts of the island avoiding too much traffic. The big hotels on Dawn Beach (the Dutch side of the bay) looked OK if you like that sort of holiday, but we were delighted we chose these spacious self catering bungalows in a delightful quiet spot. We had great views, chilling out watching the yachts in the marina and the humming birds on the balcony.
It is an en easy walk to a few shops, bars and restaurants, and the unspoilt Coralita beach just down the hill. And only 10-20 mins by car to most places on St Martin you would want to visit.

We will certainly recommend Les Balcons to our friends!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markmathsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at Les Balcons for 5 night in November and enjoyed everything about the property! We wanted something unique and not hotel-like looking and were so excited when we discovered this place! It was so great to wake up in the morning and go on your own balcony with this amazing view of Oyster bay! The rooms are nicely decorated, the bathrooms are spacious! We even used the grill one night! You can take a short walk down the hill right from your bungalow and you end up at this little pier with boats a few bars/restaurants and you see at least a dozen gigantic iguanas on your way there! The staff is very nice and extremely helpful - they helped us figure out the best day trip to take during our stay (we chose St. Barth's) and assisted in booking it. I am definitely recommending this unique experience to everyone who is going to St. Maartin and wants a non-resort experience.

2 things: you will definitely need a car
the mosquitos are quite active at night (due to proximity to the water), so bring some spray with you!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 949ag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

As as Christmas surprise, my husband took me here for a week. Our daughter stayed here last year and loved it! We had Unit 18, the unit was very nicely set up, we loved the huge terrace...amazing view! Hummingbirds visited regularly!! The managers were very helpful and welcoming! We ordered fresh baked goods for the morning....amazing croissants! We felt very safe. I loved the pool, went everyday and was the only person using it! Overall, a very peaceful, relaxing holiday...highly recommend this property!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna671618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The owners couldn't be nicer. There is something about waking up to French pastry that gets the day going right. The view looking into the harbor is stunning. We had a blast grilling on our patio while drinking French wine. There are bars you can walk to behind the hotel that have that island charm. We will definitely be back. Just one tiny gripe..............the bed could be a little more comfortable. If they put better beds in, this would be perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aviongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oyster Pond
0.7 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
759 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.3 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
5.8 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond

Address: 15 Avenue du Lagon, Oyster Pond 97150, St Martin / St Maarten
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range: $76 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Individual bungalows in Caribbean gardens with swimming pool. They are situated on beautiful Oyster Pond with a marvelous view of the marina and sail boats. You will be in a peaceful, quiet, familial and casual ambiance.Our bungalows can accommodate 2 to 5 people. Each unit has a private terrace with splendid view and barbecue grill. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Les Balcons d`Oyster Pond Hotel Oyster Pond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing