We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel - best location on the island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2006

We stayed at the Reef Resort for a week in November, and will be returning soon.

The resort is located in the quiet North East of the island so the area is very quiet as it is not yet developed as a tourist area. It is perfect if you want a quiet holiday. Hire cars are quite cheap and it is only about 40 minutes drive to the airport, Georgetown or 7 mile beaach.

The beach is not particularly big but there was always plenty of space and beds available. This is an excellent beach for snorkelling as there is a reef about 200 yards offshore, and the fish are amazingly abundant, helped by the daily feeding they receive from the hotel.

All the hotel staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly, especially the three girls serving in the bar and restaurant and Linda on the front desk.

There are plenty of places to visit including Hell ( a village near the turtle farm) all of which can be reached within an hour by car.

Car hire is recommended as there are no restaurants nearby but a few within a short drive, including The Lighthouse" which is particularly good.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank senecatwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,674)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,565 - 1,571 of 1,674 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2006

This resort is everything everyone has said it is: clean, beautiful ocean views, great staff. I do however have a few comments that I didnt see mentioned here before we went last week. Our first and foremost complaint: the showers! The water temperature was impossible to control! It vacillated between cold and absolutely burning hot (dangerously hot actually) with no rhyme or reason. A really frustrating part of our stay. I don't know if it was because we were in the newest building (furthest from reception) and there was barely anyone in it, but it really detracted from the luxurious resort experience to dread your relaxing bath time. Also, while we were there it was really, really windy - which made laying on the beach uncomfortable and made the snorkeling right off the beach pretty bad. Of course no one can control the weather, but something to be aware of - it seems to be a fairly common occurence on that side of the island. Since we had a car we could drive to other locations so it wasn't too much of a problem.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank india_holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomCayman, Resort Director at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2006

My apologies for the guests experience with the shower water temperature. This is isolated to our newest units, and is being fixed unit by unit. We are moving the resort to being as eco-friendly as possible and installed tankless water heaters in our newest suites.. but the mixer valves fitted with these were the wrong ones... so we are changing them out as quickly as we can, and it should be completed very soon.

As to the wind... remember that nasty early winter cold front that the USA just suffered last week ? Well, the Western Caribbean saw some wind and rain from that, and that includes not just Jamaica and Cancun, but also Cayman.... much better now though :)

Mind you, this morning I type this from a hotel in Miami.....brrr... cold.... must be in the lows 60s, and that is before the "windchill" !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2006

We wanted to dive the East End with Ocean Frontiers, but were looking for more amenities than Compass Point offerred, in terms of a beach, restaurant, and, of course, a beach bar. The Reef was perfect in every respect. Our one bedroom suite was bright and airy, with high ceilings and first class furnishings. The patio fronted the beach, and had plenty of room for a table and four chairs. The beach was cleaned daily, had plenty of new beach chairs, and the pools were also immaculate. The beach bar served great drinks and good food, and the staff was quick and smiling. While the Barefoot Man won't keep Jimmy Buffet up at night, he put on an entertaining show that had everyone up on their feet dancing by the end. The concierge was helpful with directions and reservations for restaurants (Yes, there are a few, and they're good!). And the diving with Ocean Frontiers, five minutes down the road, was excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ScubaTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2006

We have just completed a one month stay at The Reef. Everything about our stay was top-notch. We don’t have a single complaint. The management and staff are exceptionally professional and attentive to even the smallest of details. The facilities and amenities are high-end and clean, and the views from every single unit are unsurpassed- you are literally right on the sea. If you are looking for an island escape with all of the modern conveniences such as WIFI and even granite countertops, look no further than The Reef and Castaways Cove! BRAVO to all involved for providing such a perfect getaway from our hectic lives! 9/28-11/1/06

Stayed: October 2006
8  Thank chillijilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2006

we stayed there because it was off the beaten track, like the caribbean was 20 years ago. the facilities were great! we stayed in a one bedroom which hosted a king bed, large dining and living area (with pull down murphy beds, great for kids), deck over looking the ocean and full kitchen. Across the street was a full market and within the resort, a liquor store. We liked to have breakfast on our deck over looking the water. Fantastic snorkeling right off the beach! As for swimming, it is rocky, but, calm. It's quiet and relaxing there, with great food. And, you can use the BBQ facilities there. The beach was practically empty. Go to Rum point on NON cruise days for a fun day and snorkeling. Diving is top notch as well as snorkeling. Do a private fishing/sailing charter if you can on the weekends, when the cruise ships are not in. We recommend John-Michael... we'll go back for the fishing, sailing and water sports! And, we'll stay at Reef Resort. A word of note: Maid service is twice weekly. But, they provide fresh towels and dump trash daily. This is a condo resort, not an all inclusive or hotel resort. Plan accordingly. If you want all of that and the mega crowds, stay at 7 mile beach, which is PACKED with commericalism.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carryrapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2006

My husband and I have traveled to many other islands. We were looking for a place that we could go to and not to worry about noice and alot of people. This place is the place for that. I just loved it here. We stayed in a one bedroom suite with a full kitchen and the great thing about this place is that there is a food store right across the street for all of your needs. We bought snack foods and breakfast foods. This one bedroom suite had everything that you needed down to going home with clean clothes which is great. They had a small washer and dryer. So nice to go home with clean clothes and just have to put away when you get home. The place is very clean! The beach is beautiful and the view is fantastic. Make sure that you bring water shoes since the reef is all around and close to beach also. Great place to eat either lunch or dinner we had both is the Light house which is about 15 minutes away. You do need to rent a car even thought you drive on the left we got around just fine. You need to make sure that you see the entire island. It is so beautifull. Most of the drive around the island you see the ocean and what views. I would recommend this place to anyone and to let you know that I have when we came back. Brought back all the information on this place for alot of people that travel alot like my husband and myself. We totally enjoyed the pleasantness of the people at this resort. They are all friendly and very helpfull. You really do have the beach to yourself. Yoselyn who works as I see everywhere but mainly at the bar is very hospitalbe and very friendly. What a great personality. Make sure you get a chance to come to this resort. Don't miss out on this quiet place!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank finster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2006

This was our second visit to the Reef Resort. The first visit was in 2002 when the property was only 2 years old. In 2004, resort had millions of dollars in damage from Hurricane Ivan. The resort is in beautiful condition. The property is clean and well-maintained. Many of the rooms are beach-front. Our room (a studio) was in excellent shape- everything looked new. The beach and pool were clean and inviting. The only evidence of Ivan's destruction were the new palm trees planted to replace those destroyed by the hurricane. Several larger palms remained that provided comfort and shade from the sun. The staff and management were welcoming and professional.
The resort is in the East End of the island- quite a nice change from the hussle and bussle of Georgetown and 7 Mile Beach. We were looking for peace and quiet and were not dissappointed.
The drive from Georgetown to the resort is interesting and beautiful taking you through several of the districts (towns) on the island where many of the Caymanians live, work, and play. The drive gives you a real sense of island life and the resiliency of the people after the devasation of the hurricane.
The Reef Resort is a peaceful, beautiful property.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dhanchuruc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
450 reviews
19.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,353 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
615 reviews
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,303 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East End
Price Range: $200 - $759 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing