We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went for lunch. Had a nice meal.”
Review of Le Planteur

Le Planteur
Ranked #14 of 17 Restaurants in Oyster Pond
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Saline, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Went for lunch. Had a nice meal.”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Fantastic view and wide open setting. We had fish and kebabs and the food was just fine. Probably not the epicurean adventure people are seeking for St. Martin, but a nice lunch in a pretty setting. My only disappointment was that the inside of the profiterole was still frozen and seemed more like a frozen eclair. Restaurants on St. Martin are very pricy, lunch for four was almost $100.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    37
    17
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alblasserdam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, but where are the customers?”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

French restaurant, with good food. The service is somewhat slow and the number of mistakes made is above average. The atmosphers is not great because most of the tables are empty.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jako v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An old friend”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

The host and owner makes each guest feel as if they've just entered his home, where he happens to serve wonderful French cuisine. We had excellent sausage that was moist and soft and rich, in addition to many other delicious selections.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank seeedels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A lovely setting with some of the worst food and service on the island.”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Overpriced, over salted, boring, tasteless non attractive food. The owner doesn't seem to care and the service is spotty. On a lovely island with world class food this now ranks last.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barryejohnson100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful! Awful! Awful!”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Did I mention that it was awful? Although the setting is quite lovely on an outdoor terrace it could not overcome the terrible food. Our clue should have been the fact that the restaurant was empty except for one other party although it was the height of the dinner hour. All four of us, each ordering something different, could, literally, not eat our meals. Among our unfortunate choices were duck, lamb, fish and assorted appetizers. We are 'foodies", eat out often, and could not get over how bad the food was. I think the owner should think in terms of new chef.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Planteur also viewed

Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
 
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
 
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Le Planteur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing