We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly enjoyed our stay in Sol Hotel”
Review of Sol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sol Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Truly enjoyed our stay in Sol Hotel”
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We did quite some research about Sint Maarten and small scale hotels and B&B’s on the island. We were looking for an atmospheric place with nice rooms, an attractive pool area, friendly service and if possible an ocean view from our balcony. And all this without paying a fortune. Sol Hotel was exactly what we were looking for and exceeded our expectations! Colette’s warm welcome and advice on activities and restaurants were really great. The location is just stunning and a small supermarket (Epicerie), a lively bar in the harbour (Dinghy Dock Bar) and some restaurant options are all within walking distance. Our room (Comfort room) had a large balcony with small kitchen and offered a bit more privacy because it did not have a direct access / open view to the pool area. We can definitely recommend the Comfort room. See the pictures for the view from our balcony. The room was cleaned every day. The only disadvantages we can think of are: the mosquitoes (but they are everywhere on the island) and that you need a car to go to the nice beaches. The closest beaches are Dawn Beach on the Dutch side, with a rather American atmosphere and Baie Lucas on the French side with a deserted feeling and no facilities. In terms of beaches we really liked Le Galion and Pinel Island. Sol Hotel offers great value for money and we had an excellent time at this small and charming hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mirjam13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    52
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
113
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We stayed here for 3 days after returning from a 4-day sail from Oyster Pond with some friends. I can't add much to the previous reviews. Collette upgraded us to Room 9 (the "suite"), and we were very happy. The bed was comfortable; the view beautiful; and the service good. The only thing we wished for were comfortable lounge chairs outside on the porch. We enjoyed meals at restaurants recommended by Collette (especially La Frigate, just a 5-minute drive away, and Quai Ouest (walking distance down the hill at the marina). Recommended!

Our friends have 3 boys, so they stayed at La Louisiane across the street (also managed by Collette) and had a very nice 2-bedroom suite with living room. However, their kitchen was not very well outfitted and could use some updating. They also did not have any lounge chairs on the porch.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2010

a lovely small hotel where hospitality and comfort are the key words. For overnight accomodation next to the Oyster Pond Marina it is absolute the best place to be. Thanks to the charming hostess: Colette

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jha_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2010

My wife and I just spent two wonderful nights (April 12 and 13) at Sol Hotel in Oyster Pond, St. Martin. This is a very charming and typically French yet typically Caribbean small hotel. Just perfect. The views of Oyster Pond and its marina and the surrounding hillsides (especially at night) from our balcony were much better than million dollar views. My wife and I thought to each other, “If you can’t be happy here, you can’t be happy anywhere.” We had a king sized bed in a large room and we had a small kitchen. The shower and bathroom were very nice as well. We did not have a TV which we don’t care about when we travel abroad although there are rooms available with TV if you want that. If you are looking for chocolates on your pillow every night and gold-plated faucets in the bathroom, this is not the place for you. It met our requirements of being affordable, safe, clean and comfortable. In addition, we got a romantic setting in beautiful surroundings. We could not have asked for more, nor did we want more. Collette, the manager, could not have been more helpful and accommodating to us. She was willing to do everything she could to help us have a pleasant stay and she did. There are several nice restaurants and art galleries within close walking distance to this hotel. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of food and live entertainment we had at Captain Oliver’s Resort and Marina just down the hill from Sol Hotel. We will definitely be spending several nights here next year when we return.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Euge F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2010

I just returned from a blissful week at this hotel in St. Martin. I chose Sol Hotel based on the reviews here and I am very happy to offer another positive view on the place. We were more than pleased with everything- the room, the surrounds and Oyster Pond. The pictures on the website and posted by other travelers here are very accurate. And I'm still amazed that it was also actually the cheapest room I could find on the internet when planning my trip.

The manager Collete was incredibly helpful from the very beginning. We corresponded quite a bit before our arrival and she always responded to my emails almost immediately. When we arrived we were delighted to learn that since the hotel wasn't busy she had upgraded us to a suite. The room was lovely, simple and very clean. It opened onto a large terrace with a little kitchenette, table and chairs and sitting area. The view from the terrace was gorgeous. It looked out over the bay and the marina with a backdrop of green hills and the Caribbean Sea. The terrace was very private and of course covered so we spent much more time outside than we did inside.

Food in St. Martin can be expensive so having the kitchenette was great. We went to a supermarket (there are lots of supermarkets in the bigger towns-Philipsburg, Marigot, Grand Case, and also a small convenience store in Oyster Pond) for a few basics and were able to have some meals in. There was a small fridge, two-burner stove, sink, espresso maker (european stove-top style), dishes, glasses, etc. (There was only one pot so cooking a big meal wasn't really a great option.) When you do eat out, there is a very nice restaurant in the Marina about a 5 minute walk from the hotel called Quai Ouest, we had two very nice meals there. Also Grand Case has great restaurants and its a close drive. I've also heard that the restaurant at Lotterie Farm is very good. Just ask Collete, she was full of suggestions about things to do, places to eat, etc.

It is true you need to rent a car if you stay in Oyster Pond but ours was only $18 a day and the freedom it allowed us was priceless. You can easily get around the entire island and explore everywhere by car in St. Martin. We covered a lot of ground on our trip and really saw a lot, honestly there was no other place I would have rather stayed than in Oyster Pond. It really is a picturesque, quaint, clean little village on the hillside overlooking a beautiful bay. Before we left I had researched a lot of places to stay, I had considered a couple of other hotels but once on the island we saw some of them and I was so glad we hadn't chosen anything else, the others did not exactly live up to their photos online. I had thought it would be fun to be in Grand Case or Marigot but really we were glad to just go there during the day and return to the peace and quiet of Oyster Pond at the end of the day.

The pool and surrounding terrace are really beautiful (check out the pictures on the website) and many of the rooms have terraces that open directly onto the pool. We spent so much time at the beaches and exploring the island I only wish we'd set aside half a day to just sit by the pool at the hotel. It was always quiet and peaceful.

I have read the only negative review posted here and the only thing I can figure is that maybe this person really would rather have all the amenities of a resort. We had absolutely no problems with service, cleanliness or convenience in any way. To me the ideal vacation is peace and quiet in a beautiful and tranquil setting. I am very happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank followurbliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

Decided to stay at Sol Hotel for four nights based on the reviews from TripAdvisor. Up to this point I've never not recommended a hotel, but this one merits a negative review. I should note that Colette was not working there while I was there which might be a reason for the outcome of this trip.

Rooms: Rooms are large and and nicely decorated. The beds are a bit old and not of that good of standard. You can tell they're old by the fact that the middle of the bed dips. The balcony and view is great and overall this hotel does have a lot of charm. The kitchen, though, could use a good cleaning/updating as the things in there look like they've been there since the 1970's. There is no TV for the non-suite rooms, but this was just fine by me. The bathroom is nice, though one day there was almost no water pressure.

Cleaning: I was there four nights and my place was only cleaned once. Ok, make that twice as they decided to clean it 15 minutes before I was checking-out which meant that after I took a shower and dragged sand back into the room they either had to clean the room again or I feel sorry for the new people who saw dirty towels and sand (poor management will quickly become the theme of this review). I don't know why they only cleaned my place once, so be prepared to use dirty towels for a few days.

Location: Good location next to Oyster Pond Marina. You definitely need to rent a car (there is no exception to this unless you want to spend $100/day on taxis). There is a mini-market and a few restaurants close by and you can get to Dawn beach with about a 15 minute walk. The view of the Marina and the Atlantic Ocean is great.

Management: Poor. I don't usually care about service from a hotel as I am a very independent traveler, but the management here was bad. Upon arrival I had to wait at the front desk for 30 minutes until somebody came even though I gave them my time I would arrive. I would not see anybody at the front desk again until the day before I left. This was bad because I needed to use a phone for an excursion (there are no phones in the room either) and nobody was ever there. To make things worse, the phone number they leave to call them only works during business hours. If you need anything (taxi, lost keys, etc) after this, you're out of luck. Lastly, departure. Management didn't even know what day I was leaving - no kidding. The guy working there was very nice, but he just didn't seem to know what he was doing.

Language: My french is pretty good and there was still a language problem here, so if you decide to stay, make sure you can speak some french.

Overall: The place is charming, but after I stayed here I wish I had stayed at a resort...and I hate resorts. If you don't rent a car or don't speak french, don't stay here. Otherwise, if you do stay, make sure you're aware of all the things you have to pay attention to.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wrld_trav82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solhotel, directrice at Sol Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2010
Google Translation
Etant en congé exceptionnel pour cause de décès dans famille , la personne qui m'a remplaçé pendant mon absence a fait ce qu'elle a pu pour accueillir tous mes clients, l'hotel étant très petit, cette personne a pris des heures de repos , ce qui impose la fermeture exceptionnelle des apres midis à la réception entre 12 et 17 heures ;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2010

My husband and I were blown away by this small but beautiful hotel. I loved how clean it was and the bed was so comfortable and the sheets and towels were all 5 star. We loved the privacy we had and the manager (Colette) was just wonderful to us. We loved it so much that we are going back in Feb. of 2011 and staying much longer. We loved being able to have some meals right out on our own Veranda. I can't say enough about this hotel and Colette.

Jim & Nancy, New Bern, N.C.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank femmesebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oyster Pond
6.1 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.5 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
751 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sea View Beach Hotel
Sea View Beach Hotel
#9 of 12 in Philipsburg
104 reviews
4.2 mi away
LOVE
LOVE
#4 of 8 in Grand Case
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Hotel

Property: Sol Hotel
Address: Rue de L Escale | 38 Oyster Pond, Oyster Pond 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sol Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very lovely and quiet place- TV in room and free WIFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing