We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Find”
Review of Sol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sol Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Certificate of Excellence
Syosset, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Find”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Sol Hotel is an excellent choice. Oyster Pond is a bit out of the way, but it's a small island and nothing is too far away. For this location, you'll want to rent a car. The pool is large enough, warm and comfortable, and there's a well equipped grilling area adjacent to the deck. We stayed in Room 9, which has a larger and more private balcony than the other single rooms. The view from it is exactly what you see on the website. The views from the others may be partially blocked by the trees in the pool area. It's the only one that has its kitchen and sitting area outside the room on the balcony, which we usually don't like, but, because of the privacy, it works very well here. Rooms 1 through 8 have the kitchens inside. Didn't see the Room 10 suite. The kitchen is a two burner electric stovetop with no oven or microwave. Small refrigerator, toaster and coffee maker. The room is air-conditioned, which we usually don't use, but there isn't a good cross breeze, so we did use it here. King-size bed is very comfortable. Rooms 7 and 8 have more private balconies than 1 through 6, and better views. Nice grocery store and good restaurants within easy walking distance. Colette Brulin is gracious and friendly, and responds helpfully to internet requests.
Tip - The GPS in our car was a bit confusing. It's hard to find a good map of the Island, but we did find one at the Sint Maarten Park Zoo. It's well-detailed and includes hiking trails. Published by Mical Kasprowski (midok@midok.com).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaff313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    52
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
113
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights during a 10 night stay in St Martin. The hotel is in a great location overlooking Oyster Pond and its marina (which houses 2 good restaurants). The rooms were clean, spacious, and well decorated with a small kitchenette (hob, fridge, sink, coffee machine, toaster) and good bathroom. All rooms have balconies and direct access to the hotels pool and BBQ area. The pool was deserted during our stay which made it lovely and quiet and we had it all to ourselves! We used the BBQ with some friends on one occasion and its a great sheltered spot for a nice BBQ dinner.
All in all, a great value hotel with very flexible management and well appointed rooms, in a great location for exploring the rest of the Island.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hs318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The location is excellent, and the owner is wonderful ! My husband and I stayed here for a week (March 9-16/13) and after being all over the island we both agreed that we were quite sure the view and location we had was one of the best. It was so wonderful to wake up to a beautiful view of the bay, which was nice and quiet and relaxing, and to sit and have breakfast on our own patio. Colette (the owner) is a wonderful lady and cares about the service she provides to her clients. Colette extended herself to her clientel by offering to tell them how to get to places, things they should visit, places to eat. The rooms were cleaned daily, and the place is very clean.

Sol Hotel is in a nice little area with a handful of good restaurants to walk to if you don't want to drive. There is even a little bakery very close by where we picked up fresh croissants/jam in the mornings which were excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trail, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Well this was our favourite hotel on this trip. Colette makes you feel right at home and she know all the best local places. She even worries about things like arranging your transportation or helping you make a local call. She answered all my emails right away. We had a very nice suite (#10) with two bedrooms and two washrooms and a kitchenette. The hotel is spotless, has a nice little pool and a pretty view of the harbour. The price was very good, half the cost of the nearby Westin but of course with a much more personal touch.

Room Tip: I think they are all nice, #10 is very big and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globehopperdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnemucca, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful hotel in December of last year. When checking out, we forgot our car keys and didn't notice for weeks because we were on a cruise. When we got back to the airport, we noticed them missing. Luckily we had a spare key with us. After back tracking everywhere, we got a reply from Colette, that they found our keys. She had injured her foot and could not walk, but asked one of her friends to mail the keys to us. Unbelievable!! They had kept them for that long and asked nothing to return them. We definitely will recommend this charming Hotel to everyone not only because it is nice but also for the service. Thank you Sol Hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Without a doubt, this the best bet on the island. Colette is a unique host and the rooms are quintessential. From start to finish, we could have not asked more - from the view over the marina to having your room cleaned each day, it was incredible. I highly recommend staying here!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Shores, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is the place to stay on the island! Colette, your host, makes you feel at home and happily provides information about the island - and if your French is a little rusty, her English isn't. The rooms are romatically furnished - and the balcony (completely private in #9) is perfect for breakfast and sunset - overlooking the sea and the beautiful Oyster Pond harbor. There are good restaurants - formal and casual - for dinner that are all within easy walking distance of Sol, as are excellent grocery/wine shops if you wish to shop for any meals. All in all, we couldn't have enjoyed our visit more!

Room Tip: Room #9 has a completely private balcony and king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oyster Pond
6.1 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.5 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
751 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sea View Beach Hotel
Sea View Beach Hotel
#9 of 12 in Philipsburg
104 reviews
4.2 mi away
LOVE
LOVE
#4 of 8 in Grand Case
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Hotel

Property: Sol Hotel
Address: Rue de L Escale | 38 Oyster Pond, Oyster Pond 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sol Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very lovely and quiet place- TV in room and free WIFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing