We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in st martin”
Review of Canoa

Canoa
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Oyster Pond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $38
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best meal in st martin”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

I must give it up to Canoa, the 5 star rating is well deserved. My newly minted husband had the porkchop (juicy and flavorful, best porkchop hes had. Right up there with nopa in sf). And I had the oysterpond seafood linguine. Portions are very generous here, but we still managed to clean off our plates! Sadly left no room for dessert. I'm staying at princess heights, and walked down the hill, but not walking friendly at all. My husband had a flashlight on his phone and waved it in the air as we walked for safety. There should be a walking road from westin and PH to oyster pond restaurants.

From my week stay in anguilla and week stay in st martin on the french side, canoa was my favorite meal of the trip!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travellingbug95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    608
    282
    89
    32
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Rated #1 in Oyster Pond and deserving of it”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed at the Westin and needed to find local dinning alternatives. Found several choices on Trip Advisor and was glad to have them. Canoa listed as #1 was very good in different ways. The food was quite good. The owner and the hostess paid attention to each table and any comments or suggestions were considered and acted upon. Nice atmosphere on waterfront setting. Service was on slow side but this is not New York. It's so close to the Westin and so much better getting out of the hotel is a no brainer. For anyone nearby interested in quality dinning and concerned ownership give Canoa a try.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bob f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great dinner, Fresh Fish!”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Great meal, great service, and you can sit on the water. We reserved a table outside on the water and enjoyed the view up into the hills and the villas all lit up at night. Waitress was wonderful and everyone was so friendly.
Make a point of eating here if you are n the Oyster Pond/Dawn Beach area!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Canoa has great food”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We were glad we checked out Canoa on our last night on the island. It's food is really delicious. If you call for outdoor seating, its worth it, the views are great and you can see the fish and crabs in the pond active at night. If you stay near dawn beach, you have to visit Canoa.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JBC1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best restaurant on this side of the Island”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

If you are staying in this area, there really aren't many restaurant options. You really have to go to the French side for good food. But since we were staying in this remote area, we were so relieved to find Canoa. We are spoiled New Yorkers, and tend to be very critical since restaurants are a way of life in NY. We dined at Canoa once just my husband and I, but then brought our 2 kids and babysitter back a second time in our one week stay in St. Maarten. Great salads. Great fish. Everything is prepared beautifully. The chefs pay attention to detail. I had the grilled grouper. Excellent. My husband and I were able to order their tropical salad, greek salad, and wedge salads between the two nights we dined, and they were all amazing. I really wished they were open for lunch for this reason. I wanted great salads with fresh fish for lunch. Could not find it anywhere in this area. It's all chicken and ribs and heavy caesar salads. When I'm on the ocean, I want fresh fish. There is also this other odd thing happening in this part of the island: Italian food everywhere--really really really bad italian food on every menu. Who wants eggplant parm in the Carribean? Canoa sticks to local fare with a NY flair. I tried the plantain appetizer that everyone raves about.
The only negative statement I'll make (because I would eat here every day of my vacation), is that this app tried too hard. There was a lot going on in this dish between sweet plantains, tangy tomato sauce, salty parmasan cheese, and heavy ground beef. It was so heavy, I was glad I was only having a salad with mahi mahi as my main course (which was perfect). We ate at neighboring restaurants which charged the same as Canoa, but were highly disappointing. Service wise--a little slow. This is not coming from people demanding everything in a new york minute either. Both times I ordered Chardonnay, and both times it was forgotten. The wait staff (although lovely and friendly) are not the most organized. In New York, great restaurants are ALWAYS on top of what you are drinking--eager to get you wine/liquor since these are huge money makers for a restaurant. I was begging for a second glass of chardonnay both visits. I guess you just really have to give in to the whole laid back carribean culture. Eat here. You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheryl o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canoa also viewed

Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Canoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing