We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in one word!”
Review of Captain Oliver's

Captain Oliver's
Ranked #14 of 17 Restaurants in Oyster Pond
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Captain Oliver's
Sechelt, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent in one word!”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

This was by far the best restaurant we had been to and went back three times while on the island.. Most friendly staff and best tasting meals. It is right on the dock and you can see fish below while eating.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ltelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    109
    89
    38
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love to go here”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

I am having trouble with the recent negative reviews. We go here a lot and really like the place. Actually, we live down the road and if we feel like dancing and eating it is our "go to place."We are not disappointed with the ambiance, food or music.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndieBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We chose Captain Olivers as it seemed to have a good reputation on the Island!! Oh dear, not sure who started that rumour. OK, were were early 7pm, but didnt leave until 8.15 and were the only ones in the restaurant - so - you would think the service would be attentive and impeccable, not so. Smiley, but lacking in attention. In fact, one waiter was singing with the resident musician and two others were dancing a salsa. I gave up with the Lobster Bisque, not sure it was anything to do with lobster, tasted more like Lenore, fabric softner. My partner had the onion soup which was tasteless, seemed like there had been no attempt to caramalise the onions. Partners mains steak was soggy however, my chicken in tarragon sauce with rice was rather nice, but if you think about it, that is a very simple dish and difficult to get wrong. We will not return - there are many restaurants in the area which charge a lot less but deliver so much more. The positive is the location - superb overlooking the marina.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theivesfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had dinner at Captain Oliver's restaurant. I knew that this was the low season but nonetheless they only had 3 tables with open menus while we were there. The food is good but not more. The spot is great, witting RIGHT on the marina but I was not impressed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ssscharron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenland, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Meals at Captain Oliver's Restaurant”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We are return customers!

My wife and I had several meals at Captain Oliver's during our ten day stay this month. The food is consistently good. All of the servers have great personalities. We would like to recognize Donette for her great sense of humor and Hubert for his friendly demeanor! Sincerely, Chris & Jane

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChrisReilly199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Oliver's also viewed

Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
 
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
 
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Captain Oliver's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing