We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Glendale, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Picture Perfect”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Exactly the view on the website home page. Camiel McKenzie answered questions prior arriving through email and phone. Grocery stores and liquor stores websites and store hours. I don't have the girl name who checked us in but she was very helpful. She was very polite and outgoing to answer any questions. Daina Edwards (Concierge) helped reserving dinner reservations and excursions. After the first reservation she remembered my name. Also Tyris K. General was professional and outgoing to answer any questions. Gentleman opening doors and just having a conversation. The bar tenders Nick, Tony, and Collin were excellent not just for preparing drinks but having conversation with even when they were so busy. Great service! Chris, Rick and Jay in mtce were quick in response to fixing problems with our safe, sliding glass door and toilet. Laundry room if needed is air conditioned. Car rental a must. Bus is available and taxis other choice. 3 pools were cleaned every morning. Beach was raked every morning. Also they organized beach chairs. Don't worry about rushing to claim a chair, enough for the whole resort. Snorkeling was great but water shoes a must because of the rocky start into the ocean from the beach. White Sands excursions on property for several activities. But Andrew was terrific taken 3 of us out on the sailboat. His helper to move the boat into the water was great. Helped us all on.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom with full kitchen and balcony on 3rd floor was perfect. Elevator to bring luggage up when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank skippyfrompace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear skippyfrompace,

Thank you for your review on theReef Resort, a Wyndham affiliate on tripadvisor. We are very happy to read that you had a fantastic vacation and found our facilities and amenities to your satisfaction. We pride on customer satisfaction and giving our guests the opportunity to relax and enjoy their time on vacation.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Greetings from your friends at theReef!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    526
    172
    58
    28
See reviews for
481
783
39
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chalmette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Words cannot adequately convey our feelings about The Reef. First and foremost are the staff. Everyone makes you feel like family. Cathy Richardson, concierge, greets you so cheerily every morning and makes every effort to ensure your stay is the ultimate. Whether it's facts about the area, booking an adventure, or just chit-chat, she will win your confidence and admiration. Daina, also a concierge, is at your beck and call also to make sure no detail is not in consideration. She was wonderful in a beading session that my wife participated in. She cherishes the necklace.

The folks at Pelican's Reef, Beachside dining and the Beachside Bar were phenomenal. Sandra, Doris, Carol, and Vuk were delightful when serving you in the restaurant or in the sand. As for the Beachside bar, cream of the bartending crop: Susanna, Tony, Nick, and Collin were imaginative with their mixology skills, charming with their banter (both with us and amongst themselves), and had us feeling like friends at their ultimate party.

Activities galore for everyone. Our favorites were the trip to Stingray City (Captain Chris is the greatest!); Hobie tour (Andre is the man!); Queen Elizabeth's Botanic Garden; and too many more to mention.

If you cannot find a way to make this a must on your "must go to" destination list, you are denying yourself the trip of a lifetime. Can't wait to return to paradise! Missing our island family already...

Room Tip: No such thing as a bad room. All rooms face the beachfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Charlie A,

Many thanks for your review on theReef Resort, a Wyndham affiliate. We are so happy to hear that you had a great experience and received excellent service from all of our team members and overall had a fantastic vacation in Grand Cayman.

We hope it's not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The Reef has my heart. My 3rd trip there in June, the units were stunning and I was treated wonderfully. While The Reef is now affiliated with Wyndham, it has not lost its boutique "mom & pop" feel. The Caribbean BBQ was fantastic, and we're giving a shout-out to all the wonderful staff---Lindsay/water aerobics, Lyle & Tony the salesmen, Allen & Dave at Red Sail Sports, Jason and Tony @ the bar, Cathy the concierge who always asked if we needed anything (and delivered it w/speed!) A big thank you to the other beautiful concierge (sorry, name escapes me) who offered me a rum punch! Also David @ the front desk, and Tanya at the front desk, whose professionalism and smile are memorable. Don't mean to leave anybody out! You're all spectacular! Thank you all for your generous spirit that keeps us coming back! I will never understand anyone's review of The Reef as less than stellar, as I have experienced nothing short of friendly, efficient, do-anything-for-you service.

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanfront. Ground floor towards the end were super-quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoulSingerCapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear SoulSingerCapeCod,

Thank you for your review on theReef Resort, a Wyndham affiliate. We are so happy to read you had yet again another fantastic stay with us and enjoyed your vacation. Thank you for mentioning our colleagues who made sure every detail was taken care of so you only had to worry about enjoying your stay.

We look very much forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Your friends at theReef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonney Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We just returned from a wonderful week at The Reef. Our room was on the 3rd floor as requested and very clean. Beautiful view - just like the pictures! We loved the uncrowded beach, the daily activity schedule and the bar/restaurant where you can literally eat on the beach with your feet in the sand, just steps from the surf. The staff here and at the White Sands Water Sports were helpful in planning outings. The 7:00 Stingray boat trip is a MUST - don't go later in the day when the hoards arrive! We were disappointed in the snorkeling right on site - much better at other spots around the island and on the White Sands snorkeling trip. Only other con is the small bathroom. It worked OK for the 2 of us, but for a room that can accommodate 4, it is way too small and would be very inconvenient since the shower, toilet and sink are all in one tiny room with very little counter space. Kitchen is spacious and well stocked with basic cookware. All in all, it was a wonderful anniversary getaway. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Love the 3rd floor for the best views of the turquoise ocean! If you want quiet, ask for one far fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Barb S,

Thank you for your review on theReef Resort in Grand Cayman. We are very happy to read that you had a fantastic vacation, that you found our services and amenities well suited for your needs and overall that you really enjoyed your stay. A special thank you for mentioning the White Sand Water Sports team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Greetings from your friends at theReef.

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten island ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I just returned from the reef where I got married. We got married on the beach and it was perfect. I do not have any complaints! Linda, the wedding planner was excellent and we did not have to worry about a thing! She made our day wonderful and relaxing! A perfect day in our book!

The all inclusive deal was definitely worth it as well! The food was really good and so were the drinks! At times service was a little slow at the bar but just remember they are on island time!

Cathy, Diana and Tyris at the concierge were also excellent! They helped to book our large party of 35 with any activities we wanted and helped us figure out our flight situations.

I had an amazing time at the reef relaxing and getting married. It could not have gone any better! Thank you all!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carinagiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Carinagiles,

Thank you for your review on theReef Resort and again our Congratulations on your wedding. We are very happy that we were able to create lasting memories and ensure you had the perfect wedding day. A special thanks for mentioning our colleagues who went the extra mile to ensure everything was organised for you and your guests.

Once again congratulations and we hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Greetings from your friends at theReef Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Booked as a timeshare exchange, we came all excited for this 1st time trip to GC! We knew we are on the other side of the island, so car rental is a must!

First impressions - great beachfront property! We stayed for a week and like others have said, it was adequate - rooms, staff did great. Houskeeping on tues and thurs, just to get new towels. There's not much we can do about the beach being un-swimmable. And food and drinks at the resort was a given. We cooked most days and ate out for dinner.

They lost out on the amenities as everything was being charged.

WIFI -Some people don't care for internet access but this is the first time I had to pay for wifi. Being out on the farther end of the island, it would help alot for driving directions, And all of my reservations I needed to check through emails, I was bummed to have to pay $12 per day! (There was an option to pay $40 a week) By midweek, I learned that the Google maps app had built in GPS, it was helpful to our daily trips to georgetown (where the roads are super confusing if read off a generic map) and to my favorite swimming hideout Rum point (just 15-20 minutes away!)

Overall, we got by! Got tourist information through the flyers, and by asking around and because I had a few leads through tripAdvisor before we arrived. (Whew) Really plan ahead which ones you would really love to try. The East side has ALOT to offer as far as food - Eagle Rays Dive bar and Grill, Tukka, Capt Herman's for local fish fry, Over the Edge on the way to Rum Point! And yes, they have a nearby small supermarket to get you through the night. If you can hold off on the bigger Foster's by the airport!

Props for efforts to liven up the place with BBQ Mondays, Karaoke Nights, and Outdoor Movie nights, especially there's really nothing much to do at night! Staff were very helpful and polite.

But none of this was enough to dislike Grand Cayman! Their beaches were free! Hop off to check out the Blowholes? Hangout with sting-rays? Catch a starfish and pet the turtles! Local fish fry is to die for! (Capt Herman's fritters!! Tukka!) We will be back but switch out and skip the car rental at the 7 mile beach area next time!

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms are better as far as access to beach, but upper rooms offer great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krizia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Krizia F,

Thank you for your review of our property and in general your stay in Grand Cayman.

We are glad you were able to discover the island by experience the many beaches and its wonders from turtles, to starfish and our loving stingrays. At the same time we are sorry to hear that you felt our property to be too quiet, we are known for the peace and quiet so our guests can relax and unwind but do appreciate your feedback on our activities as feedback like yours will only help us improve our services and amenities.

Many thanks & greetings from Grand Cayman,

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This resort is adequate, but we did not find it to be consistent with the excellent reviews it gets. To begin with, we had called after making our reservation to request a ground floor room which they agreed to. Upon arrival, they had put us in a 2nd floor "upgrade" which was not what we needed. Restaurant is expensive with the slowest service imaginable for very average food. Opt for others that are in the area - Tukka and The Lighthouse instead. Forgot to make up our room one day and all we got when we called the front desk was a pile of fresh towels an hour later - no offer to make up the bed or clean the room. The hot tub is useless - most of the jets don't work or are too weak to move the water at all. Most disappointing was the snorkeling that they claim is right off the beach. As avid, seasoned snorkelers, we found all that is there are patches of sea grass with a few fish. Maybe ok for a beginner, but hardly real snorkeling. Entry from the beach is challenging doe to a very rocky bottom. Much nicer beach up the road at Rum Point. Concierge pushed attending a sales presentation on buying a time share immediately upon arrival, then again the next day even though we were not interested. No free wifi even in the lobby. And the worst was that we were awakened two mornings by hammering or construction sounds in an adjacent unit, both days at around 8:15 am! We would not return to this resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Pat R,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept my deepest apology for the experience you had due to the noise from the adjacent unit. I apologize for the inconvenience and I'm sorry that it negatively affected your stay. I also apologize that the room upgrade was not satisfactory and that the service you received from our staff fell below your expectations.

We thank you again for your feedback as this can only help us improve and make things better. We are preparing to go through a renovation and we continue to train our staff to make sure we deliver high quality service. I do hope that you give us another chance to change your impression. I am confident that if you returned you would have a more memorable and pleasurable experience.

Best regards,

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
296 reviews
19.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,298 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
596 reviews
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,048 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Property: Wyndham Reef Resort
Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing