We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, need more staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Canoa

Canoa
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Oyster Pond
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Turner Valey, Alberta
Level Contributor
280 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Great food, need more staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Overall our visit was very pleasant. We were seated out by the water where they turn the lights on the water so you can watch the fish. Very nice. Our appetizer was a Plantain Canoa which is a plantain stuffed with sausage and topped with melted cheese. For something I have never tried before, it was pretty good. My main course was lamb chops with garlic mashed potatoes which was very good. My husband had the mango mahi mahi which he enjoyed. The service was a bit slow but the waitress mentioned that they were understaffed. Whatever, we weren't in a hurry. I also recommend making a reservation as well.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leahsxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    573
    270
    86
    30
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food, Horrible Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Reserved a table here for our last night in St Maarten, got seated right away, had cocktails and appetizers,no problem. We then sat for over one hour with no entrée arriving. server came to table several times to say the meal would be right out. We got up to leave, attempted to pay check for appetizers & drinks to hostess and tell her we were not happy with the wait. She asked us to let her check what was happening and said our meals would be coming out in 2 minutes, so would we please wait, which we did. Their only apology was a free drink, which we didn't even want. One would think, they would have at least discounted our meal( not looking for a freebie). The food was excellent, but I'm afraid that we won't ever return, even though we stay at the resort next door every year.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deedee29501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We went to Canoa the first night we were there. The food was excellent and the service good. We returned on our last night hoping for a repeat. We were very disappointed and disgruntled. The restaurant was busy. We had to wait a half hour despite a reservation. That happens so we did not mind. However the service that night was HORRIBLE. Our waitress did not know menu at all. She ignored us for an hour. We had to wait an hour and forty minutes at our table before our meal arrived. Two of the five meals were not warm anymore. The food was tasty but the overall experience and the horrendous service left a bad taste in our mouth. We will not return to this restaurant and we would not recommend it. Such a shame becaues they have the potential to be a five star restaurant.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Choudharyfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, average food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Can't beat the water side seating and marina view, but thought the food rather average. My seafood stew was in a red sauce that was dead ringer for Ragu or Prego brands...that said, the shellfish and mahi mani were cooked PERFECTLY.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Illinois
Level Contributor
309 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Really good food, fun atmosphere on the pier at Oyster Pond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful meal of fresh seafood sitting out on the pier looking out at the boats and water. Our food was very good. The service was attentive and friendly. There are not an abundance of restaurants in this area of St. Martin so we are glad we discovered Canoa.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TwoGrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canoa also viewed

Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Canoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing