We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are a diver...you will be spoiled”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Compass Point Dive Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 21, 2007

Spoiled! I am so spoiled now. We arrived...they whisked our gear to their area to go on the boat in the morning. When we loaded onto the boat, our gear was setup on the tanks, etc. Diving in GC is PHOENOMINAL... we took our BCs off and they put them on our second tanks. After the dive, we took our gear off, placed it into a crate with our names attached to them; and they brought it back to their gear area. They then rinsed and hung to dry and had it ready the next day....where they did the same thing: setup the gear, etc. All of the dives had the option of being guided (which I fully recommend ...to see all of the hidden treasures and swim throughs, etc). The staff was great... the condo was perfect.. All of the amenities were there to be able to cook good meals...including a recipe book! The tubs have jets in case you wish to have a hot tub...
Only complaint: we went there when the were replacing their dock. It was noisy during the day with the construction. We couldn't really take advantage of the beach. But we spent so much time under water...we were too exhausted to care too much about that anyway. This was just a timing thing. This would not be the case 2 months from now.
I would stay nowhere else in Grand Cayman. Its in a remote part of the island, which gives you a more 'local' feel. We drove into Georgetown and we fully confirmed that we made the right choice. Georgetown is hustle and bustle with HUGE hotel after HUGE hotel. Just another ugly city. Where Compass Point is located, there is nothing around except for beautiful foliage and small restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank peanuts1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 586 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2007

Everyone at Ocean Frontiers Diving was professional and friendly. They took care of everything and were genuinely concerned about our satisfaction and safety. The condo was perfect in everyway, fully equipped and all systems worked. The only issue was the "housekeeper" who literally only wiped the kitchen counter and made the beds...nothing else! She didn't even load the diswasher or clean any other table top, ie: dining table, coffee table, bathroom counters.......although it was clearly stated on the little card on the counter, she still could have done more than the very minimal effort she put out. Aside from this very minor item, everyone was helpful and genuine. I'd reccomend them without question.

4  Thank ScubaDiver57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2007

Just returned from seven night six day dive trip and can positively say that it doesn't get any better. We had terrific time. Condo at Compass Point was great. The dive staff at Ocean Frontiers were totally professional and knowledgeable. Safety of divers was totally addressed. Will definitedly be looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank INDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2007

There is absolutely no downside to this property or the dive experience. I was here for five days before going to LC to dive. When I travel I tend to keep my expectations low and my hopes high. I can say that I had one of the best times of my travel life. I don't usually return to the same place as there are so many sites to see, but in the case of Compass Point/Ocean Frontiers, I will go back and drag all my dive friends with me. The diving was spectacular from the walls to hovering over the reefs. The crew was so fun and helpful. The accomodations were perfect. The balconies open onto the water so you can watch the boats loading in the morning and just walk down and jump on. Very few transactions take place....time away from hustle. People were here to dive, leaving the buffets and bowls to the other side of the island. You have wheels if you book the room and diving as a package so you are mobile if you want to explore.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Evie_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2007

I would recommend this resort for anyone looking for a great dive vacation. Our group consisted of divers with skills ranging from first open water dive to dive instructor. Everyone had a wonderful experience. The staff at the resort were helpful and friendly. The dive guides were outstanding. We were amazed with the dive locations we visited. There was something for everyone: beautiful coral heads,walls, barrell sponges, small fish, eels, turtles, swim throughs, rays, & a nurse shark. I would like to especially thank our guides on board the Nauti Cat for unbelievable service and a great atmosphere. You made our trip a memorable one.

Again, I would not hesitate to recommend Compass Point to anyone looking for an excellant dive vacation.

Sincerely,
Jeanine

Stayed: June 2007
Thank marter101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2007

This is a terrific facility in the East end of Grand Cayman. Beautiful condos/nice little pool/great little beach/outstanding dive operation/decent boats/professional dive staff/friendly office employees. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who is serious about diving and likes to be well taken care of. Cadillac service on the dive boats - for those who want it. Give them your gear - and they will do the rest for the week. The whole dive gang NEVER stops moving - it was unbelievable from 7 a.m. until 6 p.m. every night! You will definitely need a car to get around - and it is well worth it because there is so much to see and tour for "relaxing" touring at your own pace. Far from the madding crowd. Fabulous diving in the area. Hats off to our Boat Captain Brett and Dive Guide Extraordinatire - Graeme! You guys do the best dive briefings (and drawings) I have seen in 20 years of diving! And you are great fun!!! I'll pass on the good word to as many people as possible. This place is a gem!
KR

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KLAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2007

My husband and I just returned from a 6 day stay at Compass Point Dive Resort and we can't say enough great things about this resort. We have never actually stayed at a dive resort before, but now plan to seek out such resorts. Nothing beats being able to walk to the dock from your room and having to spend a max of 25 minutes boating out to the dive site and having your dive equipment on the boat and ready to go. The quality of the diving was awesome. We saw multiple large schools of fish as well as several reef sharks and a sleeping nurse shark in addition to moray eels and turtles. The reef is in great shape and very colorful. Don't miss a trip to Stingray City. The divemasters were extremely professional and unbelievably knowledgeable about the dive sites, often drawing diagrams of the sites from memory. Our divemasters were Graeme, Neil, and Stephan-- all excellent. All of the diveshop staff were very helpful and nice and Kaz, the videographer, did a great job on our dive groups' video and did not get in the way of the dive at all. The condos are very clean, new, and well-stocked with cooking utensils. All units have a view of the ocean. We loved staying on the East End of the island, which was very nice and quiet with a couple of excellent restaurants nearby (The Portofino, The Lighthouse, and Rum Beach). Although the resort is on a main road, I felt completely safe running along it as there is little traffic. The island is very easy to get around if you have a rental car and if you are in the mood for a more active part of the island, it's about a 20-30 minute drive, which is no big deal, to Sunset House on the south side (great bar and food) or 7 mile beach with all of the big resorts. You will not regret it if you got to Grand Cayman to dive and choose to stay at Compass Point! We would not want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank kitties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.2 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
511 reviews
18.8 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
618 reviews
18.7 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,370 reviews
2.8 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#2 of 2 in East End
1,706 reviews
18.9 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Point Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Point Dive Resort

Address: 346 Austin Connoly Drive, East End KY1 1801, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in East End
Price Range: $220 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Compass Point Dive Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LAID BACK LUXURY....Located on the untouched, pristine East End of the Island. Situated approximately 21 miles East from Grand Cayman's international airport and approximately 1 mile past the sleepy village of East End.Compass Point Dive Resort Compromises of 28 luxurious one, two and three bedroom oceanfront and poolside condominiums, each with their own private patio or balcony. Each condominium is beautifully appointed with stylish island decor and fully equipped with all of the comforts of home. New in 2013, Eagle Ray's Bar & Grill, dockside overlooking the Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Compass Point Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Point Dive Hotel East End
Compass Point Dive Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing