We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island Paradise at Oyster Bay Beach Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, Connecticut, United States
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Island Paradise at Oyster Bay Beach Resort”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

For the best resort experience this is the place to stay. This is a beautiful resort with awesome service. You'll find everything you need right there or very close by. This is definitely St. Maarten and the Caribean's #1 resort.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms have fantastic views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank PDawson_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    352
    165
    41
    24
See reviews for
318
629
34
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerton, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My wife and I have owned here since 2004, it truly is our second home. The staff is like family, and we always leave making new friends. It's the BETTER vacation...... Great job guys, counting the days to our next trip!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank Duane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The newly renovated resort is beautiful. The service was so-so. There is no beach at this resort, although Dawn Beach on the Atlantic side of the island is a neighbor. Unfortunately, there is a MASSIVE seaweed problem, and the water is so rough it's virtually impossible to swim. The seaweed smells and some days it's knee deep. To their credit, they're moving it daily--with a front end loader!
If you like swimming at a pool, this is the place for you. But if you want to swim in the sea or snorkel, you'll need to rent a car and head over to Simpson Bay area to get away from the sea weed. It's all over the French beaches, which are nearby, but they aren't moving it out like the Dutch.
Finally, you will be assessed a daily energy "tax" by OBBR which amounts to paying $7/day for your electricity.

Room Tip: Ask to be near the pool--it's the only place to sun and swim.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LvsBdsBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We just returned from a week on St Martin and again stayed at OBBR (this is our 4th time). We have stayed at other timeshares on St Martin as well as other islands in the Caribbean and OBBR is definitely our favorite.The last two times we have been lucky enough to have a 2 bedroom over looking the ocean/pool and you can't beat the view. The trade off was our unit has not yet been updated but everything worked and it was clean. We always find the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. The only downfall is with checking out - there are only 3 people and everyone is trying to leave at the same time because of flight - I'd suggest adding more people or create an simple express checkout process (this might require changing the check in process some but might be worth it). One word of caution - upon existing the resort (near Mr Busby's driveway) some guys from the Westin will try and stop your car, give you a scratch off and when you "win" whatever it is you get to collect your winnings that day at the Westin. Stupidly we fell for it the first time and it was a pain trying to get away without being rude. After that it just became an irritant...so, word to the wise, don't stop with the try and flag you down. That aside rain or shine OBBR is a grand time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ruthieCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We arrived on a Saturday from Anguilla and what a disappointment the beach was, small & covered in seaweed. But when we got to our room, it was very nice, brand new furniture, nice linens and clean and happy. We quickly realized a rental car was a must, rented from onsite- expect $200/ week. As we explored the island and did site inspections, favorite beaches were Grand Case, orient beach (windy & wavy), and isle of Pinel.

The pool was very dirty & hot tub I barely wanted to put a toe in, by Wed. It was cleaned and the whole family spent the afternoon in it. Great happy hour 4-6 everyday, and local restaurants nothing too exciting, Busbys next door was very good as well as convent, grocery next door. Expect a request for a timeshare pitch, but it's not pushed too hard. Activities desk was very helpful and worked with me to ensure best values and experiences as I would be writing about them. FYI, many ocean-front rooms are being renovated, so we had the marina view - which was lovely.

Room Tip: Ask if your room has been renovated. Unless you don't mind the noise, I would not request pool-s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Travelabundance_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Iowa, USA
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We've stayed at Oyster Bay Beach Resort for thirteen years, usually for two weeks at a time. You can be free to explore the island by renting a car on-site or from many other sources at or near the airport or the resort Activities Desk offers many options for transportation and island exploration as well. On-site restaurants are great and there are also many near-by opportunities as well ranging from quaint French to pizza or more upscale. There is an on-site day spa that offers all services and a massage is always a great way to begin a relaxed vacation. The adjoining Dawn Beach offers free chairs and umbrellas for resort guests and relaxing strolls and, if you're so inclined, an easy way to enjoy the water world by snorkeling from the beach. Most units have been totally updated under the guidance of professional decorators and with the latest updates in amenities. A truly relaxing get-away! Check out the extensive website at http://www.oysterbaybeachresort.com/.

Room Tip: There are many ocean-facing rooms or the more tranquil marina-facing views. All the units are of co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SXMfoodie612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We've stayed here twice as a time share guests and once as a non-time share guest. We loved it all three times. We do get slightly better treatment when we are staying with our time share owners.

The staff is extremely friendly, the food is fantastic and there is always something going on. I love the view of St. Barth's from the infinity pool.

I just wish Dawn Beach would clear up, but you can't blame OBBR for Mother Nature.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Travel-a-lot-gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oyster Pond
0.4 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.6 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,804 reviews
5.4 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
751 reviews
3.9 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
7.2 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyster Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Bay Beach Resort

Property: Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Address: Emerald Merit Rd 10, Oyster Pond 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oyster Bay Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just south of the amicable French/Dutch divide, Oyster Bay Beach Resort awaits. Perched on a coral reef overlooking the Caribbean ocean and Oyster Pond Marina is paradise found. With breathtaking ocean views, white sand beach and countless amenities Oyster Bay Beach Resort and its sister properties, Mainsail, Spinnaker and the Lighthouse serve as your escape from the every day. Find adventure, serenity and the fullness of life at our island resort. Make Oyster Bay your next stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, West Indies, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oyster Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Bay Beach Hotel Oyster Pond
Oyster Bay Beach Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing