We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't Ask For A Better Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oyster Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Oyster Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Emerald Merit Rd 10, Oyster Pond 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE DINNER FOR 2-$75 val
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Certificate of Excellence
NORTH CAROLINA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Couldn't Ask For A Better Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Our stay at the OBBR was from Nov 10th thru the 17th. We have been visiting St Maarten since the mid 80's and I just have to say that the people that work here at the OBBR are the nicest that we've met yet! We were greeted champagne upon checking in and they let us check out 2 rooms before choosing. Although we could have stayed in the newly renovated building, we chose to stay in the older one which was fine and had a great view of the marina. Our room was supplied with fresh towels every day and we always had coffee to brew. We normally stay on the other side of the Island and was a little concerned about being so far away from everything. Well we had such an enjoyable stay that we can't wait to return. Oh and by the way...This was a trade through Interval Inernational.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MIMI05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Mahwah, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I have been coming to St Maarten for 24 yrs, and Oyster Bay Beach Resort for past 8 years ( I became an owner of a timeshare there after first stay. Besides a great property, rooms and pool it has one of the best staffs of any island resort. Two standouts: Nina who manages the front desk ( they must have thought of her when they named St Maarten "The Friendly Island") and Precious who is a housekeeper. I have stayed at the Fairmount in Barbados, the St James Club in Antigua ( 20 yrs ago when it was a top resort) and the Hyatt in Aruba, and I would choose OOBBR over any of them. The Westin Dawn Beach has a casino which is fun but thats about it. Westins Dawn beach could be any where in the USA nothing that makes you feel like you are in St Maarten. I just got back yesterday from a 10 day stay at Oyster Bay and I'm sad to have left! The staff makes you feel like family and when you leave like you are leaving your family behind. If you are thinking of going to St Maarten you really should give Oyster Bay Beach Resort a try.......you might just fall in love with the Island,resort and staff like my wife and I have.

Room Tip: Every room has its own great view! the marina , the ocean or beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DJW777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed at OBBR Nov 10 - 17th. We had traded two 2 bedroom units through Interval Exchange so were very unsure what condition the units would be in after reading all the reviews. First let me say that OBBR called us a few days prior to our arrival to ask if we had any special requests. (That was a first from any timeshare property we have booked!) I just requested 2 units close together and one of them preferably on a lower floor since we had an older guest. We arrived on Saturday afternoon and there was free champagne in the lobby as we waited to check-in which was a very nice touch. We were then escorted to our units, which were a building apart, one unit on the first floor (per request) and the second unit on the 2nd floor. BOTH OCEANFRONT!!!!! We could literally look over our balconies to the ocean below! It was absolutely stunning and a wonderful surprise. The units had both been updated and were lovely.

Staff was very friendly, housekeeping came each day, and mid-week changed all the sheets.

Beach was very nice but prone to wind & seaweed. We never had a problem finding chairs & umbrellas.

There are two restaurants on property - Infinity & Beau-Beau's. Within walking distance is Big Fish, Canoa, and Daniel's by the Sea. On the other side of the marina (French side) are a few more restaurants (you would need car).

We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend - but if you do choose this property note that you must have a rental car so you can explore!

Room Tip: We were in Building 25 & 26. Great location and updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasTBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ USA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We absolutely love, love, love OBBR. Just came home, and can't wait to go back. The improvements made over the past few years are great - from the newly redone pool and hot tub, to the free WiFi in the courtyard. Even though we were not lucky to get one of the remodeled rooms, the "older" rooms are still decent enough and OUR VIEW was probably the best on the island - On top of the coral reef overlooking St Barth. The staff was, as always, attentive, friendly and helpful - from the chamber maid to the guy at the beach, the front desk staff to the security guards who open the gate.

One minor inconvenience was the new towel policy - no towel service at the beach or pool. So if you want fresh towels, you must leave your beach towels in the room and the maid exchanges them. I understand that this new policy is not just for cost saving, but also for the environmental impact. However it was not done with the guests' best interest in mind. Not that convenient if you'd like a fresh set after a little passing sun shower got your towels all wet. Having said that, a simple phone call to housekeeping in the morning before you head out, and you got fresh towels 10 minutes later.

Overall, OBBR is not a 5 star resort (and does not claim to be) with all the services of a mega resort, it is still by far, the most beautiful and laid back resort in St Maarten, with just enough services to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable.

Be back soon!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JakeLat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Here for nine nights. Love the staff, Nina and Yuan at the front were exceptional and helpful. Brenda needs to work on her guest skill, comes across as agh, another problem guest. Dawn beach was just perfect, clean and not crowded. Pool was great. Usually stay at Hyatt and Marriott properties, really appreciate this size resort. Beautiful grounds and views, make sure you get an updated room. Concierge was helpful, but not outgoing or energetic. Wanda at the pool was awesome. Pool and ocean chairs available even during Thanksgiving holiday week. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We are owners and bought a timeshare unit after our first visit. Each year Oyster Bay has worked hard to improve an already nice resort. We especially liked the lighting around the pool at night: check out their webcam to see! Dawn Beach anchors the resort at one end and a cute marina on the other. There is music and appetizers served many nights.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lawton1osuedu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Bought a week's timeshare at a charity auction (Camp Good Days, please support!) and believe we were one of the last flights to make it onto the island before they shut the airport down. It was our first visit to the resort and St. Maarten, so neither of us knew what to expect.
Resort staff were very accomodating right from first point of contact. Free rum punch was flowing in lobby while guests were checked in, accomodations for activities throughout the week was pointed out to us (both on resort and off) and then we finally checked into our ocean front, ground floor one bedroom condo.
Very spacious, clean and stocked with all kitchen/dining tools of the trade. Then the storm hit! Waves crashing up over the retaining wall, vertical rain....slight flooding in living room from patio doors but nothing more severe that a couple of strategically placed towels coudn't fix. With weather like that, there wasn't much point in driving off resort to explore the rest of the island (we rented a car, which was great for later in the week) so we spent the first three days pretty much on resort. Multiple dining options (two restaurants on resort, three right off resort, plus mini-mart to buy and serve your own mini-meals in your condo), as well as daily activities (mostly involving drinking) on resort, kept us busy for the first couple days.
Once storm passed, car rental took us to the rest of the island (though first timers could be very content staying on resort only for 5-7 day visit.

Room Tip: We had one bedroom, ground floor, ocean front, end unit....perfection! No foot traffic in front, pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oyster Pond
3.4 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.6 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 stars 1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 stars 597 reviews
5.4 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
#4 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 790 reviews
3.8 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyster Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Bay Beach Resort

Address: Emerald Merit Rd 10, Oyster Pond 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oyster Bay Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just south of the amicable French/Dutch divide, Oyster Bay Beach Resort awaits. Perched on a coral reef overlooking the Caribbean ocean and Oyster Pond Marina is paradise found. With breathtaking ocean views, white sand beach and countless amenities Oyster Bay Beach Resort and its sister properties, Mainsail, Spinnaker and the Lighthouse serve as your escape from the every day. Find adventure, serenity and the fullness of life at our island resort. Make Oyster Bay your next stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and West Indies so you can book your Oyster Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Bay Beach Hotel Oyster Pond
Oyster Bay Beach Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing