We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding/honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding/honeymoon”
Reviewed October 12, 2009

It was awesome! I would stay there again. All rooms are ocean view. Great snorkeling right at the hotel beach.

Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MalorieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    532
    175
    61
    28
See reviews for
494
792
39
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We loved everything about this resort. Our condo was right on the beach---great beach! tThe sevice was excellent and the staff were very friendly. The condo was very clean with everything that we needed. We could snorkle from the beach only a few steps from our condo. Hope that we can return to this place!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TennesseeVolgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2009

We had our wedding at the Reef Hotel in August, 2009. The hotel and its location was exactly what we wanted. It was a gorgeous with its white sand beaches and it was in the less crowded part of the island. We didn't have to worry about a lot of people running around our ceremony on the beach. Linda, the wedding planner was extremely helpful and wonderful. She made it an easy process to plan a wedding from out of the country. I highly recommend this hotel for a wedding. Our pictures came out fantastic and are happy we choose such an ideal setting.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ganadra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Reef Resort for one week in mid-September. The main objective for us was relaxation and we defiantly met that goal. We loved this place so much that we will be sure to stay there again.

Location - While the location is quite far from the action of SMB and Georgetown it was a great place if you want to get away from it all. SMB reminds me of US1 in Southern Florida for some reason. We preferred the East End more (no offense to you SMB fans). There is not much traffic on the East End so you don’t have to hear the running of motors or waiting to cross the street if you needed to head over to the strip mall.

The Fosters mini-mart was stocked pretty well but we did our grocery shopping closer to ‘town’ – Hurley’s and Fosters. Hurley’s is really nice but it is a little more pricey than Fosters. There are a number of Fosters around the island as well. The Thirsty Surfer was very well stocked and is a great place to get your adult beverages.

Rooms – We booked a 1 bedroom condo and we were fortunate to get a ground floor room. I travel a lot and do a fair share of research before booking. In my experience most places ‘dress up’ their website and brochure pictures to make the accommodations look better than they really are. Our room was exactly how it looked in the pictures that I have seen – a plus.
The room was clean and very well kept. The bed was the perfect size for us and it was comfortable. The kitchen is fully setup for cooking all meals. We decided to do all of our cooking so it was helpful to have all the utensils we needed within the room and had no problems.
The living area was spacious and comfortable. There is a DVD player and VCR so if you want to watch movies in the evening you are all set.
The patio had a lounger and table in the event you wanted to have a meal right outside of your room or take a nap.

Staff- What a wonderful staff! Everyone was helpful and nice. The bartenders were friendly and the concierges were great in helping us find things offsite. The maid staff was great. Hats off to them for making our stay a great one.

Beach – What a view! We were steps away from the pool, beach, and beach chairs. This was AWESOME. The water was generally warm and very clear. If you decide to swim out you don’t have to worry about depth as the water is quite shallow going out to the reef breakers that are well off shore.

Based on what other members have said about the number of fish under the dock – it is totally true. I saw at least 75-80 decently sized fish under the dock on most days.

Other items to note – This place is quite safe. We never had to worry about anyone hassling us on the beach or felt that we needed to keep an eye on our belongings while we were swimming. The food they serve on-site is reasonably priced and the one lunch meal we had (while I was watching the football game) was good.
Each morning the beach is raked and the pool is cleaned – they do this quite early in the morning.
If you stay at the Reef it is a good idea to rent a car. After you get accustomed to the traffic circles it is quite easy to get around the island.
Since I am a diver I booked a lesson for NITROX enriched air certification and some dives with Ocean Frontiers. I have to say that they were a fantastic operation and took us to great sites. I will post a little more about them in the forum.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K_d_Social_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

My husband and I were married on the beach at the Reef Resort in March of 2009. 36 of our closest friends and family members attended. I can not say enough about this resort.

The location is gorgeous. It's at the quieter end of the island, which is perfect for a wedding or any vacation if your goal is to relax. The scuba diving at that end of the island is wonderful, too. The food is a bit expensive, but very very good. The staff were excellent. There were some small glitches, but they always fixed everything quickly and were super friendly.

The wedding packages are great and the resort is very flexible about modifying them to fit your needs. The wedding planner, Linda, was amazing! She took so much of the stress out of planning a destination wedding. She really cared that our wedding was wonderful and it showed.

My grandfather collapsed and had to go to the hospital the day of my wedding. The staff went out of their way, arranging to have the wedding & reception an hour later, calling vendors, etc. He recovered and made it to the ceremony. The staff brought his reception dinner to him in his room. For the rest of the week, they went out of their way to come by and say hi and see how he was doing.

Our guests ranged in age from 18 to 91. Everyone had an amazing time. In fact, several people have suggested that we all go back for an anniversary trip. It was perfect!

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa_Saeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Royalton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

We stayed at the Reef last week and I cannot say enough good about it! The staff is top notch, everyone went out of their way to be helpful to us from the front desk staff to the maids and bartenders. We had a studio which had a kitchenette with microwave, toaster, coffee maker and mini fridge, it made having breakfast and lunch there a breeze. There is a small shopping center behind the resort which has a Fosters grocery store, a liquor store and a gift shop so you can get pretty much anything you want to make for breakfast and lunch there as well as your alcohol, beer and wine. Ladies there are blow dryers in the bathrooms so you don't have to lug you own down there and like other resorts they do provide the basic shampoo, conditioner and soaps in the bathrooms. Our room was very spacious and we had plenty of room to stretch out and relax . It had a king size bed, two side chairs and a coffee table along with the tv stand and tv with cable service a dvd player and a small stereo. The property is so well taken care of you could not ask for a cleaner resort. The pool area is very nice with lounge chairs, two cabanas and bathroom facilities, the pool water was always sparkling clean. The beach was wonderful, we had our pick of lounge chairs every day, this is a nice secluded resort and it's quiet so reading and napping on the beach was always easy to do. They clean the seaweed from the beach every morning and if you are going to be going in the water make sure you take some water shoes its rather rocky in places and tough on the toes. There is a towel shack to get your clean beach towels from every day so there is no need to take your own. Also on the beach is a place to rent snorkle gear, paddle boards, and ocean kayaks. We only ate once at the resort as we have been to the island before and had our favorite restaurants that we wanted to return to as well as some recommended by friends we wanted to try. If you have read any reviews of the Reef that were less than stellar then they came from people who cannot be pleased. I would recommend this resort to anyone wanting peace and quiet and relaxation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank debbh_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2009

My wife and I stayed here from Aug 10 to Aug 15, 2009 and this was just a great choice. All the reviews and pictures are dead on. The rooms are clean and the staff is more than accommodating and know how to make you love this resort. This is not for single people looking for nightlife. If you want to relax and recharge, this is the place.

The studio deluxe rooms come equipped with a mini fridge, microwave, sink and utensils so take full advantage of the supermarket and liquor store across the road and buy your own liquor and some basic food items. The resort food is fair and anywhere you eat or drink on the island is expensive. The Lighthouse is a great place for a romantic dinner; we were able to reserve the private outdoor table overlooking the water. The food was great, get the garlic bread. We also rented a car for a day to drive to the west end of the island to visit Smith’s Cove, Seven Mile beach and used it to get to the Lighthouse instead of taking a taxi; ask the concierge to suggest a rental company, it’s worth it for the day.

If you want a free trip to Stingray City listen to the presentation and take the tour, both of these are a must. There are also daily resort activities and some night entertainment so you should look at the schedule and plan accordingly.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacayguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
355 reviews
19.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,315 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
605 reviews
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,115 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Property: Wyndham Reef Resort
Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing