We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stellar Time x2”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stellar Time x2”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is was my second visit to OBBR and SXM both times visited during the month of October. It is a lovely place with very relaxing views of the Atlantic. Both visits I stayed in an ocean view suite. The suite was nicely decorated, well furnished and clean. The pool is awesome with great views!!! and you meet the most FUN people there !!!! A shout out to David and Edith who provided excellent service during the evening hours at the bar. Also enjoyed dinner at Beau Beau's with a wonderful friendly staff. The entire staff is pleasant and ready to serve your every need! IF you rent a car, I HIGHLY recommend investing ($20) in a street guide (purchased at airport) as the maps from the rental car agency are not that detailed. If you are an adventurer, you will need a map to find the awesome beaches on SXM. Also, I recommend spending a night or at least a day trip to Anguilla. We took the ferry over (need passport!) spent one night and enjoyed 2 of the most pristine beaches!! Shoal Bay and Meads Bay! Well worth the trip!!!! Thanks OBBR for yet another awesome time!!

Room Tip: Ocean View is lovely for sunrise and early morning coffee on your lanai!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teeny307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    343
    152
    41
    23
See reviews for
305
606
33
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

this a bit of a odd resort. very small pool for the size, the studio's are extremely small and furnature a bit dated. my studio, the room was under repair, yet, was given to me by the front desk; mirror on the floor as was the hair dryernthat was supposed to be attached to the wall. a huge spot on the celing was patched over and unpainted. apparently maintenence forgot to tell the front desk they hadnt completed in the room. never the less, i stayed but was called by management to ask if i wanted to change rooms as the maintenence guy who came to room when i called reported to them what i encountered. they hung the mirror and hair dryer the next day. the shape of the resort leaves some buildings facing other buildings vs the ocean or marina. the beach is off to the side of the prioerty, dawn beach. overall a odd vibe to the place. check in was much easier than checkout. long line with only 2 people at desk. i gave up and left trying to use their sppedy checkout box, was interrupted and paperwork kinda snatched from me by a semi flusterd front desk person; probably due to the long line. this part of the island is on the dutch-french border. not alot nearby, there are some restaraunts. better have a car or deep pockets for cab fare. at night, the road is very dark leading to this part of the island. they do have a front gate with ample security guards there.

Room Tip: ask for room on the water, not one of the buildings inback of them, and a high floor. but, no eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flatanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Overall, our stay at the resort is fantastic.

Loads of activities to do for the week.

There's one grocery within the premises (although items are a bit pricey).

Wifi access inside the room didn't work despite paying $50 for a week's access. Had to refund what we paid for. So we needed to hangout at the lobby for internet access.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harold L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, MN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We've stayed on 2 previous occassions. This time (10/6 - 10/13) we were able to get and ocean view (3rd floor). The view is fine but a bit boring. Nice breezes off the ocean etc. However, if we go back for a 4th visit, we'll ask for a bay view again.

Only a few glitches - first off we had a festation of very small ants on the kitchen counter. We called the front desk and the gal merely said "Use Flit". After a thorough cleaning of the counter with soap and water and a little elbow grease, the problem resolved itself. Apparently the maids where too busy to or in too much of a hurry to clean up after the pervious guests. I suspect someone made some sweet, fruity drinks with the blender and slopped a little on the counter.

Second problem - and this was much more aggrivating. I had a special DVD I'd taken on vacation to view but to my dismay the cable from the DVD player to the TV was totally shot. I called down to the desk on Sunday morning and was assured "Somebody will be there to check on it" but no one ever showed up. Monday I went down to the desk and was again assured someone would check on it. Sill no action. Tuesday I again complained about the situation and this time a maintenance person did show up. This fellow looked at the frayed end of the HDMI connection and the look on his face told me immediately he didn't have a clue - it was almost comical. I knew right away that the extent of his knowledge was to check and make sure things were plugged into the power outlet. He said he'd return to fix the cable. On returning from the beach a few hours later I surprised that the cable was no longer hanging down. "Oh boy" I thought "Now I can watch my DVD. But my hopes were dashed when I checked behind the TV and sure enought the maintainance guy only shoved it up where it wouldn't be seen. I've posted a few pictures here on tripadvisor.

Other than that we had a fine time at Dawn Beach (although there was a bid of sea weed) and made a trip to Orient Beach as well. For me the highlight was the sunrise on Monday morning. Picture also posted here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrZ100MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
198 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Arrived at 9:30pm on Friday. Explained we hadn't eaten but wanted to check in and clean up before dinner. However, since the main restaurant was already closed we were told to rush to their beach bar if we wanted any service. Limited menu items even at 10pm at a "resort" so went back to check in. Room assigned smelled and the a/c was broken so went back to front desk and was told they were now closed so no room change could be made and we should contact a specific person in morning. Horrible night with smell, heat and humidity which a/c could have helped take care of. Next morning the person did not show for work at 9am but told no one else could handle room change. Finally arrived at 2pm so our day was wasted. Told new room had been cleaned but when escorted to room discovered water all over floor since patio doors had been left open during storm. 2nd room was clean so took it but when we tried a/c it to did not work. About an hour later maintenance finally came and put nre batteries in remote to make it work. Due to Rafael storm, it was necessary to stay in room a lot but TV was broken. Reported it at 4:30pm and called back 2 times before they came to fix at 9:30pm....5 hours later. The negative reports on many sites had given us some concerns about this hotel we were obtained through Interval International. We should have listened to them and chosen a different hotel in St Maarten. Worst hotel on a beautiful island.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Travellers1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island,NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had a great trip to St. Maarten once again, with most of our time spent at OBBR. The weather Saturday thru Monday was iffy due to a tropical storm, but that didn't stop us from having a great time. David and Edith at the bar are fantastic, especially on Sunday with the football crowd in the rain! The pool guys, Yohan and Vic are right there to set you up when the sun comes out. The front desk, activities folks, even our room service from Chandell was fantastic. Our two bedroom suite overlooking the pool and the ocean was outstanding. The pool renovations were completed on time, and we even met the young guys who did the work and bought them a drink! We met new friends, and hope to keep them... all in all it was a great vacation, and what makes it great are the people you meet both working at the resort and staying at the resort! See you all next year!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimMcC58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas, USVI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We upgraded from a studio to 1 bedroom and were so glad we did! The unit was renovated with tropical blue greens and white trim, very sharp and well done. Very comfortable living room with 50" flat screen T.V., used it a lot as we were there during tropical storm Rafael, which lasted nearly 4 days! Housekeeping was fabulous, replacing towels and tidying up and making the bed daily.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Shreks_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oyster Pond
0.4 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.6 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
0.4 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
3.9 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
4.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyster Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Bay Beach Resort

Property: Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Address: Emerald Merit Rd 10, Oyster Pond 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oyster Bay Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just south of the amicable French/Dutch divide, Oyster Bay Beach Resort awaits. Perched on a coral reef overlooking the Caribbean ocean and Oyster Pond Marina is paradise found. With breathtaking ocean views, white sand beach and countless amenities Oyster Bay Beach Resort and its sister properties, Mainsail, Spinnaker and the Lighthouse serve as your escape from the every day. Find adventure, serenity and the fullness of life at our island resort. Make Oyster Bay your next stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oyster Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Bay Beach Hotel Oyster Pond
Oyster Bay Beach Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing