We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, relaxing, open air restaurant. St. Maarten”
Review of L'Oasis

L'Oasis
Ranked #7 of 17 Restaurants in Oyster Pond
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Alliance, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing, open air restaurant. St. Maarten”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The restaurant is a wonderful way to relax and have a wonderful meal at the same time. The menu has something for everyone, and you will not be disappointed. Love the pizza.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    107
    27
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Local gem”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stopped at L'Oasis for a very late breakfast (overslept and decided to grab a bite close by versus going to Marigot). Luckily, the owner was accommodating and still served us. I had a wonderful French toast: custardy but not mushy and slightly browned. I do not like maple syrup and asked for jam as a substitute - again, an accommodating owner procured peach preserves that nicely complemented toast. Husband had a regular American breakfast: scrambled eggs, potatoes, small salad, and crispy bacon. His meal was served with a fresh baguette and butter. Orange juice was from the bottle but still passable; coffee was great. Liked decor: sanded benches in the best traditions of shabby chic!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YannaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Service and good food”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

What else is important. Seating a bit uncomfortable in benches but food and service is very fine - nice local French fare and worth a visit

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TechYellowJacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
127 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Breakfast was awful”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Recently had breakfast here. You'd think it would be great, a perfectly lovely french place in the secluded oyster pond road, however, it was not. In fact it was awful. The eggs tasted microwaved. The croissant and bread storebought, and not from a good store and the coffee was bland. After having a proper french breakfast in marigot i was expecting a lot, however i am telling you that perhaps they do a better lunch and dinner but i have had better breakfast out of a bag. No offense, but the lady also demanded that our child take his feet pff the seat cushion because she had just cleaned it. Our child is two. I understand the french attitude, ive been to france many times, however, when your food sucks, you should lose the attitude.

There are countless better places, french and otherwise on the island. Countless. I will say that place is cheap, at least breakfast was, but id rather pay and taste than save and not.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ROCKintheUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast and service”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Martine was lovely and the food was really good. Great Coffee! So gald we found L'Oasis (saw it on Tripadvisor) the last morning because it was closed for a few days, and we were eager to go there. It was worth the wait.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank hr3sns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Oasis also viewed

Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
 
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
 

Been to L'Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing