We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wyndham Reef Resort
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman(West Bay)(Great Value!)
$141
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Caymanian Vacations(Grand Cayman)(Great Value!)
$122
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunshine Suites Resort(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
$263
$164
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman(Seven Mile Beach)
$647
$589
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
$167
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
7 Mile Beach Resort and Club(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
$300
$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$514
$439
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Compass Point Dive Resort(East End)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Turtle Nest Inn(Bodden Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,830)
Filter reviews
1,830 results
Traveler rating
944
584
203
66
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
944
584
203
66
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrum pointbeach baracross the streeteast end of the islandstingray cityfishtime shareliquor storeseven mile beachdeluxe studiorented a carwhite sands water sportsgrand caymancaptain chrisfull kitchenall inclusive optionall inclusive plan
Filter
Updating list...
1,756 - 1,761 of 1,830 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2005

My husband and I recently spent a week in the Caymand Islands (June 2005) and were the fortunate guests of The Reef Resort. If you're looking for serenity, peace and relaxation, this resort is for you! If you're the party-going type, then this resort (about an hour away from the main city of Georgetown (where all the "fun" is) is definitely not for you. It is the perfect place for honeymooners (or couples who just want to be alone), families and those seeking a safe, quiet haven.

All rooms are clean, comfortable and come w/ private/semi-shared balconies and overlook the sea. The pools are beautiful and warm (although a bit small and not very deep). The beach is well-maintained, although the waters are a bit murky (still filled w/ debris from the recent hurricanes). It's less than a half hour drive to Rum Point, though, where snorkeling was fantastic and boats leave for Stingray City (an absolute once-in-a-lifetime experience). At the Reef itself, there are plenty of chairs for sunbathing, clean beach towels and good food and refreshing drinks at the outdoor bar.

The island itself is still in its infancy, after having recently been hit by Hurricane Ivan, and the impact is pervasive. The Reef appears to have recovered well, but there are not many restaurants/stores close by, and we mainly ate at the resort's restaurant (which was okay food, but great view). We would recommend renting a car at the airport as it's nice to have your independence, although we truthfully rarely left the resort. We ventured a 45 minute drive away one night to feast at a local restaurant, The Grand Old House. It was well worth the trip. This restaurant had the perfect ambience, delicious food and a magnficent view. We would highly recommend it!

Overall, we had a fantastic trip - peaceful, relaxing, perfect. We came back well-rested and wonderfully tanned! We would highly recommend The Reef Resort and would go back again to this beautiful island in a heartbeat.

23  Thank viv77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2005

My husband and I just got back from a week stay at the Reef last week and I just have to say that I absolutely loved this place. The rooms were fantastic, it had a great view and patio and they were very nice and clean. The grounds were well maintained and very safe. Unlike Jamaica, there are no peddlers trying to sell you things and bugging you, it was very, very safe. We were able to leave our stuff on the beach and go for a walk without worrying about it. What I liked most about the resort was that it was far away from the crowds so it was nice and quiet, very private. Since it is the only resort open on the beach because Morritts is still recovering from the hurricane, you pretty much had the beach to yourself. Our first day there, we were the only ones on the beach because the other guests had not checked in yet so it felt like your own paradise which is why we picked it. The beach was great except for the rocks when you first stepped in, but otherwise, it was beautiful. The snorkeling was good, we saw lots of fishes and you didn't have to go out far to be able to see them (go by the dock, there's schools of them there!). The restaurant is okay, it's what you would expect from a hotel restaurant though I have to say that the food I ordered was always salty (I always had their fish entree). The conch fritters were really good though so you have to try them for sure if you plan on eating there which you probably will since it's the only resort on that side of the island. The reef looked great from having a hurricane pass through the island. I just have to say that the island otherwise, looked horrible. It is still recovering so everything is still a mess so I wouldn't recommend going to the Caymans for a couple of years until they have rebuilt themselves. The island is mainly for divers and snorkelers and since I'm not really into either of them, I was pretty much bored because you couldn't really go anywhere with all the damage that was still around. I also recommend that if you do stay at the Reef, definitely get a room with a kitchen. We got the studio which is really nice but since eating out is so expensive, we had wished that we had gotten one with a kitchen because you can just go to the grocery store and prepare your own food. We basically spent about $80 US everytime we had a meal (including alcohol). Otherwise, the Reef is a great place to stay for couples and families and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank morrison619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2005

We stayed at the Reef the last week of July. The resort was very well maintained, the rooms very clean and modern. The property grounds were well kept, the beach was cleaned each morning from any seaweed ( there was not very much ), the pools were also very well maintained. Overall, I would stay again at the reef. We stayed in a two bedroom suite - with kitchen. We used the kitchen for a few meals, but we probably could have just gotten one of the junior suites instead. We ate at the bar for a few dinners, the food was as we expected, nothing fantastic, but not bad either. I didn't travel to the Caymans for good food, it was more for the relaxation and the atmosphere. We did not eat one meal inside a resturaunt, all of our meals were eaten at some type of open air place. As far as activities, we went to Rum Point ( good ) went to Stingray city ( better ) went on a snorkel trip with arranged with the company at the hotel ( better ) and also went on a few snorkel trips of our own, one to cemetary reef ( fantastic ) and to Eden rock ( fantastic ). I would snorkel at all of these point again, they all had different things to look at.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank petechicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
225
Reviewed July 16, 2005

We honeymooned at The Reef Resort. We don't care much for very "touristy" places, so the Reef was perfect for us. Our room was very clean and the view was unbeatable! The pools were great and just a step from our door. We woke up every morning and took a quick dip while the coffee was brewing! We rented a Jeep and enjoyed the long, coastal ride from Georgetown. You must go shopping at a grocery store before heading out to the Reef. The food at the restaurant was VERY expensive...$55.00 (U.S.) for lunch (2 sandwiches and four frozen drinks)...and not all that great. There is a restaurant right down the street from the hotel called Portofino. The food was good and the view was beautiful...but $100 (U.S.) for a mediocre dinner (2 alcoholic drinks, 2 salads and 2 entrees.) you could get in the States for $40.00.
There are a few things you must do while on the East End...you must go to Rum Point (a beach with a restaurant, water sports rentals, gift shop, etc.) for the day and you must go to Stingray City. The Reef has a trip to Stingray City once a week. It was a load of fun...and free rum punch! Leona, the Reef's activities coordinator was great!
Also, Brie is the concierge at the Reef. She was wonderful! If you need something to do...just ask her, she's one of the Reef's best assets.
To be honest, I don't understand the draw of Barefoot Man. Yes, he was funny and his music was entertaining...but he was no better than someone you'd find in any beach bar on a Friday night. Not to mention, the music was too loud for such a small restaurant.
The only major complaint we had with the Reef: We were there when Hurricane Dennis was threatening to hit the islands. The staff was very concerned with the guests’ safety and peace of mind and even held a hurricane meeting to update everyone on the hurricane. Luckily, it missed the Caymans, but we did have a storm when it was going past us. That night we lost our telephones (guest rooms only, not the front desk). We didn't have telephone service for the majority of our trip. When we went to the front desk (after not having a telephone for 4 days) and asked if we could use their phone to call our families and tell them that we were okay, they said we couldn't because they had no way of charging us. They directed us to go to the gas station 10 MILES DOWN THE ROAD where we had to buy a calling card in order to use the pay phone because American calling cards don't work there. Also, my father had left a message with the front desk for us, and we didn't receive it until the next day when we happened to stop by the front desk to ask about the status of our phone. When we checked out we mentioned this problem to the staff...no apology, she simply shrugged and went on to the next customer in line. It is for this reason that, should we ever return to the Caymans, we will not be staying at the Reef.
Finally, Hurricane Ivan devastated Grand Cayman last year. When driving along the coast, you must look over piles of rubble in order to see the ocean. Most of all the coastal homes were completely demolished. The hotel next to the Reef is still not open and serves as a constant reminder of what the island went through. I would wait a while before visiting the Caymans, as they still have not recovered.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2005

For our first ever trip to Grand Cayman in May 2005 we chose "The Reef". We were immediately impressed with how clean and perfectly maintained The Reef is. Though they suffered several millions dollars in hurricane damage in September 2004, the solid newer construction had held up remarkably well, and the staff had worked very hard to return everything to perfect condition. The entire place looks freshly painted. The beach is raked clean of seaweed every morning. We quickly settled in to our one bedroom condo, #205A. It was large and well decorated and amazingly clean. With a fantastic view of the pool and the ocean beyond, we knew we had found paradise. The ocean called, and we were soon snorkeling in 84-degree water. What a great place to stay in Grand Cayman. The restaurant is very good, especially for "The Barefoot Man" dinner show. They have two nice pools, and beach bar and a very friendly staff. You cannot go wrong at "The Reef"

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank masteroftheblaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews