We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Certificate of Excellence
Orange, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply the Best!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this resort a few weeks ago for our honeymoon. My family owns at another resort on the island and we traded out to this one. We are SO happy we did. For the 10 years that my family has owned on the island, we've been content with our home location, which is an older property, because we aren't high maintenance.

Well, OBB has shown me the error of our ways. My husband and I travel several times a year using my timeshare and have never had such a wonderful experience at any other resort!

The staff is friendly, attentive and extremely personable. Now don't confuse this with "it's their job," no no. They are genuine and I think it's because they love their jobs and where they work.

The resort is just beautiful and offers many entertainment options on and off-site. We loved it so much that we purchased a timeshare directly from that property.

Amazing views, great restaurants, awesome infinity pool and great location.

Room Tip: Ocean views will blow you away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    349
    160
    41
    24
See reviews for
313
622
33
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Went there with my hubby for our honeymoon!! Where to begin? The staff was excellent, The room was clean and amenities were great, the beach was awesome! The food was good we ate at both hotel restaurants, and overall it was a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pnp08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week in August. Our first impression of the Resort was that everyone was extremely hospitable. We were greeted promptly and checked into our room. Our room had an amazing view. We were fortunate enough to get a suite overlooking the Caribbean ocean. The resort is tucked away in the Northern part of the Dutch side and has several great restaurants within walking distance. I would highly recommend venturing out on the island and taking advantage of the concierge service. All in all, this was a great vacation for the price. Airfare was pricey coming from the West coast, but the people we met made it worth it!

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room overlooking the ocean as not all rooms have this option available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just spent a week here and had an overall positive experience,
Resort was clean, pool was beautiful, staff was friendly and helpful, rooms well appointed . We were in the Mainsail building and our balcony overlooked the ocean. We felt like we were on a cruise when we sat out and had our coffee in the morning.
We had everything we needed in our studio accomodation..even New York TV stations.
The negatives for me were the beach, it was pretty, but had seaweed and waves...I enjoy calm; and the location. We enjoy going out and exploring, but it was quite a drive to anywhere. Also the safety of the island after dark was questionable, so dinner outtings were more limited.
Overall, a pretty island with some interesting history and sights. If I was to return I would definately consider staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MFSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baird, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I just returned from a week's stay on the island. What a delightful time. The staff was outstanding and the activities as well. I traveled with 4 senior ladies and we had a blast. We felt completely safe and by the 2nd day everyone was calling us the Golden Girls from Texas. Boy, do we look forward to a return trip, God willing.

Room Tip: Book early and reserve a room over looking the ocean. We were on the 3rd floor which was my fault as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank JudyG8201941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This resort is our yearly spot during April. Festival times. First, let me tell you that the staff is five stars. They treat you like they know you for years and some have even remember our names after a day.

The resort provides daily activities, so if you follow their plan, you will stay somewhat busy. However, we mainly go there for the beaches and relax under the sun.

Some rooms are updated, they are still working on renovating all. Ask for a renovated room. We stayed in one last year (2012) that was not and the TV was antiquated, and so was the decor. But this year a new fresh day. Pleasant room.

Cab vs car rentals. Depending on what your objectives are, or how much you plan to move around, a rental car is best option if you are going places. Cabs fairs will overwhelm you, as most of the main attractions are on the French side. A good 15-20 minutes. We love to stay here and evening plan on the French side, and the beaches on the French side as well. Great eating places on this Dutch side where Oyster Bay is on. But there are great places to eat all over. That I leave up to you. Everyone's taste buds are different.

I hope this helps. As we have been coming here now about 5 years in a row.

Room Tip: As for a good room, ask for the view that you want. Try to stay away from units near elevators. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We visited St. Maarten through a trade with Interval for our Diamond Resorts timeshare. We stayed from Saturday to Saturday. We visited the middle of August, which was a bit disappointing, due to the temperature. Yet, there was a wonderful breeze from the ocean that cools you down when you're not in the pool or at the beach. We had an excellent ocean and pool view from our first floor balcony. The two-bedroom unit was clean, comfortable and recently redecorated. Everyone at the resort was very friendly and accommodating, and we found the service to be excellent. The infinity pool is lovely and the beach is also quite nice. There are several very good restaurants within walking distance, and the meals that we ate at the Resort (only breakfast) were pretty good. We did rent a car (large van...6 persons) and drove quite a bit around the island, which was fun, although the driving is interesting on the narrow roads winding (designed for small cars), I would definitely welcome a return to Oyster Bay and highly recommend it. One complaint - water pressure, although it was not the Resort fault. The Resort had plenty of activities scheduled: welcome party, bus tour, private beach visit, and many more activities.

Room Tip: Request a pool and ocean view room......views are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oyster Pond
0.4 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.6 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,799 reviews
5.4 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
747 reviews
3.9 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
7.2 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyster Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Bay Beach Resort

Property: Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Address: Emerald Merit Rd 10, Oyster Pond 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oyster Bay Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just south of the amicable French/Dutch divide, Oyster Bay Beach Resort awaits. Perched on a coral reef overlooking the Caribbean ocean and Oyster Pond Marina is paradise found. With breathtaking ocean views, white sand beach and countless amenities Oyster Bay Beach Resort and its sister properties, Mainsail, Spinnaker and the Lighthouse serve as your escape from the every day. Find adventure, serenity and the fullness of life at our island resort. Make Oyster Bay your next stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Oyster Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Bay Beach Hotel Oyster Pond
Oyster Bay Beach Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing