We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, reasonable prices in a casual tropical setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of BZH Creperie

BZH Creperie
Ranked #9 of 17 Restaurants in Oyster Pond
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable prices in a casual tropical setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our 2nd trip here in successive years. Not only is it convenient to our lodging in Oyster Pond, but a fine meal to boot! Love the "family" dogs lounging around the outside, tropical forested, deck. Great crepes, or galettes as they are called in Brittany. Excellent bar as well. Being outside along side a not-busy road, creates a very relaxed ambience suitable for conversation. No loud interior restaurant noise; no blaring music from the bar. Reocmmended.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank johnb51va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    70
    18
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york,new york
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“great local restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

great salads, excellent pizza, sublime crepes, cheap beer, great combination

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank q1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious, friendly and affordable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

I ate at the BZH a few times and the meals were good value for Saint Martin and delicious. The first night I had a vegetarian pizza, which had a very good thin crust and lots of topping. The galette and crepe I had on the second night were comparable to the best I’ve had in France and on the third night I drank with the French locals, and had a great time despite the initial language difference, and after the fourth Breton cider I’m sure I spoke fluent French.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, relaxed village atmosphere and fun people.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

We went to the BZH several times during our holiday in Saint-Martin for both lunch and dinner and really enjoyed the unpretentious and relaxed atmosphere of the place frequented by both locals and tourists.
The BZH (the initials for Breizh, meaning Brittany in Breton dialect) serves delicious 'galettes' (buckwheat crepes with savory fillings, a famous speciality from Brittany), Breton cider and sweet crepes for dessert. Note that the Bretons enjoy having their eggs uncooked on top of their galettes to spread the yolk, so if it's not your thing, you may want to ask for it well-cooked when ordering.
The BZH also makes really good pizzas and offers daily specials, cocktails and ice creams.
On Saturdays, they organise a BBQ or a big Paella. We only got to try the BBQ, a generous plate of mixed grilled meats served with salad, humous, French fries or rice, tasty!
When the place is packed and busy there is sometimes a bit of a wait but the atmosphere of the place is so relaxing, we didn't mind...

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb23London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
104 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

This place is so homey, and the food is delicious!

This is our second year coming to this BZH Creperie, and nothing has changed; it's still our favorite restaurant on the whole island.

The atmosphere is very cute and laid-back, there are couches, chairs, little sitting areas, and nice curtains everywhere. The restaurant is covered, but the sides are open so there's always a nice breeze. Small, nice bar area as well.

Food: try the Gallettes (crepes from Brittany) as they are the restaurant's specialty; however, everything is good.

The service was always 5-star, albeit "French." American tourists should be wary that with one waitress (the owner) it can be a tad slow and that you must ask for the check--they will not just bring it to you. That being said, this is typical of service in Europe, and French St. Martin is technically part of France.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BZH Creperie also viewed

Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
 
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
 

Been to BZH Creperie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing