We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Princess Heights Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel La Plantation(Orient Bay)(Great Value!)
$167
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sol Hotel(Oyster Pond)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Colombus Hotel(Oyster Pond)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Esmeralda Resort(Orient Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (765)
Filter reviews
765 results
Traveler rating
527
189
28
13
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
527
189
28
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdawn beachnew buildingrental carfull kitchenmarble floorssecond buildingflights of stairsdiving boardliving roomgreat condobig fishgrand caseno elevatorgated communitysmall gymfront officejetted tub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
357 - 362 of 765 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I spent five nights at the Princess Heights (March 25-30) while I attended a conference at the Westin down the road. I usually try to stay at hotels in the Hilton family but there is no Hilton group hotel on the island. When deciding where to stay, I looked at Trip Advisor reviews and saw the PH had a good rating. I opted for the PH over the Westin because I wanted a room with multiple bedrooms.

BOOKING:
I made my booking through the Princess Heights webpage and received a confirmation within minutes. You have to make a 50% deposit at the time of booking.

CHECKIN:
The reception office is a bit cramped but check-in was quick and easy. We were checked in by Frederik who was very helpful and polite. The main hotel is a bit of a drive from the check-in location but Frederik drove up with us to make sure that we could find our way. We were shown to our room and given a complete tour of the room and all of it's facilities. The entire process took no more than five minutes.

THE ROOM:
The room was great! We had a two bedroom apartment which was comprised of a one bedroom apartment and a kitchenette apartment hence we had a full kitchen and a smaller kitchen as well as two bedrooms (each with a king bed), two bathrooms and a living room with a pull out couch and a separate chair that also pulled out into a bed. Each bedroom had a flat screen TV and the living room had a flat screen TV with a DVD player. There was a patio with excellent views of Dawn beach and the ocean coming off of the living room and each bedroom. The patio had two sun chairs as well as table with four chairs. The kitchen is fully stocked with dishes as well as a microwave and dishwasher. Upon arrival we were given complementary water and soda. The rooms were very tidy and the daily maid service was excellent.

IN-ROOM AMENITIES:
As mentioned above, there is a fully stocked kitchen with a refrigerator, dish washer and microwave. There are three flat screen televisions as well as a DVD player. Each bedroom had a selection of books and the bathrooms were stocked with standard hotel amenities (soap, shampoo, conditioner, body wash). Maid service was daily.

ONSITE/NEARBY FACILITIES:
There is a pool as well as a small gym on site with a treadmill, an elliptical trainer as well as free weights. The Westin is also down the road so facilities like the spa (which I utilized) are readily available. Dawn Beach is also within walking distance and is a public access beach (though you have to rent chairs). The PH staff (at the front desk) were very helpful in making recommendations for restaurants and activities and they were able to book most activities on the islands.

Overall, I would definitely recommend the PH and I will definitely stay there when I come back to Saint Maarten. The value for money was excellent, the room and facilities were nice and the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficePH, Manager at Princess Heights Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Guest, Thanks for such a complete review on yout staty at Princess Heights! We are happy you found your accommodation really comfortable.

Your comments are definitely helpful to provide future guest a feeling of what our hotel is in terms of quality and service.

If you are planning to come back, remember that as a returning guest you'll be entitled to extra discounts.

Our front desk agent Frederik says hi!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

No Luxury No Boutique

This hotel is misrepresented in so many ways that I wonder how they get away with it:

Lobby: if you are checked in you need a car to drive about ½ miles to a parking lot above the office to get to an elevator….or you climb 5 floors with your luggage

Ice machine? Not in this hotel

Access to beach? Only if you can jump over a gigantic Westin Hotel complex with shiny Solar collectors on all the flat roofs

Restaurant or bar? go to the Westin

Ocean view? Just pretend the Westin Hotel with all the solar panels is not there.

Close to any main attractions? NOT

Pool? Kind of… on top of the office building

Interior Luxury? Holiday Inn Express quality

Mattress: My back is still hurting

Pillows: lumpy old things

Stay away……

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank western469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficePH, Manager at Princess Heights Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Princess Heights welcomes all comments and respects al guest opinions, but some information provided by the guest is wrong:
Our hotel is on a hillside, so rooms are all ocean view to the Atlantic and St. Barths, just like our website's and guests' pictures show.
Princess Heights does not have a restaurant on property, but has over 12 restaurants pretty close by in Oyster Pond and Dawn Beach. It is also close to different water attractions, particularly at the Oyster Bay dock.
Princess Heights has a large outdoor pool (as our pictures show), with lounge beach chairs and umbrellas for our guests.
Our Luxury Boutique accommodations have been recognized by our valued guests and accredited entities of the worldwide hotel industry.
Check in procedure is completely handled by our front desk and guest are escorted to their units. Luggage is taken care of by our hotel staff.

Of course we will take into consideration your comments about the mattress and the pillows in your unit and check if there is any problem with it, in which case we will solve it asap for future guests.


Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Great rooms, exceptionally clean. Spectacular views - especially at night when the moon just rises. The cleaning service did the dishes during our stay. Everyone is friendly. Pool was not busy and the kids had a blast on the slide and diving board. Oyster Pond is a nice part of the island - Our friends just built a house, and we were able to walk to their place from princess heights.

As others mentioned - there are stairs, but it is good exercise. Windy roads to get to parking lots did not bother us at all - On this island, there are lots of cool places to visit which require to you to travel narrow, steep, and poorly maintained roads, so get used to it. Our unit had no radio - not even a clock radio, but not a big deal.

Room Tip: Floor 7 is the 1st floor on the new building and provides a larger terrace, however, it is shared with neighbours on that floor.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficePH, Manager at Princess Heights Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear guest, Thanks for your positive comments! It's good to know that you were able to experience the great sunrises on the Atlantic sea during your stay and that your kids could enjoy the pool to the fullest. Its a great feeling to know that the hotel was the right one for you and your famiy.

As per your comment on the radio, we do have alarm radio clocks in every units. We will make sure we check what could have happened that your room was not provided with one and will restock it immediately for future guests.

Thanks once again for your kind comments on Princess Heights. We do hope to have you back in the near future.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We recently stayed at PH for 8 nights and enjoyed every minute of it. Our interaction with the staff began long before we arrived. Emails regarding room requests, facility inquiries, and all other general questions were answered promptly. Detailed driving direction was also sent to us before we left home. 3 days prior to our arrival, I received a call from Tim Wienk to confirm our arrival time so that they can better prepare for our arrival. You got to love this kind of personal touch!

The hotel/condo is located on a quiet part of the island near the Dutch/French border. Even with some traffic, it was only about 35 minutes from airport. I highly recommend try arriving before dark so that you can drive to the hotel in daylight. Lighting was not that great at night, especially if you need to look for road signs and street names. Also, for those of us who are used to drive on wide flat roads, the winding hilly roads will certainly be intimidating initially. It took me 2 days to get used to the driving conditions on the island. We were provided with a free GPS unit by
the rental company, but the maps were not up-to-date. So I would suggest that if you find conflicting instructions between the GPS and the hotel direction, choose the latter.

We were greeted by Frederic at the reception. He was very friendly and extremely helpful. Checkin was fast and painless. We were provided with a wireless remote to access a gated road for the 2 parking lots of the second newer building. Be careful not to lose the remote, otherwise it's going to cost you $120 to replace it. I almost made that mistake when I dropped it in front of my car seat immediately after checkin. Luckily Frederic was able to help me find it before I went into a full panic mode.

We were in one of the higher floors of the new building. The Westin at the bottom of the hill didn't block our view of the ocean at all. Our suite was spacious and very clean. The fridge was stocked with a bottle of water, 2 bottles of beer, and 2 cans of Coke on arrival. These were all complimentary curtsey of PH! Granite counter tops were in the kitchen and bathroom, and marble floor throughout the unit. The fully stocked kitchen gave us the flexibility of making our own meals or dine out. We ended up doing a combination. There was a plastic patio table for 6 on the huge balcony. Although they looked clean and relatively new, these white plastic furniture didn't match well with the high class furnishing inside the unit. The king bed in the bedroom was a little soft to our liking, and the pillows were definitely too small and too soft. Other than these, we really have no complains about the room. There was daily housekeeping. And they always did a fantastic job.

In terms of amenities, the hotel has a small gym and a pool. Both looked to be under used. Most of the time there was nobody there. There was a laundry facility onsite that is free for the guests. You will need to bring your own detergent though. There is no shopping on premise. However there are a few shops in the Westin if shopping is your thing. Please be awared that there is no sales tax on the Dutch side. But on the French side, a 4% tax is applied to everything!

You can ask the staff for information about tours, directions, and even help making dinner reservations. They were all friendly and always eager to help. Please note that the hotel is NOT staffed 24/7 though. The office closes at 10pm. There was an emergency number you can call after hours.

There are several dining options close by in Oyster Pond. But it's unsafe to walk to them due to the roads not having any sidewalks. The restaurants are not far really. It would only take 5 minutes to drive there. There are a few small grocery stores nearby. It would be a 12-13 min drive to get to a large supermarket. The only place you can walk to is the Westin across the road and the beach behind it. Technically we are not supposed to use their beach chairs on the beach, but nobody bothers you if you "borrow" them. Everyone was very friendly. The beach is small and quiet. It's a nice place to relax. However don't plan to go there for swimming. There are many, many much better beaches around the island for that. This beach has a lot of pebbles and stones in the water to make swimming enjoyable.

PH may not be for anyone. If you have mobility issues or don't like to drive while on vacation, or if you are looking for a full service hotel/resort with many amenities, then you should consider other options on the island. If you know what you getting before you book and then you won't be disappointed!

We had a great time in St. Martin. Hopefully we'll get a chance to visit this beautifully unique island again. And when we do, we'll no doubt be staying at Princess Heights again!

Room Tip: Get a room on the newer building. It has an elevator.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveltravel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficePH, Manager at Princess Heights Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Guest, Our staff is very proud to read your good feedback regarding the service the provided you with. Thanks for such positive comments.

Your recommendations on the accommodations and the area nearby to future guest are also very helpful to give them a customer view of a Princess Heights experience.

Thank you very much for your time. We do hope to see you coming back soon!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We chose PH based on TA reviews. The reviews are spot on. PH is located next to Dawn Beach and our balcony ocean view was beautiful. The staff are polite and helpful. The kitchen had everything we needed.

Room Tip: If you prefer an elevator and better parking, choose the 2nd building. I have not seen this in any previous reviews, but we had whistling frogs next to our room at first it was annoying. The frogs sound like a fire alarm beeping when it has a dead battery. Once the staff explained to us about the whistling frogs then it was tolerable.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficePH, Manager at Princess Heights Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Guest, Thanks for you comments!
We hope to see you back at Princess heights very soon!.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews