We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay Food with Poor Service”
Review of Canoa

Canoa
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Oyster Pond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $38
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Okay Food with Poor Service”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We tried this the other night after having a great meal across the street at Big Fish. Pretty disappointing . . . . Like others we were asked about reservations and received a frustrated look when we didn't but there were plenty of open tables. We were seated, handed menus then no one showed up for approximately 15 minutes. Finally the hostess took our drink order and eventually our dinner order. We then waited 45 min for our dinner to arrive. I had the shrimp which were good but the sides were really bland. My wife had the seafood pasta and it was good but not great. After dinner we waited another 20 min to get someone to bring us our check. Like others things seemed very disorganized. Overall not a great experience . . . . okay food, bad service at a high price. We've eaten at a lot of restaurants on St Martin and by far this was the worst.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    604
    280
    87
    31
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Well worth a try”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended to us by the Westin concierge so we gave it a go. We were not disappointed with either the food or the service. It was surprising to read the comments from other patrons who have had a less than pleasant customer experience mainly to do with the service. We had the Red Snapper and Oyster Bay Seafood Pasta. Both were served hot; they were quite tasty and nicely presented (the snapper more so than the pasta). The only criticism is the fact that they did not ask us what we wanted to drink apart from still or sparking water to start us off. Strange really as we are certain there is a lot of money to be made on drinks rather than on food. They missed out on that one.

Helpful?
Thank Ivy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Was hoping for so much more”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I'd read the very positive reviews before traveling to St. Maarten, so I was taken aback by my experience. We arrived when they opened at 5:30 p.m., and the restaurant, while open, didn't seem ready for customers. We were asked if we had reservations, which we didn't, and were eventually seated outside overlooking the water. The customers who arrived behind us were lectured briefly on the benefits of making a reservation in advance. Our waitress clearly didn't want to be working, and we overheard lots of loud talking amongst the staff, best described as bickering. They seemed extremely disorganized, as if no one knew their exact role. The food was good, not great, and costly enough to have wished for a better overall experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeachLoverMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good spot at Oyster Pond”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

On our first night in Oyster Pond we chose to stay local for dinner. Ventured to Canoa.

Had a great meal. Mix of Mahi Mahi, chicken and shrimp for the meals. Dessert was great. Ambiance was awesome as we sat outside at the Marina.

Value was quite fair for the great meal we had.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garth1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loxley, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Ok”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Service was good, meal was acceptable. Wine selections were not so good. Manager said that the restaurant was switching distributors and unable to offer all wines on current list.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DDG1552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canoa also viewed

Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
 
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Canoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing