We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very tasty French experience!”
Review of Quai Ouest

Quai Ouest
Ranked #11 of 17 Restaurants in Oyster Pond
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Independence, Iowa, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A very tasty French experience!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Located in the Captain Oliver complex just a short walk along the marina from the Dingy Dock the daily changing menu is everything that anyone could want in a very pleasant open-air marina-side atmosphere. Nadia usually waits tables herself and the chef is usually alone in the kitchen, but this year there was additional help in both areas as well as live singing entertainment to accompany the great dining and social experience. If you're up to trying a little of the French language it is always appreciated, but not required, adding to the relaxed ambience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SXMfoodie612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    49
    14
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Charming, Delicious and Affordable!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Set along the marina, it's a quick walk if you're staying at the lovely Balcons d'Oyster Pond. I'd read the prior reviews and expected the service to be a little gruff and slow. It wasn't. We were seated quickly and pleasantly enough by the owner/server, even though it was a little busy. A chalkboard presently the daily specials in French on one side and English on the other. There was also a menu. After checking out the dishes at the table next to us, we saw portions were huge and didn't feel the need to have an appetizer. We decided on the bavette (a good sized sirloin that was cooked medium rare as we ordered) for 16E on the main menu. We also had a special of grouper with lobster sauce for 19E. The accompanying vegetables of cabbage, green beans and roasted potatoes with the steak and sweet potatoes and mushrooms with the fish were a bit odd but tasty. A bottle of Bordeaux was a special for 19E. And they take credit cards. All in all, it was a great meal for 54E!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theworldaw8s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“okay in a pinch”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

this restaurant was very casual and service was very slow but prices were up there.food was good .owner on site but run off feet as she was only server!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 905canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, Good Prices”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Nice couple runs and owns the place. Menu changes daily and is written on a chalkboard. We spoke no French and had no problems. The owner understood us and our service was quick but the restaurant was not crowded. Very nice private setting.
Food was good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Romantic Dining ....like France!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife and I had dinner here one night at 7pm and we were greeted warmly by the Owner. We we seated at a lovely table for two over looking the bay. The lovely view was very romantic and that alone would have made the dinner a wonderful experience. Now the food.....we had a appetizer that was wonderfully presented and two main dishes and desert along with two glasses of the house white wine ( a very large serving). This came to a dinner that cost under $ 100. When they present the bill the give you a shot of a lemon tasting drink that is refreshing and at no cost.

The owners know the meaning of customer service as they came at the right times to ask if everything was alright but not at all too much. I highly recommend this lovely little restaurant. This will be on our trip next year as a must.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quai Ouest also viewed

Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
 
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
 
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Quai Ouest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing