We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“We are owners for a reason”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We came to St. Maarten in 2004 for the first time on a cruise. Our cab driver recommended Dawn Beach due to surf conditions that day. We have come back every year and for the last 4 years, 3 times a year. We own multiple weeks now at Oyster Bay Beach Resort. You may read petty reviews by people looking for something Oyster doesn't offer. Oyster offers great views, attentive staff and great food all within a mile of this resort. It is for people looking for a peaceful, relaxing break from the grind. We do not own "points" we own at Oyster Bay Beach Resort and that's what we want. If you try it, you will be impressed. If you try it and it doesn't fit your needs, don't come back. There are many of us who love this place and the type of experience it represents.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GregandSue6271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

802 - 808 of 1,248 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014


Excellent, friendly and very helpful staff made for a wonderful stay. The room was spacious well equipped and clean, the grounds are well maintained. The pool was inviting and the bar staff service was exceptional. The beach area should not be missed. Also, a visit to Beau Beaus for a meal is highly recommended. The only free wifi is in a small courtyard area. For wifi in your room, it must be purchased. If we ever return to this area of St. Maarten, we would return.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jmills19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We exchanged our timeshare week to come here, and I'm so glad we did! The resort is not huge, but plenty big enough! Many people come here year after year, so we met a few "regulars." The staff could not have been nicer. The rooms are good- clean, comfortable, and our room was cleaned every day. Don't expect a five star resort kind of room, but still great! The only thing that could have used major improvement was the pillows!:).

This is a timeshare resort, so you may be asked to attend a presentation. I've been to a lot of these presentations and can honestly say this is the most low- key, least pressure presentations I've seen. I actually enjoyed it... Unlike the one at neighboring Westin that we allowed ourselves to be suckered into watching. Be careful as they have marketing people near the entrance to oyster bay resort who will flag you down as you drive by with huge friendly smiles and "free" stuff if you watch.

The resort does a great job with activities as well. Of all the timeshare resorts I've stayed with, this one was by far the best with entertainment and activities. The beach bash is worth every penny.. So much fun!

Only had one dinner and the breakfast buffet once at the Infinity restaurant. Dinner was ok, breakfast was great!

The grounds are very well landscaped and beautiful. The pool is gorgeous! The beach area is terrific- lots of chairs and staff requests guests not horde the chairs early morning and then not show up till afternoon (much appreciated!).

There is an ATM on premises, a convenient store very close to the resort, washers/dryers (bring a roll of quarters- front desk doesn't always have change). Free wifi available in the lobby area but you can purchase for your room ($50/week). Honestly, the wifi is very slow and I found it slightly frustrating after being accustomed to much faster speed. I wish we hadn't paid the $50 and just used the available free wifi - the lobby area is very nice place to hang out anyway.

If you rent a car, don't pay extra for the jeep wranglers, convertibles, etc... Just take the cheap tiny Toyota. You'll understand once you try parking anywhere-you need tiny!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Kimberly3810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The ocean front accomodations were great. You can hear the waves crashing into the rocks below. The resort is not a huge place, which is nice because you can easily make friends among the other vacationers. We met so many new friends, and we all enjoyed going out for dinners together. There are a good amount of restaurants nearby. Since the St. Martin roads aren't the greatest, we would venture out to new locations on the island during the day, but would stay near the resort at night. Definitely rent a car. Our favorite beach was Anse Marcel. Top Notch!!!!
It was nice to walk the docks and look at the boats in the marina behind the resort. The security is good at the resort, too. The resort does a nice time welcoming their guests with both a welcome and a farewell party. They offer a lot of fun stuff all week. We would definitely consider coming back to Oyster Bay.

Room Tip: Ocean Front rooms offer a constant breeze, and ofcourse great ocean views. Watch the boats entering...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here because a friend offered her one week timeshare to us. The pictures on the internet looked nice, so why not? We paid an upgrade to have a newly renovated room and ocean view if available at check in. We were told the room was recently renovated. Where I come from a renovated room doesn't have the following:
Peeling paint
Broken blinds
Broken tiles
Corroded bathroom fixtures
Old refrigerator

Anyway it was a comfortable suite with a dinning area, kitchen, living room, and bedroom.
Don't expect daily maid service to be anything other than emptying the trash cans, wiping down the countertops, and towel service (if all towels are available). The toilet and shower were not once cleaned during the week. Really?
One thing to be aware of is that they give you four beach towels that two people would use during the day so the next day you have to wait for new ones. Why not have a towel counter so the guests can swap towels at their convenience?

The shower pressure was as low as could be so plan on spending at least fifteen minutes in the shower before getting your entire body wet.

The pool area was okay. Again don't expect any service from the staff at the pool. When I asked the pool attendant to move an umbrella I was told it could not be moved. Another day I asked for something and rather than the attendant going to get the item which was twenty feet away, I was told to go get it. Really?
Don't expect waiter service at the pool or beach. Only once during the week was I asked if I needed anything from anyone.
I would have to say it has all the physical attributes of a resort but without the management to run it like one.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
6  Thank NJtravel720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

The Oyster bay Beach Resort is in the perfect location, it's just not the perfect resort. We chose to stay there because we wanted to stay away from a big property with lots of people. This is a little property with lots of people. When we checked in on a Sunday evening around 5pm there was a big "Meet and Greet" going on in the lobby. Normally that would have been fine for us except they gave us the room directly above that space and the cigarette smoke was awful and it was very loud. Now our room was also an issue. We booked online through Travelocity and reserved and paid for an upgraded room with an "Ocean or Pool" view. This a big deal to us...because we paid extra to ensure a view. What we got was a view of the parking lot. Not even a sight of water anywhere. We immediately went back to reception and showed them our confirmation info with "Ocean or Pool View" on it and the women said "we don't have any other rooms available". I was in tears at this point. They said that the resort manager would be in the next day and we would have to wait until then. My husband alerted Travelocity and we waited...unfortunately our first day and night was awful. The next day the hotel manager moved us to a room with a view and the rest of the trip was better. The restaurants were reasonably priced, the food was good, the staff (other than the women at reception when we checked in) was friendly. We love Dawn Beach and am sure that if you are an "Owner" at this timeshare location, you will love it. For us it turned out fine but starting your trip like that was not fun.

Room Tip: You definitely want room with a view and I'm sure there are plenty of them. It's just whet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawnchristie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Were treated great there.The staff makes my wife and I feel special. Many resorts are bigger and have great amentities but oyster bay has people that truly make you feel welcome. My wife has had 3 cancer surgeries this year and wanted to return because this place went out of their way to make sure she had a great vacation.Ninoska the manager and bartenders and pool staff treat us like family.I appreciate not being treated like just another tourist with a credit card but someone they are happy to see come spend time with them.Betsy and John

Room Tip: Ocean views are great and there are plenty
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oyster Pond
0.4 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.6 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,816 reviews
0.4 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
3.9 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
7.2 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyster Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Bay Beach Resort

Address: Emerald Merit Rd 10, Oyster Pond 97150, St Martin / St Maarten
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range: $196 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oyster Bay Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just south of the amicable French/Dutch divide, Oyster Bay Beach Resort awaits. Perched on a coral reef overlooking the Caribbean ocean and Oyster Pond Marina is paradise found. With breathtaking ocean views, white sand beach and countless amenities Oyster Bay Beach Resort and its sister properties, Mainsail, Spinnaker and the Lighthouse serve as your escape from the every day. Find adventure, serenity and the fullness of life at our island resort. Make Oyster Bay your next stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Oyster Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Bay Beach Hotel Oyster Pond
Oyster Bay Beach Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing