We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Place, People & Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Certificate of Excellence
Southern Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Place, People & Location”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

My husband and I have been coming to St. Maarten and staying with Carine and David at Les Balcons for many years. Our first stay was for one week. We now return annually for 3 weeks at a time. Our goal is to increase that to two trips per year. The bungalows are very comfortable and clean, and Carine and David, the managers, make sure everything is taken care of to ensure a pleasant stay. They are located just past the French border overlooking Oyster Pond. They are centrally located on the island, making trips into Phillipsburg and Grand Case every managable with a rental car.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthernILTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    36
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
169
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We really enjoyed our week stay at Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond, service was really good , the day we arrived our room was perfect, spacious with everything needed to cook our own stuff. The outside BBQ was another story, the grills were old and rusty.David the manager came deliver a brand new bbq the same day , we didnt even ask for it ... ,what can you ask more .

Every morning we had our Croissant and french baguette deliver at the reception from a local baker, breakfast in the covered terasse was superb , the view from our was ok mostly catamaran,

You have some small restaurants by walkin distance, but you will need a car to move around the island.You dont need 4x4, ACE car renting is the best bang for your buck.
Dont forget to go at Grand Case on tuesday night , this is a must.
Another great experience,
Take your car and drive in direction of loterie Farm (former suguar plantation) , then take the road Pic du Paradis , from there you will be able to see the island from up to 400m from sea level , pretty amazing view.

We loved our stay , but will definitly not going back to St-marteen,way to overrated reputation,

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank featherZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We enjoyed a weeks' stay here at Les Balcons. It was a wonderful time, thanks to the pleasant support of Carine, David and Silvie. We loved our apartment, an upper level regular apartment with a regular terrace. Personally decorated and welcomed with fresh tropical flowers, it felt like home. Everything we needed was there. And that view over the harbour… stunning, it made us happy every time we got home.

The apartment is safely secured with a alarm system, also the parking lot is closed off with a gate. The bed is a big king size bed, with a soft and good mattress, it was nicely covered with a red bedspread. The kitchenette is small, but well equipped: glasses, different sizes of plates, good knifes, big fridge, a water cooker, an oven, a blender, etc. The 2 small cooking plates are ok, but the lack of a proper hood makes extensive cooking a bit smelly, considering you have to sleep in the room as well. Most people however will use the Weber barbeque on the terrace (sorry, I am not a fan of bbq ;-)

A cabinet with books in at least 3 different languages, a bath room with nice blue tiles, a big mirror and a wide shower, all very nice, spotless, and personal.

The biggest advantage is the wide terrace or veranda, because it is covered. That makes it an excellent place to have dinner, drinks, breakfast, to read or talk. Even when it rains… The terrace is well lit with big lamps and a fan can blow away the heat if needed. The big table for 4 makes it possible to invite someone, a couch is comfortable for reading and we enjoyed the sun chair with soft cushions.

Free wifi is available in the apartment and on the terrace, a safe, a cool box, a beach chair, and on top of everything you can order French baguettes or croissants from the bakery, delivered in the morning at reception.

The swimming pool is nice and private, but we didn’t use it very often, because St Martins beaches are so nice. We have a hard time to think of a disadvantage, and it might be the fact that you will need a car, for shopping, for going anywhere on the island. In Oyster Pond are some restaurants, but certainly not the best of the island and two small mini markets with limited fresh items. But Grand Case is 20 minutes away, and going to the Dutch side for some shopping is not a punishment. Unless you end up in one of the many traffic jams in the island… But then at least you have a real home to go to at Les Balcons d’Oyster Pond.

We will certainly be back!

Room Tip: The upper level apartments will get more wind, the lower level are on pool level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2011

I just read the review about the experience one set of guests had in 2009 at Les Balcons. It was most unfortunate that they had that experience.

We have been coming since 2006 and love staying here.. We started coming for a week and we loved it so much we now come for 7 weeks at a time twice a year.

Yes, there were some security issues back in 2009 but all the owners took this seriously and remedied the situation . Alarm systems were installed in all bungalows that go directly to the manager and the Gendarmes. A gate secures the parking lot at night. There have been no incidents here that we know of since 2009. All our concerns are handled promptly by Carine and David, the managers.

We love it here because the view is picturesque, it is conveniently located near and within driving minutes to restaurants and different beaches.

It is such a friendly place. Everyone we have met who stays here tells us they love it at Les Balcons and hope to return. We know that is true because we see the same people here each year. We plan on coming back for many years.

Carl and Mary Klein, New Berlin, Wisconsin

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akleic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Hubby and I stayed here for three nights in May 2009. On our last night, the Gendarme (local French police) knocked on our door and yelled something in French with huge sounding dogs breathing down the door. We didn't open, we were terrified! They came around and shone torches on the balcony and left. I called the owner on my cell phone (room doesn't have phones) and she said there was nothing to worry about!

The next day she happily informed us she was going to the police station to report as the neighbors were robbed and they were trying to catch a thief. We had heard something that sounded like a gun shot when we were parking our car and that made us run to the room (I was so scared!). She didn't offer to refund us given the fearful night we experienced. I do not think this is a safe hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cl10016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
158 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

This was probably the best value place we stayed in during our entire trip - certainly if you are staying 5 days or more you can get a great deal, enabling us to rent one of the more spacious rooms (unit 18) complete with large balcony with fan, kitchenette, nice bathroom with good shower, big bed, air con. The only downside is that you have to remember it is not a hotel, so reception is not staffed all the time. Carine was very helpful and friendly when she was there, but frequently wasn't around - this is not criticism, just information so others know what to expect. So the pre-ordering of pastries for breakfast wasn't always possible for example. She did give us a telephone number for emergencies, but I didn't consider the fact that I needed beach towels an emergency - so plan ahead and ask while you can! Mind you we were not there in peak season so I imagine it is less of an issue when busy (I think there were only 2 or 3 other units occupied while we were there).

Weather was very hot and humid while we were there and lots of mosquitoes - insect repellent essential. Of all the places we visited in the Caribbean (Saba, Dominica, St Barths), St Martin was definitely the worst for this. But it's the Caribbean so you have to expect it.

Plenty of places to eat locally, though the buffet at Capt Oliver's was a bit overpriced unless you are the sort of person who has many helpings. Dinghy Dock Bar nice and laid back, food nothing special but reasonable and plentiful. Good pizza at Mama Pizza but don't try to eat an entire one yourself!

Recommend a day trip to St Barths direct from Capt Oliver's and the trip to Ile Pinet from Cul de Sac, both of which are really interesting places. Snorkelling is great, but watch out for the sea urchins, which although not toxic leave spines that don't come out for weeks!

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank alchemilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We just got back from our annual two weeks in St Martin and had another great experience at Les Balcons. We have been staying there for several years and would highly recommend it. The place is in a beautiful location overlooking Oyster Pond and an easy drive to the beaches, restaurants and sights of both the Ducth and French sides.. Orient is only 10-15 minutes away. There are also several places nearby for good meals including Mama's Pizza just down the road a bit for an excellent cheap meal.
The best part of staying at Les Balcons is Carine and David who are very warm and welcoming hosts and have become good friends over the years.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toronto_Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oyster Pond
4.3 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
0.7 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
7.2 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond

Property: Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond
Address: 15 Avenue du Lagon, Oyster Pond 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Individual bungalows in Caribbean gardens with swimming pool. They are situated on beautiful Oyster Pond with a marvelous view of the marina and sail boats. You will be in a peaceful, quiet, familial and casual ambiance.Our bungalows can accommodate 2 to 5 people. Each unit has a private terrace with splendid view and barbecue grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Balcons d`Oyster Pond Hotel Oyster Pond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing