We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time at the Reef Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, SC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Time at the Reef Resort”
Reviewed October 19, 2009

It was our first visit to Grand Cayman and we went to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday at the resort. The Reef Resort was a great choice, right on the beach with an ocean view. We rented a car and went exploring, which we highly recommend. Stingray City is a must, and the resort arranges transport there and back. The staff could not have been any more accomodating. They made our stay very enjoyable. The snorkeling off the beach is excellent. Try Over the Edge restaurant just down from the resort. The food is excellent and very laid back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chi_girl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    538
    176
    61
    28
See reviews for
501
798
40
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Potomac, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2009

My wife and I had never been to the Cayman Islands, and got a fantastic deal (through Conde Nast Traveler, if memory serves) on a beachfront studio here. My goodness, it was one of the best vacations in our 30+ years of marriage! The East End is so peaceful, far from the hustle of George Town, and the beach is absolutely magnificent. Across the street is a small mall with snorkel shop, bank and grocery store, so we stocked up our kitchenette. We had a rental car (strongly recommended) and discovered all of Grand Cayman -- we dined out at a different restaurant each evening. We never saw any location on the island that we liked more than the Reef Resort. PS: Great gym, too!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthPotomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

Our stay at The Reef was wonderful. Relaxing!!!! The service was awesome and the staff here are so friendly,kind and helpful. Thank you for a incredibly relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggiemae64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2009

It was awesome! I would stay there again. All rooms are ocean view. Great snorkeling right at the hotel beach.

Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MalorieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We loved everything about this resort. Our condo was right on the beach---great beach! tThe sevice was excellent and the staff were very friendly. The condo was very clean with everything that we needed. We could snorkle from the beach only a few steps from our condo. Hope that we can return to this place!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TennesseeVolgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2009

We had our wedding at the Reef Hotel in August, 2009. The hotel and its location was exactly what we wanted. It was a gorgeous with its white sand beaches and it was in the less crowded part of the island. We didn't have to worry about a lot of people running around our ceremony on the beach. Linda, the wedding planner was extremely helpful and wonderful. She made it an easy process to plan a wedding from out of the country. I highly recommend this hotel for a wedding. Our pictures came out fantastic and are happy we choose such an ideal setting.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ganadra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Reef Resort for one week in mid-September. The main objective for us was relaxation and we defiantly met that goal. We loved this place so much that we will be sure to stay there again.

Location - While the location is quite far from the action of SMB and Georgetown it was a great place if you want to get away from it all. SMB reminds me of US1 in Southern Florida for some reason. We preferred the East End more (no offense to you SMB fans). There is not much traffic on the East End so you don’t have to hear the running of motors or waiting to cross the street if you needed to head over to the strip mall.

The Fosters mini-mart was stocked pretty well but we did our grocery shopping closer to ‘town’ – Hurley’s and Fosters. Hurley’s is really nice but it is a little more pricey than Fosters. There are a number of Fosters around the island as well. The Thirsty Surfer was very well stocked and is a great place to get your adult beverages.

Rooms – We booked a 1 bedroom condo and we were fortunate to get a ground floor room. I travel a lot and do a fair share of research before booking. In my experience most places ‘dress up’ their website and brochure pictures to make the accommodations look better than they really are. Our room was exactly how it looked in the pictures that I have seen – a plus.
The room was clean and very well kept. The bed was the perfect size for us and it was comfortable. The kitchen is fully setup for cooking all meals. We decided to do all of our cooking so it was helpful to have all the utensils we needed within the room and had no problems.
The living area was spacious and comfortable. There is a DVD player and VCR so if you want to watch movies in the evening you are all set.
The patio had a lounger and table in the event you wanted to have a meal right outside of your room or take a nap.

Staff- What a wonderful staff! Everyone was helpful and nice. The bartenders were friendly and the concierges were great in helping us find things offsite. The maid staff was great. Hats off to them for making our stay a great one.

Beach – What a view! We were steps away from the pool, beach, and beach chairs. This was AWESOME. The water was generally warm and very clear. If you decide to swim out you don’t have to worry about depth as the water is quite shallow going out to the reef breakers that are well off shore.

Based on what other members have said about the number of fish under the dock – it is totally true. I saw at least 75-80 decently sized fish under the dock on most days.

Other items to note – This place is quite safe. We never had to worry about anyone hassling us on the beach or felt that we needed to keep an eye on our belongings while we were swimming. The food they serve on-site is reasonably priced and the one lunch meal we had (while I was watching the football game) was good.
Each morning the beach is raked and the pool is cleaned – they do this quite early in the morning.
If you stay at the Reef it is a good idea to rent a car. After you get accustomed to the traffic circles it is quite easy to get around the island.
Since I am a diver I booked a lesson for NITROX enriched air certification and some dives with Ocean Frontiers. I have to say that they were a fantastic operation and took us to great sites. I will post a little more about them in the forum.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K_d_Social_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
404 reviews
19.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,326 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
607 reviews
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,186 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Property: Wyndham Reef Resort
Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing