We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Certificate of Excellence
pittsburgh
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Hard to leave”
Reviewed February 5, 2008

Les Balcons was a wonderful way to experience the nicest area in St Maarten's. We stayed in bungaloo #20. It had a king sized bed, a well equipped kitchen, and a recently extended covered deck that had a breath taking view of Oyster bay. We spent each morning enjoying our croissants or baguette's on this deck not wanting to ever leave. There is a french bakery in Orleans that is not to be missed. Our favorite restaurants were Big Fish by Dawn beach, L'estaminet Restaurant and La California in Grand Case. Actually we would love to eat at every restaurant in Grand Case. Make sure you go to Grand Case on Tuesday and eat at a lolo and watch the parade. Carine and David are the perfect host for Les Balcons and are very helpful and knowledgeable people when you have questions. Most people we talked to have been coming back to his complex for years and you understand why after your visit. We spent 12 days there and it was difficult to leave.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pirata21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    37
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
172
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2008

Having spent quite a lot time searching for the right place for a first trip to St Martin, we are very happy to have found Les Balcons at Oyster Pond.

We enjoyed our large bungalow suite with a huge terrace overlooking Oyster Pond and its changing colours. The scenery was beautiful, would it be in the morning or at sunset.
Welcome visitors were hummingbirds, sugar birds and some local cats.
There were also a few mosquitoes, and they loved us…

The bungalow was very clean, well equipped, almost luxurious, all of this for a very reasonable price, even though we were in high season. A/C was working normally…

However a rental car is compulsory if you want to visit the island (beaches, restaurants, shopping), as Oyster Pond is quite small, and there are not many shops around.

In terms of nearby restaurants, we tried Quai Ouest, just underneath Les Balcons (very good and reasonable rices), Captain Oliver’s (the place just got a new Manager who is steadily improving things and motivating his team), and also le Planteur (a nice refined mix of French and Creole cuisine).

St Martin was a nice (first) experience for me, and we’ll be back!

  • Liked — Quiet and lovely views.
  • Disliked — Some mosquitoes hanging around!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank French
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2008

Our family of 8 of all different ages stayed at Les Balcons in December and we all loved it ! We stayed in a studio, 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom and all were just beautiful ! David and Carine were wonderful hosts! The views were spectacular. A very quiet, relaxing place to stay just on the french border and close to Dawn Beach. One note, you need a car as taxis are expensive and the buses don't stop close by

Helpful?
3 Thank ReadyToGoMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookeville, MD
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2008

We stayed 9 days at the Balcons, and loved the atmosphere. Nothing fancy or gigantic: just a small resort on a hillside facing the marina. Carine and David are wonderful hosts. We stayed in bungalow number 6 on the lower row. The bungalow has all the comfort we need, including a kitchenette. The best part is the wide balcony overlooking the magnificent marina. An also, having breakfast on the balcony in the company of small birds. And also... the view from the pool. And then... the proximity to Quai Ouest restaurant and Captain Oliver's Marina. And did I mention the peace and quiet of the place?
We will be back!
(And why in the world did I write all this? We should keep places like these secret, so we are still able to book a unit next time!)

  • Liked — Everything: the feel, the landcape, the view, the hosts...
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EricAndAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2007

We stayed at Les Balcyon after finding it on tripadvisor and seeing the favorable reviews. This is a wonderful, small hotel. Carine was a great hostess. We corresponded by email before our arrival and everything went smoothly. The unit we stayed in was great. It was very clean, had a wonderful view of the harbor. The kitchen came in handy and Carine even had a cooler in the room for guest use, we liked being able to take cold food to the beach. Carine gave us lots of great recomendations for dinning, beaches, sightseeing. The French side of the island was very quiet and welcoming. Don't believe what you hear about the French being snobby. Everyone was wonderful. Our first night in Les Balcyon we took Carine's advise and went to Tabba Khandy for dinner, a small restaurant just down the street. It was one of the best meals we had our whole trip. I would recommend Les Balcyon whole heartedly if you are looking for something small, intimate and different from the large chain resorts.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Ravinmavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medwyer@earthlink.net
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2007

Best place to stay is Les Balcons D'Oyster Pond

The best beach is orient beach

Grand Case is the best place place for dinner

Ace car rental,best weekly rate

Helpful?
10 Thank casper0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2006

I just returned after spending 2 great weeks at LES TERRASSES D’OMEGA,or Les Balcones, Oyster Pond, St. Martin.
David &Carine made my stay feel just like home, but away on vacation. Very friendly atmosphere and pleasant surroundings. I have stayed at LesBalcones 2 years ago and decided to try the newer rentals at Omega. Little more room and when David added the second air conditioner, it made for an even more comfortable stay. First A/C in bedroom didn't cool down the entrance area/kitchen. When I mentioned this to David on Friday, he said they would install a new one on Tuesday. They did. I would stay there again without a question. Anyone with a question can contact me directly. @ singleinsxm@yahoo,com

  • Liked — close to my beach which I like
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — going to maho area after 8pm to avoid traffic in simpson bay area
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank notanlines118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oyster Pond
4.3 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,797 reviews
0.7 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
747 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.3 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
1,214 reviews
7.2 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond

Property: Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond
Address: 15 Avenue du Lagon, Oyster Pond 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Individual bungalows in Caribbean gardens with swimming pool. They are situated on beautiful Oyster Pond with a marvelous view of the marina and sail boats. You will be in a peaceful, quiet, familial and casual ambiance.Our bungalows can accommodate 2 to 5 people. Each unit has a private terrace with splendid view and barbecue grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Balcons d`Oyster Pond Hotel Oyster Pond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing