We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall great trip and nice accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Certificate of Excellence
East Haddam, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Overall great trip and nice accommodations”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

My husband and I traveled here for our first wedding anniversary. This was the 3rd time we have exchanged out through Interval. The room was small, but clean. We asked for ocean view, but they did not accommodate us even though it was their off season. The room was fine for us, as we spent a lot of time on the beach, at the pool and exploring. The activities desk was excellent. They helped us chose many of the restaurants we went to and all of them were very good. The activities desk staff were always happy, had a smile on their faces and were very helpful. They gave us maps every time we drove somewhere and often printed written directions. The main desk was average. There was one very rude bartender that we encountered on our first night and then avoided him the rest of the stay. He was very curt and seemed annoyed when I asked for a drink menu. On the last night when they hosted a farewell party, the bartenders were handing out appetizers and when I asked him what he was serving (because my husband has severe food allergies)- he said "fish"- it was a fried ball, probably some type of fish cake. I was really taken back by his attitude. When you go on vacation you want to have pleasant people serving you. On the other hand, David the bartender was very friendly, happy, talkative and made excellent drinks. He made us feel like we were on vacation again. The food average- we ate the bar food at the poolside bar and had dinner one night at Beau Beaus. The dinner was average. The buffet breakfast and dinner at Infinity were very good. The service at Beau Beaus and Infinity were very good. The pool was clean and beautiful. The beach was also very clean and they always had someone on the beach to set up chairs and an umbrella. Overall good resort and great vacation. I highly recommend renting a car at the airport (much cheaper than booking it once you get to the resort). I would also say that a GPS is probably not necessary if you have a good map. SXM is a wonderful island and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    349
    160
    41
    24
See reviews for
313
621
33
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We have been owners for about 20 years but have only been twice, most recently in May. Oyster Bay's greatest asset is its staff. They are extremely friendly and helpful. It is a beautiful location, excellent pool, small but adequate beach both with wait service. I highly recommend getting a massage at the spa-HEAVENLY!!! There is something so relaxing about being in the Caribbean. My only complaint is that we felt our room had become a bit shabby.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Beautifully built on coral reef peninsula, right beside dawn beach and with lovely infinity pool. Love the staff and who can beat happy hour delays and drinks!! David and Edith rock the bar! You must have a banana funky, frozen deliciousness!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This place is a time share and we stayed a week here. It is a very nice resort and very scenic. There is not really a great beach here, but you can access the public beach next door. It is a bit off the beaten path here so you will drive more.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Oyster Bay Beach Resort is a wonderful hotel for travelers wanting to get away from all the hustle and bustle of busy living. The resort offers a relaxed atmosphere with amenities that allow you to stay on property without having to venture elsewhere. All around, a great experience with every stay.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the ocean are great, wonderful views of the neighboring island of St. Barths
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank rtackling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

i'm also a little weary going to a new resort through a timeshare exchange and never know what to expect. My husband and I went to OBBR for a week and were thrilled with everything. We have pretty high expectations of our travel accommodations and were pleasantly surprised with this resort. The grounds and view are beautiful. The pool overlooks the ocean and we loved the open air courtyard and bar. The bar has a happy hour everyday from 4-6 with really good deals. We were in a one bedroom unit that was more than enough space for the two of us. The pool and beach both offer a beautiful view. The property is nicely located on the Dutch side (read no Euro conversion!) in an area that isn't too busy but also isn't too in the middle of nowhere. We enjoyed driving off the property for activities and dinners to then return to the resort. During our stay, we were so thrilled, we became new owners. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view or Marina view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kimm K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We may be a little biased, because we've owned for 10 years, but the special attention everyone recieves from the staff is unbeatable. Centrally located between French and Dutch sides. Beautiful Dawn Beach - FEED the FISH - They love Cheese Doodles!! Wonderful food and entertainment at Beau Beau's! Restaurants on and just off the Beach offer great fair, $1 Amstel Brites from 11am - 6pm at Busby's (really good pizza)! Great activities! Beautiful Infinity Pool, day or night! 1 BedRooms are great and amenities all within Resort. I don't think you could pick a better place!!

Room Tip: Always get 1 Bedrooms if available, comes with full kitchen,dining area and living room (pull out so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
7 Thank Bernabe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oyster Pond
0.4 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.6 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,797 reviews
5.4 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
747 reviews
3.9 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
7.2 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyster Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Bay Beach Resort

Property: Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Address: Emerald Merit Rd 10, Oyster Pond 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oyster Bay Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just south of the amicable French/Dutch divide, Oyster Bay Beach Resort awaits. Perched on a coral reef overlooking the Caribbean ocean and Oyster Pond Marina is paradise found. With breathtaking ocean views, white sand beach and countless amenities Oyster Bay Beach Resort and its sister properties, Mainsail, Spinnaker and the Lighthouse serve as your escape from the every day. Find adventure, serenity and the fullness of life at our island resort. Make Oyster Bay your next stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelUp, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Oyster Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Bay Beach Hotel Oyster Pond
Oyster Bay Beach Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing