We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can`t Get Enough!”
Review of Sol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sol Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Can`t Get Enough!”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

My first visit at Sol was September 89 during hurricane Hugo ....ive stayed at other hotels on the island but Sol is my favourite...... just came back April -12 ... Colette is charming as ever..
my room was decorated with great style ,,,,, I love sitting on my terrace early in the moring drinking coffee and looking out over the marina at Captain Olivers ...... see you next year.

Room Tip: Room 8 is my favourite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank Panchito45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    52
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
113
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tortola, BVI
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This is the best little hotel ever!!! Collette omg is soooo friendly. I arrived late in the night and she waited until I got to the hotel, showed me around my room and recommend the little best restaurant around the area (Dinghy Dock). Now if your like me who does not need tv and want to get away from the phones this is the place for you. It is relaxing, friendly, peaceful. Just BEAUTIFUL. I will be staying here from now on when in St Maarten or St Martin.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank M0nalisaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

All the good things that you read about this hotel are true. If you are going to St. Martin and are looking for excellent and affordable accommodation you need look no further than Sol Hotel. It’s not luxurious or filled with bells and whistles but it’s certainly a charming, clean and picturesque little hotel. A car is a must but if you want to access all of the island’s beaches and restaurants that would be the case almost anywhere you stayed.
Oyster Pond is a small and cozy spot and the hotel is in walking distance to a number of restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

My husband and two of our friends stayed at this small inn on the French side of St Martin for a night last month. The location was perfect and the rooms were clean & had a balcony with a great view of the Oyster Pond marina. We loved the fact that we were even able to walk to a nice restaurant for dinner and a minimart was nearby as well. Colette was not there the night we stayed, but another lady who managed the operation for the evening was lovely. We rented a car at the airport and drove to the inn. The parking was free and very convenient. We would definitely stay at the here again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovethearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for just one night while awaiting a flight. What a value and a view. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CompuDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

I read the recent reviews on TripAdvisor and selected the Sol Hotel because of it's location and value. My husband and I just returned from our five day stay and were delighted. The location is perfect for a quiet getaway. The room was clean and decorated with charm. Colette is warm and extremely helpful with recommendations for beaches and restaurants and her dogs became our adopted pets for the week. That was a nice treat that we didn't expect. Our room overlooked the pool, harbor and ocean. There is a little grocery store within a short walk that sells fresh french pasteries, bread and wine. We watched the superbowl at the Dinghy Dock outside bar with a nice crowd. We also had a chance to try all of the nearby restaurants and were not disappointed. We also rented a car and visited several beaches around the island. I would not stay anywhere else. The hotel is practically next door to Captain Oliver's where you can reserve a day trip to St. Barth's. Bring your wallet. Worth seeing, but very expensive.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #2 right in front of the pool and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LGSolometo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

A nice small hotel in a pretty location, near the marina and several good restaurants. The owner is a nice lady who was both friendly and helpful. No TV, Good WiFi. Furnished Kitchenette.

Try Momma Pizza just down the road.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Starison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oyster Pond
6.1 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.5 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
751 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sea View Beach Hotel
Sea View Beach Hotel
#9 of 12 in Philipsburg
104 reviews
4.2 mi away
LOVE
LOVE
#4 of 8 in Grand Case
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Hotel

Property: Sol Hotel
Address: Rue de L Escale | 38 Oyster Pond, Oyster Pond 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sol Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very lovely and quiet place- TV in room and free WIFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing